We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at VIM in the beginning of March 2013 overall we really enjoyed our stay but not sure if we would be recommending this place to our friends.

We ordered our vacation on Orbitz and one of the reasons was their “worry free” price matching policy. A few weeks after we booked our vacation, the price dropped significantly for the same package. When we called Orbits to get a price match they said it doesn’t apply to packages where flight and hotel are purchased together. We were able to cancel the original booking and re-purchased at the lower price but the hassle was pretty big especially when they could have just matched the price. Do yourself a favor, next time you order a vacation don’t use Orbitz. They have too much small print and their price match rarely applies.

We arrived at VIM using USA Transfers, the company charged $80 round trip in a private car. Very good email communication, very prompt, they were ready for us when we arrived in Cancun and when we were departing. The cars were new and clean. The drivers were very friendly and professional. Don’t forget to tip them.

When we got to the hotel, the first thing we noticed was the security. They called from the entrance to reception to make sure we had reservations before allowing us onto the property. This immediately gives a sense of security at this resort. At the lobby, friendly staff immediately took our luggage so we didn’t have to lug it around. We didn’t get a wet towel and the champagne but it wasn’t a big deal. Check-in was relatively smooth. We wrote emails 6 weeks and 2 weeks prior to arrival with a request for the junior suite with a king size bed and be in building 4 or 5. They did partially comply by getting us a king size bed but we were placed in building 1. They offered to move us later in our stay but we decided to stay in the room they provided. Check-in took about 20 minutes due to this discussion.

I wish we would have known just how far we would be from the beach in building 1. Maybe we would have paid for an upgrade from the start but we just didn’t want the hassle of moving in the middle or our trip. From building 1 to the non-reserved part of the beach is literally a 15-20 minute walk – its far! If you get roomed there, don’t forget anything in your room when you go to the beach!

We informed them in our emails - we were coming to celebrate a birthday and an anniversary; our door had a “Happy Anniversary” sash, which was kind of cute. The room was nice and clean, smelled fresh – not moldy, spacious bathroom, mini bar with juice, water and beer. We were greeted with towel swans and rose petals on the bed, a bottle of champagne as well as a slice of chocolate cake decorated with anniversary congratulations. After gathering up all of the rose petals to get into bed we noticed they stained the comforter in red; this was not changed at all during our stay. Maid service most of the time was excellent. They cleaned our room twice a day. I don’t know if it was because of the $3 tip we were leaving on the table each day or if that was their usual, still it was nice. Once, they forgot to clean the room at all, but after we called housekeeping the room was clean almost immediately. The bed was firm, a little too firm for my wife’s taste. We didn’t have any problems in the room. The water was hot, pressure was good, A/C worked.

As for food - Overall, we liked the variety of food and the service. We ate breakfast and lunch primarily at the La Marché buffet. We found the service and selection were slightly better than the Tierra and Mar option closer to the beach. In the morning they always had a live saxophonist playing and it stays less busy. As for Mar and Tierra, around lunchtime when everyone comes in from the beach and pool it can be too crowded. Not only will you not get good service but there may be limited food. Still it wasn’t a huge deal but I would suggest La Marché for breakfast and lunch.

Dinner - We tried to eat early (~6) so we could see the shows later. Also, getting to the restaurants early virtually eliminated the need to have a long wait. Except Ginger (Hibachi dinner) we arrived at 6 (their posted opening time) and the earliest reservation available was at 9pm. When we decided to try the other restaurants to see if we could get seated earlier we found out each one had a wait over 1.5 hours by the time we got there. This is how we learned our lesson to be sure to eat dinner early. We ended up missing a part of a really cool fire acrobatics show in order to make our 9pm reservation. Hey at least the wait was worth it. The food was great, just like Behihana back home! If you want to eat there earlier show up at 5:30.

The French restaurant was just – ok. It was a fancy atmosphere, the service was special but the food was really nothing to write home about.

We loved the Italian restaurant. The food, atmosphere and service was excellent; we even went there twice. We sat outside each time and its location is just right so you can hear the running water of the fountains and the singing in the main plaza.

Tierra steak house was pretty good. They prepared the meat tender and flavorful but the sides were a little boring. The lobster was large and delicious, definitely worth the extra $30.

The Indonesian place was a mixture of Thai and Indian foods. There were pretty common/simple dishes, like pad thai and chicken vindaloo. It is great if you enjoy a spicier palate. My wife loved it.

