We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhodes Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodes Resort Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Rhodes Resort Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rhodes Resort Jamaica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 15, Green Island, Jamaica (Formerly Rhodes Hall Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rhodes Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, there is a private beach,great snorkeling, the staff is fantastic! The restaurant could use some improvement (food was tasty, but portions not consistent, opt for a room with kitchenette).
The Rhodes is a little rustic, so if you usually stay at large resorts (think Sandals), this is probably not for you. But if you're into low key gems with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere, this is the place. My husband and I are definitely going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clintonville, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I along with our daughter and son-in-law stayed 5 nights at Rhodes in March. I would recommend this resort to those seeking a quiet getaway and not expecting frills. We were greeted at the airport by our driver Wayne and driven to the resort. He was kind enough to stop at a store so we could exchange some money and buy some snacks. Check in was wonderfully easy. We were taken to our rooms with no lengthy check in process. Our rooms were clean, tidy and satisfactory. Nothing fancy but we weren't looking for that.
The beach was paradise. Small, but plenty of room for sun bathing, swimming and nice shade trees when you've had enough fun in the sun. If you like to snorkel, the coral reef is within swimming distance from the beach which we took advantage of daily.
The grounds were nice and well kept. We enjoyed the peacocks and chickens that roamed freely. All the staff that we encountered at the resort were friendly and helpful. Jefferson, is a fun helpful guy. Don took us on a cave trip that was totally awesome. Logan and Janet at the restaurant were super. The cleaning ladies did a great job and were very friendly. There are other staff that were great also, but can't remember all their names.
We would definitely go back to Rhodes and visit again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Jamaica. We had a pleasant stay at Rhodes Resort, but we will not be returning. While the grounds and the beach are beautiful, the comfort of the room and the staff at Rhodes were lacking. We constantly felt like we were somehow an inconvenience to the staff. This made our stay very uncomfortable. Everything from ordering food from Logan, the waiter at the restaurant, to asking for new towels was responded to in either rude, disrespectful, or careless manner. Before we stayed at Rhodes we were advised not to enroll in a meal plan since the plans are all over-priced and unnecessary. We opted for the complimentary breakfast each morning, which seemed to especially irk the staff. While we are glad we stayed at a hotel outside of Negril, which is overrated and over-crowded, we were disappointed that such a beautiful hotel is marred by lackluster staff and overpriced food/activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I returned to Rhodes for our second time in December, 2012. We stayed for three weeks and frankly it was not long enough for me. The reviews speak for themselves so I will keep this short. My main purpose in submitting this second review is to display....ok show off.... some of the underwater wildlife I was able to capture on film...or disc these days. So enjoy. I look forward to returning ASAP.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our 3rd trip to Rhodes in just 7 months and we'll continue to go back! We had a private butler dinner on our balcony (it was a birthday celebration) and Logan did an amazing job with every detail, from concept, design to execution. Chef Marvin masterpieced a fantastic meal and made a better birthday cake than our wedding cake (which was made from a baker outside the resort). Kemp and Chef Garrett were great with the lunch grill. Janet was top notch as usual. Eldith and Teresa made sure we had all the beach towels we needed and kept the rooms very clean! And Jefferson, you're made for radio with the webcast of the Jerk Chicken parties!

David and Marcel (hope you're feeling better!) have implemented just some simple changes like hanging a few hammocks around the grounds, which we took full advantage of! We took the horseback tour and swam with the horses, alot of fun. It's our home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at Rhodes resort last month & had an amazing time. The staff was great, kind, knowledgable, and caring. Very beautiful property. There is so much to do here too! From the snorkelling, to the crocodiles. My mother got a sunburn, & one of the staff working literally cut her some aloe plant to help sooth her burn. The best part about this place is that even late at night, you feel completely safe. It's like your right at home without the stress. Next time, I will stay in a room with a kitchen for sure, but that's not to say, enjoying meals at the restaurant wasn't perfect! Especially the coconut shrimp! My favourite part was enjoying a red strip on the patio & watching the beautiful peacocks wonder the property. I can't wait to go back next year. Miss my rhodes resort family already. Five star in my book!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Rhodes Resort. We think it's an excellent location if you are looking for tranquility, far enough from the tourist traps and all-inclusives. It's all about relaxing on the beach, swimming, snorkeling and taking your time. Don't expect entertainment. It's a small resort and you will feel quickly like at home, chatting with other guests and staff.
Property is very well maintained and the owners are very involved to keep the place beautiful.
Our room was simple but comfortable and cleaned very well daily by a lovely staff.
The restaurant, who apparently is managed independently from the resort, offers a limited choice of food but the quality was generally good. We'd like to see more local food options on the menu. We did not take a meal plan. Better go in summer if you want fruits.
The snorkeling is good. You will see many coral fishes but in small number (overfished?). The reef is big and accessible from the beach. Coral is in reconstruction.
Going to Negril cost 150 J$ per person with route taxis (red plate). Very easy to find at the gate. But after spending a day in Negril we were happy to go back to Rhodes.
Half moon beach is 5mn from the resort. Great place to spend the day and eat grilled lobster.
Bring cash and get J$.

Room Tip: Whyte House rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhodes Resort Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Resort Jamaica

Address: PO Box 15, Green Island, Jamaica (Formerly Rhodes Hall Plantation)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Resort Jamaica 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a magnificent 550 acre property on the northwest coast just east of Negril in Hanover. Our low-density, eco-friendly resort has 26 unique ocean front and hillside rooms. All inclusive meal plans with or without alcohol. Transportation packages. Tour Packages. Accommodations ranging from family cottages with full kitchens, private rooms with furnished verandas, and hillside rooms with panoramic views available with or without meal plan. Rooms with jetted tubs, kitchenettes, sleeping lofts, queen size or king size bed. Rooms with no television for the utmost tranquility. Satellite and/or cable television available in some rooms only. Complimentary free use of pre-programed cell phone. We offer no complimentary shampoo, cream rinse, or room hair dryers, however you are more than welcome to bring these items if needed. Complimentary Continental Breakfast of coffee, tea, juice, toast & Jam available for registered guests between 7am to 9am. Full service restaurant, lounge & skydeck open daily 8 am to 9 pm. Order from the menu or from our daily specials. Seaside infinity seawater pool. Two private beaches. Natural private coastline. Mangrove Swamp & Crocodile Reserve. 60 Ft. Floating viewing platform. Mineral spring and magic blue mud bath. Queen of the night. Horseback riding daily (closed Saturday). Bird Sanctuary. Peacock Haven. Eco-Tours. Cave Tours. Nature Walk. Glass Bottom Boat day and night cruises. One mile healthy coral reef steps from our shoreline in Samuel's Bay National Marine Park. Snorkeling. Scuba Diving. Fishing beyond the reef. Friday night beach bonfire party. Gift Shop. Entertainment field. Playing field. Natural walking track. Basketball court. Multiplex Center. Wedding Venues. Special events. 20% Discount off all attractions for registered guests. Make this your own private paradise. Discover Rhodes Resort at Rhodes Hall Plantation and experience the true spirit of Jamaica in it's natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rhodes Resort Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel Hanover Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodes Resort Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;