We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Especially for Bakersfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 in Belvedere Room
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ridgecrest, California, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Especially for Bakersfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is remodeled hotel with nice updates. We were on the 7th floor which is a suite with a desperate seating area from the bedroom and bath. A very large shower and sink area, but poor lighting (low amount of light) which was the reason for the one star reduction along with the crowds in the downstairs bar on Sat. The bar/clubs in the Padre was very popular on a Sat night. Great if you are younger and looking for something to do, but can be overwhelming when you return late at night and the lobby has lines for the bars and elevator. Guess do have priority. BTW no parking close so valet parking is $10 and line can be long depending the time of the day. Our bed was soft, but that can be good for some and bad for others. It did have very nice bedding and pillows.
Bottom-line is it is a very nice property in downtown Bakersfield with a retro feel, but very updated. Something to consider as a nice change from the nearby Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    110
    33
    11
    15
See reviews for
53
222
29
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went there for a Bakersfield wedding, had no idea what to expect. When I lived in Bakersfield (fifteen years ago) this wasn't a popular area, but I wanted the hotel room to be in the same location as the wedding and the wedding party insisted the hotel was fabulous. They were right! The room was huge, we needed a cot and they were super quick in the delivery/set up of the cot. The room was very clean, and comfortable, the beds were comfortable. The service was stupendous! Valet service is only $10.00 per day if you stay at the hotel, inexpensive and well worth it because it's difficult finding parking surrounding the building. You can charge the valet to the room. We stayed two nights - the first night we had dinner in the Belvadere, and second night at the wedding. The breakfast after the second night was at the Farmacy. The Belvadere steak was delish! The Farmacy had a couch / coffee table set up we sat at for breakfast, and ordered a light breakfast before heading out. We didn't come across any ghosts (I insisted we not hear ghost stories until we got home so we (husband and I along with two young boys) weren't spooked!) Overall, a wonderful stay! One last note: the wedding location was also fabulous, on the second floor balcony. Check into this venue if you're planning your wedding!

Room Tip: Oops, I rated 'swimming pool' and it won't let me remove it... there is no swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for joining the Padre family, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Apparently this older building was a derelict for several years before the city and a private hotelier worked out a plan to rehabilitate it in 2009. The results justify the effort; in terms of comfort, convenience, and downtown location this place is unbeatable. The entire staff seems to be genuinely concerned for the welfare of visitors. I'll post elsewhere about the hotel's excellent Belvedere restaurant, but it's consistent with the overall attention to detail. The thick old walls ensured us of a quiet Saturday night's sleep despite a "bachelorette's party" in the next room. The only negative was the "honor bar" stuffed with items like an $80 bottle of whiskey; the refrigerator was so full of expensive beverages we had to move several out (very carefully) to put our water bottles in to chill. But that was a small matter.

Room Tip: Not about rooms, but the $10 a night valet parking service stores your vehicle at a city lot across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Padre is a wonderful rebirth of an amazing historic gem here in Bakersfield. Thank you!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in San Francisco about a month ago having dinner with friends who travel a lot. We were talking about favorite hotels around the world. One said mine is in Bakersfield, The Padre. We laughed. I had never even been to Bakersfield but it just doesn't have the same ring as Paris or NYC. So a few days later I get a call to come to Bakersfield and I said yes and I want to stay at the Padre.

I LOVED it. Funky, cool, comfortable and elegant. I had a spa tub with the water spout in the ceiling, large glass shower, gorgeous bathroom. The bed was heaven. The room is so chic, with four sets of windows, a comfortable sectional couch, and a gray enamel desk. Every single staff member I encountered was so, so friendly and not a forced friendly. Real. Yuri at the front desk was a doll. Great location and amazing price.

Who ever said they want to go back to Bakersfield? Me, me, me!!

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Welcome to the Padre family, thank you so much for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had heard great things about this hotel from many artist friends who stayed here while exhibiting at Metro Galleries in downtown Bakersfield. Still, I was unprepared for the quirky elegance of the place. And oh, those beds! My husband said it was like sleeping on a layer of shaving cream - absolutely delicious! Unfortunately, it was just an overnight trip for us and we didn't have a chance to sample the bar or restaurant, but will definitely try them out next time. It's true that the downstairs bar and club are hopping on weekends, but after inserting our "don't leave home without them" earplugs, we had a good nights' sleep. Only one tiny criticism: the windows don't open. It might have been nice to have fresh air instead of relying on the air conditioner all night .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Metro Galleries is one of our wonderful neighbors, thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've stayed in Bakersfield many times and have stayed with all the major hotel chains: Hilton, Marriott and Starwood. I only stayed at the Padre because others in my party had reservations here. Boy was I shocked! This is a very hip hotel in downtown that had a great lobby bar, somewhat part of the local scene as I gathered, and really cool rooms. I felt like I was in LA or New York. All for less than $100!! Can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Yes, the best in Bakersfield! Hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Padre Hotel in Bakersfield has lovely rooms with a very gracious staff and easily found location from Highway 99. The beds are bliss and the downstairs restaurant is very popular with discerning locals. It is an oasis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Our staff is #1 here in Bakersfield. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.