We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and Comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 Rosedale Hwy, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Ramona, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenience and Comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Looking for a comfortable place with a bars and breakfast? This might be it. Add in the fact that it is reasonably priced. Convenient for the pass-through traveler (right off Hwy 99). This was about the half way point for a trip we made and did not want to push for a long day. The room was pleasant with the mandatory clean sheets, hot water and comfortable mattress. In fact, it was one of the best night's sleep I had on my trip. The small bar (lounge) in the lobby allows one to get something to drink in a nice modern spoit. The breakfast was more than adequate, with eggs, toast, juice, cereal, etc. Staff at check-in, in the lounge, during breakfast, and at check out was pleasant and helpful with questions. I travel through Bakersfield often and will again stop here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind words are very appreciated and we are happy your enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you again during your next trip to Bakersfield!

Kind Regards,
Clarion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
27
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My stay was very comfortable.
I was here visiting my mother in the hospital. Room was clean, breakfast was hot and hardy, very friendly service, and I enjoyed my stay. Thank you to Joey, the manager, for asking me each day how my mom was doing.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Clarion Staff at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have shared your comments with Joey, and he wants to thank you for your kind words.We do care about our guest and work hard to provide them with the best stay possible. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Clarion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Extended family came from all across the country to spend Thanksgiving together and, the Clarion was our home base for accomodations. Got a great low group rate and it's across the street from shopping and restaurants. That was the only positive.

Check in was uneventful. Got to our room for a quick shower and change before our dinner gathering off-site. Noticed that, the sink water stank. Came back later at night. The smell in room 221 room met us at the door. It was a really strong, horrible mix of funky sour feet and mold! No exageration.

Immediately got a room change and was offered an upgrade to a deluxe for the inconvenience. Room 302 was comfortable but housekeeping was really lacking (needed vacuuming, dusting, moping). Breakfast was the bare basic. No meat offering and skimpy on the fruit.

Wasn't looking for a resort experience but, I reasonably expected clean and tidy. Even the bath towel was thread bare with a hole in it! Just about everyone in our family were dissapointed with their accomodations. Will never stay at this location again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Clarion Staff at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is appreciated and we apologize for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. Our goal is to continuously provide outstanding service and it is disheartening to hear that we fell short. This is certainly not something that we would want any of our guests to have to experience. We will address this to the Housekeeping manager. We value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future

With Hospitality,

Clarion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Clarion on our way from Arizona back to British Columbia. We have stayed here at least twice before, so like the location and friendly staff. The nearby Hungry Hunter Restaurant is excellent and Costco is a convenience for members. The breakfast was very disappointing: very little selection and much of that was poor quality compared to other comparable establishments. The jar for tips was an insult.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here. We appreciate you staying with us again. Regarding the breakfast, I would like to apologize on behalf of our entire staff for failing to exceed your expectations. We will be using this feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an enhanced experience for our guest in the future.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times in the past but it had been a while so I wasn't sure if it would be the same but luckily for me it hasn't changed. Great service at check-in. Very efficient and friendly service. And the room was great. Very clean and tidy. If you're looking for something fancy then you're at the wrong place but this place gives me everything I need. A nice TV with lots of channels, coffee maker, micro-wave, frig, everything that makes my stay comfortable. Yes it is showing signs of age but it is everything I need and want.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the back side of the hotel and open the window you'll get a lot of freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Clarion Staff at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the staff. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning to stay with us again.
We look forward on your next visit. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I arrived at about 7.30pm on Monday Sep. 16th. 2013. We had just ended a long drive from Monterey. We were treated very kindly by the check-in staff. They were welcoming and immediately provided us with a nice room. No complaints about the room. Comfortable bed with very white sheets. Clean tidy, everything worked.
Our only problem was that our mobile phone could not connect to the hotel wi-fi. This problem had persisted for the previous 2 days at other hotels.My wife was becoming very worried with not being able to contact our family back in the United Kingdom. A member of the staff, I believe his name was Joey immediately attempted to sort out the problem. While we unwound at the bar, Joey made every effort to solve the problem. Eventually his efforts failed but he did say that he would see us again the following morning and try something else.
Tuesday morning, Joey made himself immediately available to us. He had put more money onto his own mobile phone. He then told my wife to immediately phone England. She complied and made contact with the family. Panic over, one happy woman and all because a member of staff went the extra mile for us. Although finance was never requested, I was very happy to re-imburse Joey for his trouble , Other members of the staff were very friendly too. I therefore cannot reccomend the Clarion Hotel more highly.
Problem with the phone was sorted out later at a phone shop in the same area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Clarion Staff at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. We do care about our guest and work hard to provide them with the best stay possible. Your kind words about Joey and the staff are a great reward to us.

We hope to see you and your wife again!


With Hospitality
Clarion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If all you want is a place to sleep it is an okay place. Beyond that forget it. Hot tub cold and not in working order. Happy hour time posted in room not right. Stix Asian tid bits mon. - fri. 4:00 p.m. -9:00 p.m. posted in room does not exist. Breakfast worst we have ever had. Two pieces of bacon available - attendant looked at it and ignored it. Bathroom had an unusual unpleasant odor. Wi-Fi does not work. Would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca643, Clarion Staff at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. When our customers are not satisfied, we are not satisfied. The employees works hard providing every guest with a clean and perfect stay. Thank you for bringing your views to us, this gives us the ability to correct the problem.

Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3540 Rosedale Hwy, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® is conveniently located off State Routes 99 and 58, is only minutes from major businesses and local attractions.We offer Standard Rooms with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Double Beds: We have Deluxe Rooms that include a sitting area with a Sofa Bed.We offer our guests each day:Hot BreakfastFree Wireless InternetDaily Newspaper24 Hour Beverage StationDaily Happy Hour in our LoungeCompetitive RatesAll Rooms include a 32" Flat Screen T.V.Microwave/RefrigeratorIn Room CoffeeBlow DryerIron/BoardAlarm Clock Radio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Bakersfield
Clarion Bakersfield
Bakersfield Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.