We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude front desk employee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2315 S. Service Rd., West Memphis, AR 72301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in West Memphis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude front desk employee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to econolodge to stay a night on our way to nashville. As soon as we stepped in the office, the front desk guy who was indian and kinda old didnt welcome us and instead he was rude to us and he treated us very badly. We asked for the manager and he said he was the manager. Later we found out that he just work the night shift. His name was also weird -JK. It was really a very bad experience just because of this front desk guy! Wont stay there ever again and wont even recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    8
    10
See reviews for
11
8
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockmart, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I were returning home to Georgia from Rapid City, SD and this was the second, and last, night of our trip. We stopped here because my wife was a Choice member and we needed a good rate. We got a rate of $39.99 plus taxes ($45.29 total). We got in about 6:00 PM and just wanted to relax, cool down, get a bite to eat, and get on the Internet to plan the next leg of our trip. There was a Waffle House next door so that is were we went to eat; nothing special and about what all WH's offer. We had left the air conditioner on in the room to cool down but when we got back, it was not running. We had to fiddle with the controls (turn the setting down to 61 degrees) before the air would even come on. It kept the room a comfortable temperature the rest of the night. The TV display was very poor; very grainy and had wavy lines on most channels. I tried to connect to the wireless to plan the rest of the trip but could not get internet connectivity. I took the laptop to the front office and connected just fine. The fridge was cool but not cold. There is a Motel 6 next door; if ther is a next time, I will stay there, maybe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This econolodge does what it says on the tin. Relatively clean rooms (few small stains on the bed sheets but nothing to really complain about), clean bathrooms, good location, comfy beds, good AC, safe lock.

The location wasn't the most family friendly - West Memphis isnt regarded too highly but we experienced no problem. The Waffle House outside provided a great snack location when we came back from town late at night but did ensure a constant traffic of people through the area.

The service at the front desk was average but you're not going to get the most courteous!

Would recommend if you need somewhere to crash for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Positives--the staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean. The hotel was right off I-40.

We were tired after driving 12 hours and just wanted a place to get a few hours of sleep before driving another 12 hours to get home. We saw the sign that advertised a low price. It was convenient, so we stopped. They were "sold out" of the inexpensive rooms and we paid $22 more than the big ol' sign out front advertised. It was still a reasonable price, so we agreed to accept the desk staff's friendly offer to show us a room. Oh, it reeked of cigarette smoke, so we declined the first room. The second one had no odor, so we took it.

The room was dated, and nothing fancy, but the shower worked fine and the bed was comfortable. We never did get the "free WIFI" to work.

The really BAD thing was the highway noise. Oh, tired as we were, it was very difficult to sleep. The next morning, we skipped the "free continental breakfast". We are trying to eat healthy. They had sweet rolls, and toast. I only drink coffee with half & half. They only had powdered creamer, so I skipped my morning coffee. They had OJ, but no fruit available.

Driving away in the morning my husband said that he had wanted to go to a Best Western down the street. It did look a lot nicer, and I bet we could have eaten breakfast there. When we inquired about their pricing, we found we could have stayed there for $6 more.

Hey, we were trying to save a few bucks, but hey you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here one night while enjoying the Beale Street Music Festival across the river. We made it to the motel around 1 that afternoon and we were thrilled that our room was ready. But we were disappointed to learn that although we had requested a smoking room, we were not given one. This is the second time that has happened to us at a West Memphis motel. We thought the motel was exactly what were expecting while sitting at the lobby. But when we went to find our room, we were upset to learn we were on the back side of the building over looking some very run down (boarded up windows and doors) apartment complexes. There were a few unsavory characters hanging out just on the other side of the fence from our room. We carried our luggage all the way up to the room to find none of our card keys worked. Luckily there was a man from the cleaning crew a few doors down who let us in and informed the front desk. A maintence guy came around a little later and switched out our keys for us. These two gentlemen were the stars of this property. The room was what you would expect for the price, but I found it to be a bit worse than the price we paid. The bathroom didn't not look as though it had been cleaned, the floors had certainly not been vacuumed anytime soon. Everything was broken and there were only a few working light bulbs in the room. We had been in the room for about 30 minutes, when the cleaning crew knocked on the door wanting to clean the room. We told them we had just checked in, they didn't understand. After this I wondered if our room had even been cleaned before we got there. The beds were made a fresh towels were hung up but it just seemed dirty (more dirty than most cheap motels.) None in our group slept very well, because the beds were small and uncomfortable (ours had a very noticeable lean to it) and pillows were way too big for me. I woke up with a very sore neck.

This room worked perfectly for our needs, we weren't in the room very often and it was easy to get on the interstate for Memphis in May. But I didn't find this motel to even be worth the cheapest of prices. Next time, I will pay a little more to get a clean(er) and better cared for motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus MS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Bottom line, you get what you pay for. We stayed here during the Beale Street Music festival. It was quiet (especially for the crowd you get during a music festival) I felt safe, there were no derelicts wandering the parking lot. We weren't here for the beautiful view and the indoor jacuzzi, we were here for a safe, quiet night of sleep until we left for the next days festivities. We got that. It was clean (enough) and the AC worked. We will stay here next year. Really close to the park. Why four stars? I got my moneys worth, and I rated it on that scale.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2315 S. Service Rd., West Memphis, AR 72301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > West Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in West Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge West Memphis
West Memphis Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.