We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Padre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Padre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you know Bakersfield, you know that there is not much redeeming qualities about it. So unless you are there on business or traveling through, you would not end up being there. But if you DO end up there, this is THE place to stay.

The place is HIP in the true sense of the word. An old building housing a totally redone hotel. This is my second time here and I loved it even more. This time i got an upgrade to a suite for a ridiculously good price. The suite was just great. Wonderful modern style furniture. Amazing memory foam bed. Bathroom to die for. The tub next to the bed filled up with water from a spigot from the ceiling. How cool is that? :-). All around, creative, modern, hip vibe. A pure joy of a hotel stay. You would think you are at a top hotel in Santa Monica or Manhattan. Service was friendly, efficient, if a bit "green" and young. Both restaurants were excellent. The gourmet one (Belvedere) was at the level of a good San Francisco place. Alas, the chef is salt happy and sort of ruined a perfectly good steak and vegetables with too much salt.

Two reasons for 4 stars rather than 5 - 1) "resort fee" That is just the worst thing that a hotel's management can do as far as I am concerned. It is simply wrong. A "fee" that is really a higher room rate (since its mandatory) hidden under lame explanations of what you get for it. It makes as much sense as a 'location fee" for car rentals. It is unacceptable and shows that the management is not thinking straight about customer's impressions. 2) lack of fitness room. No hotel in this class can afford to be without one.

However, overall a great Oasis in the middle of central valley desert. Enjoy it.

Room Tip: Go for a suite upgrade at the check in, bust make sure you ask for the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. We have many times been referred to as the "gem" of Bakersfield, and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I am sorry you thought our Valet charge was a resort fee, as we have never had a resort fee. We look forward to welcoming you back to Padre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    92
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
49
186
27
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely old Hotel with a wonderful staff. Everyone from the valets to the hotel desk to housekeeping were prompt and polite. The first request we had were a few extra towels and housekeeping quickly delivered them. The second request we had was a rollaway (the full-sized beds in the double room weren't quite big enough for three adults) and housekeeping quickly delivered that as well and made the bed up for us. The double room had plenty of space to accommodate a rollaway without feeling crowded which was really nice. In addition, it wasn't one of those thin, flimsy cots, it was a nice sturdy mattress which was very comfortable! All in all, a memorable hotel stay.

Room Tip: Our double room on the sixth floor was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Every guest request is our number one priority. Thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place think's it is a high end hotel. But due to it's rude and untrained staff it ranks as the worst hotel/restaurant/bar in Bakersfield. I would highly recommend calling and finding out all of there unwritten rules that they have in place before arriving. You may find you cannot valet your car or you cannot enter because of the color shirt your wearing. First one happened to me, the second happened to a friend. There a lot of other choices for downtown. I would not waste your time on this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. As the #1 hotel in Bakersfield, there is no better in our city. I have addressed your concern with the valet staff, in our busy fantastic downtown location, we are always focused on providing every guest with a perfect stay.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

In town with my wife visiting a friend of mine who recommended the hotel. Just loved it, service was dead on and very friendly. The room was beautiful small suite very clean. Loved the tub that filled from the ceiling. The lobby bar was a great place for a few drinks before dinner. That evening had a few drinks at the rooftop bar which was fun however I would say as the evening went on the crowd got a little sketchy. We would definately stay the next time we make it to Bakersfield.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The Padre Hotel is a gem in the heart of downtown Bakersfield. Checking in with Nick at the front desk was the start of a lovely getaway. Super friendly service and the decor is AMAZING. The padre has it all. There is fine dining, fresh cafe drinks, beautiful bar scene and that is all before you get to your room. The rooms are very chic and so comfortable. A great bed is a must have for me when visiting a hotel and this one did not disappoint. I could have stayed in bed the whole time. Shower is a waterfall style shower which is also important to me. We lucked out with a corner room and at night with the curtains pulled back, the lights of downtown were beautiful. It is a sexy atmosphere and a treat for sure. I was really surprised with the prices, less than $130. I have paid a lot more for a hotel room and gotten a lot less. Was nervous about paranormal rumors, but no sightings! Highlights for me: Comfortable bed, great shower and room service food. Would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are the gem of Bakersfield, hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Bakersfield was not our destination. This was a stopover for us on the way to Kings Canyon & Sequoia National Parks and so there was not much else about Bakersfield that attracted our attention but this hotel was terrific.

It has architectural style inside and out and a wry fit out that doesn't take life too seriously.

It passed the free internet test (you don't get past "average" if you don't have that), staff were friendly and efficient and the bar downstairs is a great place for a drink and a simple meal.

The newish parking valet said we'd struck the best hotel by far in town and when he said it he sounded like he meant it and was happy to be here too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Our wonderful staff always is focused on excellent guest service. Thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was by far the best hotel in our 2-week tour in California. The style, service, food, bed... everything was extraordinary. Our room was huge with great views. It just made us feel home as we walked in.

And reasonably priced valet parking and free wifi.

An unforgettable stay in Bakersfield!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at Padre, we hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.