We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May as well sleep on the freeway itself...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8818 Spectrum Park Way, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marysville, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“May as well sleep on the freeway itself...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed here last year on the way to Vegas and found it to be a great little hotel stop...It was clean and the bed is comfortable. Room felt like I was the first to stay in it...I was so pleased with this place I went back while on business a few weeks ago. Still had the same experience except this time I noticed the noise...only one plane (though it sounded like it was taking off from the roof) but the freeway noise was constant. I did not notice this last year but I was on vacation, excited about vegas, who knows.
I might stay here again if I bring hearing protection & have more wine with dinner. Speaking of which...had dinner at Buck Owens place, it's great. Food was just okay but music and bar made the night.
If noise is a deal breaker for you, don't stay here. Breaks my heart to give such an otherwise great hotel an Average rating but the main point is to sleep...not sit up and admire the clean room.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a quiet side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    68
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
75
64
16
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel is well done. Nice new layout to rooms, and great bed. I did not get to have breakfast because I had to catch an early flight. But the night before they had a happy hour with free beer and wine which I thought was a nice touch.
Hotel is 4 minutes from the airport so if you have an early flight, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed there with my family (4 persons, 1 room), and loved the hotel as the rooms was nice, clean, very quite, and with great beds!
Hotel seems very new, and good materials was used when building it!!

Only downside is that the pool and pool-area not is up to the same high standard as the rest of the hotel - too few sunbeds - too few shading areas (needed in Bakersfield) - no towels. As the rest of the hotel is very high quality, it is strange that they not haven't uses the few money that is needed to also make this suitable!
Also - please notice that the sun disappears from the pool area at 4 PM!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

very nice, clean and confortable hotel.
very kind staff

we had an executive room. it was super lager. you also get some more space in the bath room area.
new hotel.

negative:
- quite far away from the city (exit 33 or so), it's somewhere in the 'nothing'
- odd smell outside of the hotel (nobody could tell us what this was)

in general:
some restaurants next by with very kind stuff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I'm usually concerned with noise in airport hotels but we barely heard any planes. Of couse, Bakersfield is not huge. We stayed here because of previous reviews and were glad we did. Staff was excellent. The hotel was a little difficult to find. There are a few restaurants nearby but we were so tired, we ordered food delivered. The prices were ok until the food arrived. They tacked on a huge service fee. But that is not the hotel's fault. We got a good night's rest here.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

New, up-to-date location. Rooms and hotel are clean, staff excellent to work with. Reasonable selection for the breakfast, and breakfast staff kept everything in stock. Fitness center efficient but basic. Great evening social hours (beer, wine) but quickly ran out of appetizers which were not restocked. I was in a king suite, and it was very comfortable. High speed wireless worked well. Small business center, but was available to print boarding passes.

Room Tip: The suites are at the far ends of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Great night stay on our way home from Arizona. Easy access to Hwy 99, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, reasonable price, and descent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport

Address: 8818 Spectrum Park Way, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small town charm and warm hospitality starts when you arrive at the Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport! Our homey guest room and spacious suites featuring our one-of-a-kind plush, comfortable beds and 32" HDTVs. As one of the newer hotels in the area, our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel offers comfort and convenience ideal for your travel needs. Don't forget our Suite Shop, outdoor pool. Fitness center and business center are available at any time during your stay. Our prime Kern County location puts you within easy access to Highway 99 and 65, minutes away from Bakersfield Airport and approximately six miles from the charm of Downtown Bakersfield. Your just a short ways from enjoying the luxuries of our city. Planning a meeting? Keep our 783 sq. Ft. Meeting room in mind for your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport Hotel Bakersfield
Hampton Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.