We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5101 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were in town for only the weekend and booked a 2 queen premium room for one night via their website with a AAA rate. When we arrived to check in we were told that there were no more rooms with 2 queens available since a huge convention was in town and guests that should have checked out decided to stay another night. I was a tad nervous since we were travelling with our 2 kids, but they were able to arrange 2 separate rooms with king beds at the same rate as our reserved 2 queen room. It was a little strange splitting up, but the rooms were nice and bottled water was provided complimentary by the hotel (2 bottles per room).

The pool area is nice and the kids had a fun time swimming. Towels were provided and a new batch was delivered late in the evening so they didn't have to walk back to the room dripping wet.

It was a little odd that the housekeeper knocked on the door at 7:30 am, but I guess they were in a hurry to get the rooms ready for the next guests.

Overall the property is nice, the courtyard/pool area has lots of grass and it is kept clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for staying with us in Bakersfield. We are pleased that you had a nice stay. The pool and courtyard are great areas to spend a little time in while here. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    102
    45
    21
    14
See reviews for
58
63
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Quiet location of town. Staff was 3.5 stars, inside of room was 3.5 stars but exterior and layout was 2.5. Grounds are well kept but building exterior needs maintenance and remodeling. Separate buildings makes it quieter but FYI only stairs to second stories.
Would stay again if price right or online deal

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for spending time with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Rooms were very clean although slightly old. The property was well kept, large, green, and lots of fountains.

Staff were helpful with a late check-out.

I felt safe in the area around the hotel and parking lot.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool and fountain area on the main floor so you get a little patio to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGALIA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

What you should forget when considering the Four Points in Bakersfield is the thought of a modern, uniform hotel. Here you will find instead about 200 rooms spread out over six separate buildings surrounding a beautiful pool and garden area with lots of blooming bushes, old trees and illuminated fountains. Hotels like this have become rare at a time when acreage is too expensive to save for relaxation. I guess the hotel is about 40 years old and reminds of Californian resort hotels of that time. Rooms are old-fashioned and some furniture needs replacing, but everything is functional and clean. The beds are some of the best in the industry, especially manufactured by Beautyrest: very comfortable. The property was renovated not too long ago; further renovations are planned, according to the manager.
It is definitely a question of personal taste if you want to stay here. We loved it and will be back for more relaxing days in an environment that most other hotels of this price range don't have to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room with patio facing the garden or pool area (premium rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the charm of our property. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Obviously there is not too much competition in Bakersfield and this place is alright overall. However, the major flaw was that both our rooms had a weird smell to them - as if they were once smoking rooms and someone tried hard to mask the odor with some sort of neutralizer. Or maybe the rooms just smelled 'old'. Either way, it was not the most comforting smell. Admittedly, we only made this complaint upon check-out so we did not give them a chance to move us to another room. The breakfast area is in a separate building and they cannot charge to your room bill which is a bit odd. On the upside, the rooms are really spacious and they have a very nice central courtyard with a pool.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor facing the inner courtyard: that way you will have your priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us in Bakersfield. The Front Desk did pass on your comment regarding your room smell. We are looking into it to see if there is anything that we can do to address it. Although our restaurant is a separate building next to the hotel, it is owned and operated by the same company. We will certainly review our procedures to understand and resolve why you were not able to charge to your room. I hope we will have an opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I book a room in January, for my cousins wedding. Family blog k. Well 5 ft on floor one. Us up stairs, no where near our family. No breakfast here. WE told in January there was. Then family had patios we did not.
Plus even with my print out reservation wedding speacial, they charged us $35 more. Will not return!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with during your family event. Although we had a group block set up for the event, we didn't show you as a part of that block. We are always happy to accommodate any special requests when available and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I hope we will have an opportunity to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice property near Stockdale Highway in West Bakersfield. Campus style setting with 7 buildings. Good business room facilities for meetings. Bistro Restaurant is accomodating for hotel guests with typical hotel type food. Rooms are nice, a little dated but our room had two queen beds, small desk, refriegator and microwave. They do have a small snack room in the lobby where you can purchase drinks and chips. Check in was easy and staff cordial. Maintenance staff very friendly. Checkout was okay -- they were training new personnel and with the only trainer was very involved in other activities so it took longer than necessary. Only drawback -- no elevators in the main building so you have to "drag" your suitcases upstairs. Very close to lots of restaurants - both fast food (McDonalds, Starbucks) and casual dining (Pho Hut, Marie Callendar's). Other shopping in the area - Bed, Bath and Beyond, Office Depot, Vons, CVS).

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms since they don't have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback. We are always happy to reserve a ground floor upon request. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield

Address: 5101 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield is located in the heart of the business district, with scenic sights and sounds and a short walk to corporate offices. 6,800 square feet of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Bakersfield
Four Points By Sheraton Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Sheraton Bakersfield
Four Points Bakersfield
Bakersfield Four Points
Bakersfield Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.