We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Hunter Steakhouse

Hungry Hunter Steakhouse
3580 Rosedale Hwy, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6229
661-328-0580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 705 restaurants in Bakersfield
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving the best Prime Rib, Steaks and Seafood in town. Full Bar with a great wine list. Happy Hour Mon-Fri 2pm-6pm. Outdoor patio seating and Banquet room seating up to 80 people.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We ate here while I was in town on business. All of the food was terrific. The pecan crusted chicken was great. My husband had steak and really enjoyed it. The staff was attentive. Overall, great experience and would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    87
    40
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best meal we had during 2 week us holiday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Me, my husband, and our 7, and 12 year old daughters visited here during our US road trip. It was by miles the best meal we had during our trip, and probably ranked one of the best we have ever had!
The lovely girl who served us was really friendly and efficient, and we felt really comfortable.
The food was lovely, very tasty. I had the pepper crust steak, my husband the chicken with mushroom sauce, my oldest daughter had the ribs, and they even catered for my awkward 7 yr old with a cheese toasty! You also had a huge choice of I think it was 2 or 3 side dishes which came with your meal, including Caesar salad which was lovely and fresh.
We were very full but still managed to polish off 2 flower pots which the girls loved, and 2 of the biggest brownies I've ever seen!
This place was recommended by the holiday inn we stayed at, and I'm so pleased we listened.
Five stars for the hungry hunter!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hadn't been here in a long time..definitely going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food was divine and the service was impeccable. We were checked on by different staff several times, and never had to ask for anything.

I had forgotten how reasonable the prices are and the overall dining experience was great. Will be back much more often

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Businessman's Special - First Date Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

You will be eating at one of Bakers-patch's better dining establishments. It's a very clean, well run, and fortunately or unfortunately a predictable place, which is good and, well...OK. Good ambiance, very capable waiters are serving an unimpressive pedestrian fare, portions metered out, and more than likely pre-cooked. The food is not bad, but it's clearly pre-prepared, and that's very evident. Still, the table side salad service is great, except that the mix of items is becoming ho-hum. The salmon and halibut were on the dry side, the mixed veggies between raw and boiled, and the spices were heavy and light. Still, the dinner was well paced, better than OK, and we had a fun time with the waiter, who had good personality. The appetizers were the best hit, and the wine list one of the better in the area. The drinks are stiff, the servers on top of it, and the chow, well - after a few drinks, is OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ordered Top Sirloin and it was one of the best steaks I have had in a very long time. The knife cut it with ease and serving portion was excellent. You also get a large salad, and sides of 2 extras (potato & broccoli for example) as well as a 1/2 loaf of fresh bread. Cocktails were also very good. Staff is attentive and friendly. Overall, excellent value. Will definitely go back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Hunter Steakhouse also viewed

 
Bakersfield, CA
Bakersfield, CA
 

Been to Hungry Hunter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.