We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-restored downtown accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 in Belvedere Room
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A well-restored downtown accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Apparently this older building was a derelict for several years before the city and a private hotelier worked out a plan to rehabilitate it in 2009. The results justify the effort; in terms of comfort, convenience, and downtown location this place is unbeatable. The entire staff seems to be genuinely concerned for the welfare of visitors. I'll post elsewhere about the hotel's excellent Belvedere restaurant, but it's consistent with the overall attention to detail. The thick old walls ensured us of a quiet Saturday night's sleep despite a "bachelorette's party" in the next room. The only negative was the "honor bar" stuffed with items like an $80 bottle of whiskey; the refrigerator was so full of expensive beverages we had to move several out (very carefully) to put our water bottles in to chill. But that was a small matter.

Room Tip: Not about rooms, but the $10 a night valet parking service stores your vehicle at a city lot across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Padre is a wonderful rebirth of an amazing historic gem here in Bakersfield. Thank you!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    121
    35
    11
    15
See reviews for
57
232
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in San Francisco about a month ago having dinner with friends who travel a lot. We were talking about favorite hotels around the world. One said mine is in Bakersfield, The Padre. We laughed. I had never even been to Bakersfield but it just doesn't have the same ring as Paris or NYC. So a few days later I get a call to come to Bakersfield and I said yes and I want to stay at the Padre.

I LOVED it. Funky, cool, comfortable and elegant. I had a spa tub with the water spout in the ceiling, large glass shower, gorgeous bathroom. The bed was heaven. The room is so chic, with four sets of windows, a comfortable sectional couch, and a gray enamel desk. Every single staff member I encountered was so, so friendly and not a forced friendly. Real. Yuri at the front desk was a doll. Great location and amazing price.

Who ever said they want to go back to Bakersfield? Me, me, me!!

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Welcome to the Padre family, thank you so much for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had heard great things about this hotel from many artist friends who stayed here while exhibiting at Metro Galleries in downtown Bakersfield. Still, I was unprepared for the quirky elegance of the place. And oh, those beds! My husband said it was like sleeping on a layer of shaving cream - absolutely delicious! Unfortunately, it was just an overnight trip for us and we didn't have a chance to sample the bar or restaurant, but will definitely try them out next time. It's true that the downstairs bar and club are hopping on weekends, but after inserting our "don't leave home without them" earplugs, we had a good nights' sleep. Only one tiny criticism: the windows don't open. It might have been nice to have fresh air instead of relying on the air conditioner all night .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Metro Galleries is one of our wonderful neighbors, thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've stayed in Bakersfield many times and have stayed with all the major hotel chains: Hilton, Marriott and Starwood. I only stayed at the Padre because others in my party had reservations here. Boy was I shocked! This is a very hip hotel in downtown that had a great lobby bar, somewhat part of the local scene as I gathered, and really cool rooms. I felt like I was in LA or New York. All for less than $100!! Can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Yes, the best in Bakersfield! Hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Padre Hotel in Bakersfield has lovely rooms with a very gracious staff and easily found location from Highway 99. The beds are bliss and the downstairs restaurant is very popular with discerning locals. It is an oasis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Our staff is #1 here in Bakersfield. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I can't say enough good things about about the Padre. It was reasonably priced, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Despite the fact that the bar and club on the ground floor was really loud on a Friday and Saturday night --- the rooms were so sound proofed I didn't hear a thing. The rooms were really clean and very pretty. And the bison burger I had downstairs was fantastic. Every person at the hotel was really friendly and helpful. Any time I have any reason to be in Bakersfield I am not staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We hope to see you again soon, thank you so much for staying at Padre!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great room decor and service. This is a great hotel, I likely will not stay anywhere else in Bakersfield. The in house dining and bars are extremely good. The overall feel of the building and the rooms is very cozy and stylish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you and welcome to the Padre family. We hope to see you soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.