We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Room Upgrade
Ranked #3 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Great Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Padre because of the many Trip Advisor recommendations. Not at all disappointed. The room was very modern and extremely clean. We enjoyed the Tuesday Happy Hour, $1 Tacos and $4 Margaritas. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll be staying here on our next Bakersfield visit

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Taco Tuesday is a favorite here at the Padre! Thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    83
    28
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
176
26
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I understand there were challenges in this hotel's remodel in the midst of the Great Recession, but it looks like it was worth it. The rooms are nicely done; the staff is attentive and friendly; the lobby is inviting and even a bit majestic. It has a boutique feel, and so is more interesting than the corporate hotels while providing a high level of quality and service. This is likely the hotel to which I'll return when in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We hope to see you again soon, thank you so much for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Should you ever need to stop anywhere within striking distance of Bakersfiled, don't hesitate provided you can get a room at the Padre. Although the surrounding area has little to shout about, the hotel is a beacon of style. Fabulous decor, great staff and, although we stayed only one night (a Sunday) the food on offer in the bar was really good. We were upgraded on arrival and found ourselves in a really good room (with a bathroom the size or some hotel rooms I have experienced) with a very comfortable bed. A couple of niggles (no loo paper was one) were quickly resolved and we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We love to upgrade, thank you for your stay!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one night on a business trip to Bakersfield and had a very nice experience. The valet parking was very convenient (and cheap) as it was raining when I arrived.
The check-in was very efficient, the entire process took around a minute.
Apparently I was upgraded to a Maverick room, a spacious room with a view of the back of the hotel. I suspect the real reason was that the floor below was undergoing renovation, but who complains?
Modern design, good comfortable bed. Good internet connection.
Used room service for dinner that night, the food and service very good.
Highly recommended for a night in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We hope to see you again soon, thank you!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wanted to take the time to compliment Zach, the corporate sales manager who I had the pleasure of communicating with regarding setting up a corporate account for our company. He went above and beyond in his customer service care! He was quick to respond to every question I had as well as giving our company the incentive to ALWAYS use the Padre for each and every one of our out of town guests. I even received a handwritten thank you note from him! I personally make the reservations for our clients using our corporate account and each of our guests have made comments to us on how wonderful their stay was. Not only is the hotel beautiful, but convenient for downtown business meetings and meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Zach is one of many shining stars here at Padre, thank you so much for your corporate business!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at The Padre on a Friday night. It was my husband's birthday, so we splurged a little for the room and also made reservations at the Belvedere Restaurant on the first floor. We arrived at 3:30pm and was told our room was not ready, to come back in 30 minutes. We left and came back at 4:30pm. We valet-parked the car and carried in our luggage. Unfortunately our room was still not ready, so we had a drink at the bar because it was happy hour. We had 6pm dinner reservations, but knew we had some time. Finally, our room was ready at 5:15pm. We had reserved one of the nice corner rooms, and it was lovely. We had a great dinner that night, but went to bed early as we had a long drive the following day. As soon as we layed our heads on our pillows, we started hearing the music. It went until 1:30am! There is a nightclub across the street and they must have been having a great time because the band or DJ never stopped for more than a few minutes at a time! I would not recommend OUR room on a Friday or Saturday night, but during the week it would probably be wonderful. Or, if you like to party, go for it! Just thought I'd write a warning, because we had not read this anywhere else.

Room Tip: Beware on Friday or Saturday nights - it's noisy! Ask for a room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your visit, we hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

So pleased they actually read their reviews. Got makeup mirrors in the bathrooms ladies. Resteraunt excellent, again. Bar awesome, again. ROOM super comfy. Staff WONDERFUL and so pleasant all around from valet to doormen to room service to security. Loved it again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Every review is important to us, and thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.