We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

From arrival to departure, not a glitch. Booked through Apple. Rooms were good, as in previous reviews, needed a little updating but more than adequate. Meals were very good, options are plenty. Service was great, from check in, restaurant, keepers, people were very friendly and more than willing to help or just to say hi. Only one exception, would be the pool bars, we only found one bartender (thank you Veronica) which always looked happy and served you promptly. The others need alittle bit of training serving the guests as they seem to ignore you at times. Tipping did seem to play a part in how quickly you are served. But they do work hard, so by all means tip once in awhile.

The best review is whether or not you would go back and my answer is absolutely YES. It has become one of my favorite All Inclusive resorts in Mexico. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,338
    1,790
    548
    177
    112
See reviews for
383
6,319
38
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my first stay at an all inclusive resort and it was so exceeded my expectations. We stayed there in February as part of a Business trip for my partner. We stayed in a gold swim up room. It was great to literally walk out of the patio door straight into the pool. The room service was great and everyone NEEDS to try the deep fried coconut ice cream at the Japanese restaurant. I have no words for it. I hope to return soon. everything was great!

Room Tip: we paid to upgrade to a gold room initially for the jacuzzi tub. however we definitely could've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My sister, niece and I just returned from this resort. I have been to Cancun four times to all inclusive resorts, and generally this was very well run and quite beautiful. There were just a few wear and tear features, such as the tile on the swim up bars needs replaced. We had a swim up room and it was very convenient to the pool entrance. Only complaint is the one bar in this area-- we were in building 6 and had to wade down to get our own drinks, as the server rarely got up that far. No issues with housekeeping-- only one day without a washcloth, which was a common complaint on here. We had one bug in the shower. The food was good and had great variety. The filet in the French restaurant was our favorite. Drinks were well made and full strength. I was a little leery about some of the animals at the resort. Two iguanas were fighting and knocked over a table at a nearby pool. Also, a lady said one of the raccoon-like animals jumped on a man as the beach restaurant after he fed him, obviously wanting more. So don't feed the animals. They add a lot to the ambiance, however. I am visually impaired, and I enjoyed the fact that you could call the bell boys and they would bring the little trams to get you and take you around the resort. At the end of dinner they also will pick you up at the end of the restaurant walk way. I talked to several senior citizens and they also enjoyed this for mobility issues. The resort was a good value for the money.

Room Tip: The swim up rooms are great, but very quiet. If you enjoy more of an activity pool, don't pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear recent VIM Guests from West Virginia,

Thank you very much for your gracious review published on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our French food and most of our services and facilities.

We took good note of your observations regarding the swim up’s bar with the F&B Department in order to take the appropriate measures in the future.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hola
We just got home. Time to detox.
On with the review......
The airport - was a little hairy. Tonnes of people, and porters trying to grab your bag. Just walk to your agent and say no thank you and things will be good. DO NOT buy beer at the bar, $30 USD for 4. (the bus they are $3 each). The ride to the resort was quickish. had to stop at one other resort. so an hour.

Check in was painless. As everyone has said, cool cloth and a drink.

Our room-Emerald Room- was nice. It looks as all the pictures say. King bed, lots of drawers for clothes, double sinks, water closet...NO bugs. The jucuzzi tub room is as big as a small bedroom and the tub takes an hour to fill, but so worth it. The window/door in the tub room slides open and you see and hear the animals and such. Very pretty. We were at the resort during a full moon so it was very beautiful at night. The room and mini fridge are designed to keep things cool NOT cold. Just an FYI for you. Also if you are ground level all you will see is trees and bushes. They are all well maintained and cleaned up. Very nice. But creepy at night. Maid service was adequate. No towels art, no special things on my b-day. But emptied garbages, made bed and swept floor.

Restaurants- were all good. We are not "foodies" so we are easy to please. Expect to be eating for 1 1/2 hours or so. The room service was very good. We did that a couple times as it was super hot outside and I didn't want my hubby to be too hot in long pants (3/6 men need long pants and closed toe shoes). So we ate in the room and then off to the square for drinks.

Bars were all good. Longest wait for a drink was 5 minutes. So very quick. Waitresses ALL over the place to take your order.

Pools- we hung out at the pool in late afternoon. Warm water, pretty clean and good service.

Beach/ocean- HUGE and beautiful. 100 palapas for "regular" people and about the same for privileged people. Lots of loungers stacked up so always a loungers available. Of course there was chair saving, the tourists don't get that it isn't cool. But we managed to always have a palapa and we never "saved". Our latest day to arrive at the beach was 10:30am. Waitresses all eager to take your order, chefs walking around once a day providing pizza samples.