We ordered room service twice and got our order in 20-30 minutes. The food was still hot and tasted fresh. They don’t leave a tray for you to keep the dishes on, which we would have preferred. That way we could have set the dishes outside the room for pickup rather than sitting in the room all night. Yea, I guess we were too lazy to take the dishes outside the door one at a time ;)

Bars - all of them had top shelf liquors but make sure when you order your drink to tell the bartender exactly what liquor you want, otherwise they use the cheapest stuff.

The staff is very friendly and they keep the grounds nice and clean.
The beach was spectacular! Especially towards the left side of the resort where it is all white sand and turquoise water.
Warning: Beware of the rocks under the sand towards the right side of the beach, I learned the hard way and stubbed my toes black and blue.

The only thing that actually pissed me off was the towel games. We literally had to be at the beach at 6 am to get a shady spot. If you come by 6:15 you are out of luck. We got the impression people were coming and leaving towels to hold their spot at 3am or something! It is insane. The reserved beds for the privileged guests were empty ALL of the time, we saw them used twice in all the time we were there. They really need to build more shade for the regular guests, instead of that huge section of wasted beachfront. The drink service on the beach was fast and frequent. I brought a thermal cup and they mixed the drinks in there so it stayed nice and cold and I didn’t have to look for the waiters much.

In the big picture we enjoyed our vacation very much, we are not picky people so a few small hiccups weren’t a big deal and they didn’t stop us from having a good time. We probably wont get back to VIM because it was too big (hated the walk from the room to the shore) and I’m not a big fan of getting up at the crack of dawn to get a spot of shade on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Recent VIM guest from Portland, Oregón.

We would like to thank you for for taking the time to post such detailed review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to know that the friendliness of our staff , the grounds and the beach, made a significant difference to your holiday enjoyment and your comments will be displayed within the hotel for all to see.

We can confirm you that cleaning your room twice a day is the standard of Valentin Imperial maya.

We have carefully considered each and every comment mentioned regarding the spot of shade on the beach. We wish to reassure you that with our executive team ,we already planned get more palapas for a very near future .
Thank you also for bringing to our attention the Mar & Tierra, Rest assured that corrective actions in this area you have highlighted have been taken in order to improve our service in the future.

We appreciate your comments as they encourage us to do the utmost to improve our service. We wish to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,330
    1,790
    548
    177
    113
See reviews for
383
6,312
38
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandy, utah
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Caribbean adults-only resort has much to recommend. The property sits on a gorgeous stretch of beach, is well-landscaped around scenic pools, and has a variety of dining options. The staff is helpful and friendly; Edgard of the go! staff (water aerobics instructor) particularly livened things up, and the roaming photographers were surprisingly talented.
Be warned about just a couple things--wifi is only available in the lobby, and the flashing smoke alarms are located directly above the bed so unless you pack an eyemask, sleep is challenging. We came in a group of 6 and found that housekeeping between the rooms varied greatly despite having all paid for and reserved the same type of room. Some rooms (building 4) had resort info books, pillow menus, and runners on the bed artfully folded each night. Building 3 rooms lacked all of those amenities and our patio faced the road instead of a private garden area.

Room Tip: Based on our experience, building 4 is superior to building 3. However, we had requested to all be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear VIM guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community.
We are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

On the other hand we regret that to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding the room amenities with our housekeeping manager, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

We appreciate your additional comments concerning the flashing smoke alarms at our rooms and the wi-fi; we will use your feedback constructively to make improvements to our areas.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please do not forget that we will be glad to welcome you back at any time at Valentin Imperial Maya. We will really appreciate you give us another chance to serve you and we will do our best to provide you the excellent holidays that you deserve.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to the Valentin for our honeymoon and right upon arrival we were greeted with champagne and a speedy check in. Our room was beautiful and clean and housekeeping kept it very nice and tidy and always replenished our mini bar. The beach and grounds are absolutely beautiful. Everything is clearly well maintained. The pool was awesome and even though it was very crowded and hard to find a chair we didn't have trouble at least finding a float in the pool. Everyone who worked at the resort was very friendly- especially Manuel at Mar y Tierra. I noticed that if you smile and say hola to them they are always going to respond positively- you get what you give. As for the restaurants the food was delicious. We are big sushi eaters and ended up at the Japanese place twice because the sushi was so good. We also really enjoyed the options. Breakfast and lunch were full of choices too. I will say this was our first all inclusive and we were very impressed, but we really are very easy going so a little waiting for dinner or searching for chairs didn't bother us much.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Recent Valentin Imperial Maya Honeymooners,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon at our Valentin Imperial Maya. We know that our Staff will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Manuel will be informed about your mention; we let him know how he helped to make your stay memorable.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya maybe to celebrate your first anniversary ?

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A girls trip that has taken place at this resort for the last 6 years. The spa is fabulous. Christine, Alberto, Jasmine (I will forget someone & I apologize) Jaun, the manager, they take customer service to a whole new level. The Spa Valets are wonderful and cater to your needs.
The food and room service is wonderful. The grounds are maintained so beautifully and if you are not happy about your srervice just ask.
We will do another girls trip, we love the swim-up, it;s a week of total relaxation.

The Ontario and Western repeats.

Room Tip: The swim up rooms in building 6&7 get sun longer, great for a full day of sunshine and relaxatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Recent VIM guests from Edmonton, Canadá.

Thank you very much for your review, It is very important for us to know that you had a great stay, our team and especially our spa team is one of the most motivated as we love to know that our guests are having wonderful experiences.

Please let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback, our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

he Good:
The resort grounds are beautiful - perfectly groomed and very well maintained
The check-in process is short and sweet - cold towel, champagne, less than 10 minutes, Service - everyone very helpful and don’t expect to be tipped
The resort seems over whelming at first, but you get used to the grounds quickly and by day 2 you know where all the paths lead to.
Entertainment is great - lots to do/see every day/night. MJ show and Mexican night were our favs. Imperial Band is also really good.
Food was better than expected. Lots of restaurants to choose from. No reso’s required. Even if they say it will be an hour wait for a table - it’s never more than 30 minutes and the time goes by quickly when you’re having a drink and watching a band in the courtyard. We liked the Italian restaurant and Ginger’s. French was ok. Mexican Buffet night was fun but it was a lot of the same food you can find at the regular lunch buffet.
Beach Bar was by far our favourite - great view/music/service/drink selection
24hr Room Service - what more can you ask for? The burger is huge, wings are saucy and the fries are tasty.
Beach is lovely - white sands and blue/green wavy water.

The Could Be Better:
More beach and pool side chairs - you have to go down at 7am (or earlier) to reserve a chair if you want a specific location. I know they are working on this.
Activity Schedule - would have liked to attend a yoga class but being on vacation I was not getting up at 7am every day. Perhaps they could rotate the workout class times during the week.

Notes:
Take lots of sun screen
Bring a sweater (evenings are cool, as are windy days on the beach)
Building 2 is close to everything
The room gets damp over the week (with the AC running and baths/showers being taken) - remember the room is open concept so make sure you and your partner are cool with that.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 2 (room 2202) - close walk to the pool, beach, gym and restaurants. We had a S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Becky from Toronto, Canadá,

We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Valentin Imperial Maya, our facilities, the grounds, the entertainment, our culinary experience, the activities and the service, all those details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests. Our goal is your relaxation and made of your stay a perfect and unique experience.

Thank you also for your suggestions, they give us the opportunity to know which services and facilities we can improve. Thank you also for your suggestions regarding the chairs issues, they give us the opportunity to know which services and facilities we can improve.

We would like to confirm to the TA community that the early morning towel game is not happening anymore since we have begun with a new policy where our concierge staff removed all towels from seats unattended early in the morning.

Looking forward to serve you in the near future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for four days in March and had a wonderful time. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the property is immaculate. I don't think I have ever visited a cleaner resort. The pool and beach are beautiful. I loved that there was one giant pool but with different atmospheres on either side; one side with music, entertainment and more boisterous while the other side was quiet and relaxed. The entertainment staff isn't as harassing and insistent as other places I have visited but I'm sure that's due to the fact that VIM is adults only. The drinks were well made and they had a variety of tasty and refreshing mixes. They have top and bottom shelf liquor but seemed to always use the top shelf stuff. The room was very large and comfortable. I've seen some reviews where people complained about the open layout of the bathrooms but that didn't bother me since I was there with my wife. I could see that being an issue if you are traveling with friends or other couples. Staff was extremely friendly, attentive, and very accommodating. There was a great selection of different restaurants at the resort. Overall though, I wasn't particularly impressed by the food. My wife is a vegetarian (doesn't eat fish either) and she sometimes had trouble finding things to eat. The only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars is because of the food. For the price, I did expect slightly better food. There is a bit of a waiting time for restaurants during peak hours. This seemed to have bugged some people but It's not really that big of a deal. If you're on vacation at an all inclusive resort, you can grab a drink and relax while you wait. There was plenty of shows and vendors there to occupy your time while you waited. We stayed at Secrets in Jamaica and were blown away by the food selection, so I may be slightly biased. Overall, this was a fantastic resort that I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Mexico. At no point did I ever feel that my safety was jeopardized. It's an extremely secure location. Rivera Maya allows a lovely Mexican vacation without the commercialization of the Cancun area.