Turtles- So awesome to know that this resort takes care of these turtles. We were VERY fortunate to be able to see these little guys hatch and were able to release them to the ocean. It was actually the highlight of our trip (for me). The resort is concerned about these guys and are adamant that NO flash photography ANYTIME on the beach. It confuses the turtles.

Excursions- we took the shopping shuttle to Playa del Carmen. $18 each round trip and it is direct from our resort to Playa del Carmen.

Wifi in lobby is very quick, in the square a little slower. Computers are quick as well.

The reason we did not rate this a 5- the resort is very big, a lot of trees so you can not see everything (meaning - where the lobby is) The trees are beautiful and lush and awesome. Just a little tough to navigate the maze that the resort is on the first couple days. My hubby was not happy about that. Wearing heels to supper was a bit of a workout. We did catch golf carts as they whizzed by every once in awhile so that helped.

Management may I suggest "bus stops" for people to stand at to catch a ride.

So over all we got what we paid for: SUN, sand, drinks, food and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I went with 3 other couples and thoroughly enjoyed our weeklong stay. The resort staff members were outstanding and well trained to service the guests. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking them throughout the week. Rooms were very nice and clean. The pool area was one of the highlights of the trip. It was large, warm, and plenty of activities and drinks available.
The restaurant selection was wonderful, food was excellent and service exceptional. Not that the resort has any control over the weather, but that fact that it was perfect made our experience even better. There were plenty of excursions available, which we did a few, and enjoyed them all.
We'll go back without a doubt.

Room Tip: If you are not staying in a building by the beach, get a top floor unit so you can see over the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the wonderful Valentin Imperial Maya for 2 weeks late July/early August. We stayed here for two weeks at the same time in 2012 and really loved the resort and the people. This year was even better that we expected it would be.
La Marche restaurant
We would go here religiously every day for lunch. It has some days which are themed (American, Italian, Mexican) and the regular grill stations. The food is amazing; most days we made us of the grill station with the fresh fish (salmon, tuna etc) and shell fish/seafood. This is cooked on a grill with nothing spared, seasoned perfectly and even drenched in white wine which was burnt off to leave amazing tasting food. A big thank you to all the staff there, and a particular mention to Angel who seated us most days. Always a kind and friendly greeting and excellent service all around.
Taminsara (Indonesian)
Again we must have gone here on 4 occasions for dinner. Lovely open kitchen where you can watch the food being prepared in front of your eyes. The food is also amazing, we could not complain about anything. Margarita was our waitress on the first night and we were very happy that we were able to have her on our subsequent visits. Our glass was never empty, Margarita was very attentive and an asset to this restaurant and did everything to ensure we have fantastic dining experiences.
Ginger (Japanese/Asian)
This restaurant never fails to deliver on quality and service. Portions are extremely big, and the green tea ice-cream is to die for. I also loved the tempura shrimp to start. We did not go to the Hibachi tables as we have had this experience so many times, and we did not want to be restricted to a specific time to dine, but by all accounts this was a great experience too.
L’Alsace (French cuisine)
This was the restaurant that we visited the most. It is the one with the best atmosphere and a simply fabulous menu. Nothing, as in all the restaurants, is ever a problem. Often I would ask for the duck, but requested the accompaniments from another dish from the menu, and that is what I got. The Crème Brulee is so good, but just make sure you ask for it to be really hard and crispy on top, our dishes never ever failed on satisfaction. The Maitre D and staff were also very attentive and did everything they could to make our dining experience memorable.
Beach Bar/Pool bars
I just love the beach bar as a place to hang out and have a some cocktails after spending a few hours on the beach. I think that the staff have set the bar very high as the cocktails were really amazing and so much better than last year. The glasses were very elegant and the colours were amazing. Must trys are Mango Colada, Melon Colada, Superman and the Mojitos. There was also another drink that we did not see being served the year before, and that was ‘Beergaraita’ – beer with a margarita float – keep the beer cold from start to finish. You must try these.
Grounds
I take my hat off to the gardeners; they really do a super job. They are constantly seen maintaining the amazing grounds each day. This is both a credit to them and to the resort. The grounds are so beautiful and everywhere is so tranquil.
I know that we will be coming back to the Valentin, and would highly recommend this resort. Amazing experience from start to finish.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited the VIM in August for our 20th trip. Once again we were not disappointed! We will be returning on November 28th for our 21st trip. We would never stay anywhere else. The staff is excellent and the food and drinks are top notch. The reason we continue to return is because of the staff. They go above and beyond to make your vacation the best ever. Thanks VIM! From Management down to all VIM staff you are TOP NOTCH! We can't wait to see all of our VIM family in November. If you are thinking of booking a trip to the VIM, don't hesitate. It will be your best vacation ever. If you have any questions please feel free to email me. Can't wait to see you Fabrice and Alejo!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.