Room Tip: Try and choose a building close to the center of the property. We walked out of our room as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Steve from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

In the name of all Valentin Imperial Maya, receive our most sincere appreciation for choosing us for your last holidays. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with our vegetarian food and the waiting time for restaurants; we aim at providing top notch service as expressed by so many in previous reviews.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with food & beverage manager, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

Thank you for publishing your review on TripAdvisor and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since I know VIM management is reading the reviews I am going to go right to the point. We came back yesterday (March 31) from a one week vacation. We have mixed feelings about our experience but I am still giving it a 4 because the positive points outweigh the not-so-positive. Since it is a 4 I will explain in detail why I don't give it a 5... You might think with all the not-so-positive comments I should have rated lower but I want to be fair and as a normal human of course I am going to concentrate on the negatives!!!

First the positives:

* Beautiful resort (lots of vegetation, wildlife and very well maintained)
* Great staff
* No-reservation restaurants are in our view above average (however: have a look at my comment in the not-so-positive section below)
* Evening shows were above average
* Room quite ok (but I have my reservations about the quality and constancy of housekeeping.... turndown service at 5:30pm...really?)

Not-so-positive

* Different classes of clients at the VIM (in order to get the most of your experience at this resort you need to be aware that you will need to upgrade your package if you only took the "deluxe suites". Our mistake from past experience at other adults ’only resorts was that once you book your package everybody at the resort has the same services. You may have a little upgrade here and there like a reserve beach location, a swim-up room or an exclusive lounge but at the VIM if you don't upgrade your package you have the right to the basic amenities (that are quite ok...don't get me wrong) but you feel like you are a second-class client. So you have the VIP's, the Goldens, the Silvers, the upgraded suites and I may be missing some as I just decided to let go... I have placed this on top of my comments because it impacts my other points below.

* Check-in process ok but needs improving. After we checked in and we were able to go thru the resort we discovered that there wasn't a lot of shade on the resort either at the beach or at the pool. There were a lot of empty shaded beds and lounge chairs with some shade but they were reserved for the upgraded clients. So unless you want to put your hand in your pocket you don't have access to those. So, my remark on this is that during the check-in process: we were not informed of the different options available. If we had been at that time we might have considered doing it but since we were already in our room we just didn't want to go thru the hassle. Also, we were not told much by the check-in employee who basically just looked up our room, told us it wasn't ready and to come back later. So, we waited 20 minutes before getting to finally sit down with him and told to come back...this step took 2 minutes. When we came back they didn't even care to review where everything was and to at least give us some details about the towels, where our room was or anything of the sort...we had to ask for this information...so, not critical but I would have appreciated a little bit more help right from the start. He could be a bad apple but you might be getting him so don't be surprised if you do!

* The restaurants: again they are great! The presentation is great and the food is excellent. The only problem I found is with the classes I mentioned above. I found out while we were there that if you took the upgraded packages you could make reservations! So, almost every night we were told we had to wait for an hour even if you could see there were several tables not used...this was because they were reserved for the upgraded clients that had made a reservation! Now: you can get in faster if you are there at 6:00pm right when they open but if you come in between 6:30 and 8:00pm you are in for a long wait. They managed to help with the wait by having a "buzzer" system that works very well but be aware that unless you are an early or late eater you will have this to face.

* The no-chair-reservation policy drama. Here is what happened: when we got there on the 24th we found out really fast that although we had read on Tripadvisor that they had a no-chair-reservation policy they were not enforcing it and that was causing a lot of anger on the clients. So, we started waking up at 6:00 in the morning to go reserve our shaded chairs at the beach (under the pallapas), go have breakfast and come back between 7:30 and 8:00 to enjoy the day. We did see like other Tripadvisor members had explained that several chairs were reserved and the people never showed up during the day. Since we have been to several resorts in the past we are quite aware that this type of situation is happening and accepted the fact that there are idiots in this world that only think about themselves and have no respect for others...anyway...this is a battle that I've never been able to start as I usually am on vacation while this is happening and I have better things to do like...relax... So, on the Wednesday we are starting our little routine outlined above and I come back to the beach to find out the towels were all gone! As we are all in shock I find out from other guests that somebody from the hotel came on both the beach and the pool and took all the towels away... So, after trying to get a grip on myself and talking it over with other guest I finally go to the Baracuda location (where they were giving out the towels) and asked them for my towels back. They told me they didn't have a clue and sent me to the concierge. So I did. When I got there I could see the concierge was getting screamed at on the phone by another angry guest and when he got to me and I explained he said that they had decided to enforce the policy on that day but he had no clue who/what/when it came from and asked me to go to the Baracuda to get my towels back...after I took a deep breath I told him the Baracuda sent me to him and I was better to get the towels before I was going to take the drapes from the lobby to use as towels... So I got new towel cards! In any case, for this event we had to go see 4 different concierges before one could finally explain that they are trying to resolve an issue they were having with the no-chair-reservation policy and that management was reviewing how it was done and she took down our room number to send management our irritation. So, praises to Carla for being the only one that seemed to care and listen. She said she would try to see if there was something they could do to make-up for the situation and when we got in the room in the evening we had received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine with a very nice plate of chocolates and truffles. Honestly I didn't think we would get anything and we were touched by the gesture from the resort for at least acknowledging that something was wrong and that we should have been treated (not just us but all the other frustrated guest) with more respect. However, I still have some reserve on the way the policy is applied and here is why:

1. We hear about the policy but I have not seen it anywhere in their documentation. After we told them they should at least have it stated in the resort journal they started writing it but they are only saying that there is policy in place and they are not outlining what they will do to enforce the policy.

2. VIM: you have to be clear and consistent! If you say you will not accept chair reservation have the clients sign the policy whey they check-in so they are aware of the policy and enforce it! You can't do it one day and not the other day! On Thursday they took towels off the chairs if there was no personal item on the chair so what where does that leave you? People were not putting their towels on the chairs with a sandal! On Friday you were taking the towels off but leaving the personal items...again....people are going to get new towel but the end result is still the same!!!!

3. Tell the concierges to never ask the clients to remove the towels and personal items of other guests from the chair ourselves. We have been told twice by the concierges! Am I going to be the one who will risk to be confronted by an angry guest because I had to remove their stuff because they didn't show up for a couple of hours in the morning! Come on! We are on vacation!

4. Get more shaded areas. It is obvious there aren't enough pallapas to enforce this policy... Get more pallapas out there so you can have a better ratio in place and then enforce the policy!

5. Next time you pull a stunt like this I would suggest you do it during a low season and let people know when you will start doing it. For a resort with your reputation I expected more planning and respect. I don't think this type of improvisation is fair for the guest who have entrusted in your hands their hard earned bucks and to your employees who had to answer to us. You did acknowledge the mistake by the gift you have given us but this should never have happened...you expect this from a 2-3 stars hotel...not one in your category.

Case closed. Don't do it again!

So although this kinda shaded our vacation I still think this is an excellent resort and unless you are unluck you will come back with a positive experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear recent VIM vacanciers de Montréal,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post such detailed review on Trip Advisor.
We all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services for you and for future guests to VIM.

Regarding to the check in information process, you did not get a good taking care at the first moment when you arrived at our hotel and we feel very sorry about it. We can assure you that service of this standard is not the norm of Valentin Imperial maya and we wish to reassure you, your comments have been brought to the attention of the front desk manager and team in order to take immediately actions improving our check –in and make sure that situation do not happen again.

We have also carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above regarding our restaurants system; Most of our guests like the idea of not having to make reservations for dinner as they can choose 1 of the 7 thematic restaurants “ à- La Carte” instead of waiting several days to try one certain place. But in fact, we also know that this “no reservation” policy may occasionally result in a slight waiting period during peak hours (between 07:00 pm to 08:30 pm), especially in the high season. But the time goes by quickly when you’re having a drink and watching a band in the Spanish place. We would also like to confirm that effectively the possibility to make restaurant reservation is part from our privilege package as many others resorts.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention our towel policy. As you said: “this type of situation is happening and accepted the fact that there are idiots in this world that only think about themselves and have no respect for others”. Because of the seriousness of this situation we have to admit that the drastic decision we took was maybe not the perfect but we do think that it was at least the fairest one.
Regarding the shaded areas , we wish to reassure you that with our executive team ,we already planned get more palapas for a very near future .
We hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate you how wonderful a stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya can truly be.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.