We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Trip - Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip - Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I just got back from another wonderful vacation at this resort. What is there not to like about the Valentin. We have been there many, many times and will be back in June for another visit.

The beach, pools, restaurants, and hotel grounds are outstanding. The staff are very friendly and will help with anything they can. My wife and I are already counting the days until our trip in June.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear VIM repeat guests from Harrisburg,

We are grateful for your positive review published on Trip Advisor, It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and we are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service.

Thank you also for recommending our property and we look forward to see you back in June at your 2° house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Wishing all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,863
    1,659
    513
    167
    107
See reviews for
343
5,817
36
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Valentin. It was nice to stay at an adults only resort. The food was good, and the staff was great. The grounds were very well maintained. Our only complaint was that there wasn't enough seating in the shade. My husband got burnt on the first day of our stay, and we had a very difficult finding a place to lounge out of the sun, by the pool or by the ocean. The sad thing was there was many cabanas that were empty, but could only be used by the "privilege club". We couldn't find any covered seating at all for "regular" guests by the ocean. I was disappointed that over 70% of the seating that wasn't available to us, went unused during our entire stay. :( The other weird thing (and I found the same thing at the last resort I stayed at), is there isn't an enclosed bathroom. The tub has a curtain that you can open and you can see straight into the bathroom. The toilet and the shower are behind glass doors. It was uncomfortable for my husband and myself, and was very uncomfortable when I traveled with my friend, at the other resort. Other than that, we had an awesome trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear recent VIM guests from Madison,

Valentin Imperial Maya Resort thanks you for your kind recommendations. It is nice to know that our guests take their time to express their impressions. Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and I appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding the difficulty finding a place to lounge out of the sun & our privilege club policy with our Chief concierge manager in order to take the necessary actions to guarantee our guests satisfaction and comfort.

We also have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding the uncomfortable situation because of the bathroom, we have taken your observations up with our Housekeeping and maintenance manager, to improve our service in the future.

We hope to be able to host you many more times in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our eighth visit to the Mayan Riviera, and our first visit to the Valentin Imperial Maya, March 3 - 10, 2013. We stayed in a Golden Suite overlooking one of the pools. It was a beautiful suite, very modern and well maintained, with lots of room and an incredible bath room. There is an elevator in each building so there is no problem for people with mobility issues. It is very easy to find your way around this resort. It is large, but it is not one of the super huge resorts that take all week to figure out where you are. There are trolleys, but we chose to walk wherever we went.

The restaurants are wonderful. We especially enjoyed the French, Italian and Japanese restaurants. The food and quality of service were outstanding. The French and Italian are very elegant restaurants and make for a lovely evening out. The buffets for breakfast and lunch were very good too. At lunch, there is a chef who will grill steak, chicken, shrimp, salmon, etc. to your order. Everything is delicious.

The beach is really outstanding. We love to swim in the ocean and this was the best beach that we have found on the Mayan Riviera. The sand is fine and free of rocks. It is a huge beach and wonderful to swim in. There was one section on the far right side which had some coral, so people snorkeled there. The rest of the beach was all sand. No need for water shoes here! The pools were beautiful and the people there seemed to enjoy themselves.

It was very nice that this is a resort for people over 18 years, especially when we were dining in the fancy restaurants.

Now that we have discovered the Valentin Imperial Maya, we won't be going anywhere else. We are already planning a trip back there next year. It is a wonderful holiday resort.

Room Tip: Building 7 is nice and central to the restaurants, ocean and main pool. It has its own pool beside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Fabrice, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Laurel from Calgary,

We really want to thank you for the positives comments you have published on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya ; it was a pleasure to read your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers confirm that the Valentin Imperial Maya Resort is the perfect hotel for their vacation.

We are pleased that you loved it here; we will share your positive comments with our staff it encourages them to continue working hard.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit at the valentin imperial maya resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I along with her sister and husband just returned
from an 8 day stay at this gorgeous resort. We stayed from 2/27
through 3/6 and we pretty much left there kicking and screaming.
Our biggest complaint is it went so fast. My wife and I have been fortunate
to have visited this area four times and have enjoyed some beautiful resorts
including, Excellence, the Royal Solaris and Iberostar and although all had
some great qualities Valentin was right there with the best. We selected a Silver
Suite and requested Third floor rooms in Bldg 2. I understand fully that they can’t
save you a specific room or location if the resort is near capacity which it was but
they were able to give us two rooms across the hall from each other exactly as we
had asked for.
The weather was overcast with light showers the first two days of our stay but
continued to improve each day until we left. Eighty degrees with low humidity was
perfect. Pool water was a little chilly but easy to get used to in a few minutes.
We took the hotel shuttle to Playa Del Carmen and walked the approximately
20 blocks past shops, restaurants and hotels and it was a nice experience. We
enjoyed a late lunch at a place called Karen’s where Mariucci’s serenaded our wives.
We scheduled an Extreme Snorkel Excursion with our assigned Olympus agents
and it contributed to one of the most memorable days of our entire life. That morning
we were picked up at 7:30 AM at the entrance to our resort. There were nine of us
including our guide. We first snorkeled at Akumal Bay with both sea turtles and Sting
Rays, what beautiful creatures. From there we travelled to a private jungle area and snorkeled
in a beautiful cenote/ cave where the water was so crystal clear you could see the
bottom even though it was 50 feet deep or more in spots. Our next venture was
rappelling from a 70 foot tower. None of us had ever tried this before and I was amazed
at how easy it was. Our guide Henry was an excellent instructor. We then Zip lined
three towers before finally sitting down for a homemade Mayan lunch. From there we
returned to the resort at 3:00Pm in time for a little nap to recharge for the evenings
activities. We started our evening at 7:00Pm at Don Miguel’s with cocktails and a
delicious assortment of freshly prepared Sushi. Not everyone in our party were Sushi
fans but all of us enjoyed this treat. From there we made reservations for dinner at
L’Alsace (French) and while we waited for our 9:00Pm time we enjoyed their Circus
Show in the entertainment plaza. The dinner was amazing followed by a dessert to die for,
they had five choices and we opted for all five and shared. Crepes Suzette, Crème Brule,
Fruit filled cannoli’s, Baked Alaska and Chocolate Mousse. After this we enjoyed the
Imperial Band for Disco night back at Don Miguel’s. A day like this in the states would
cost in excess of a thousand dollars per person. We are not millionaires but this day
we know what it would feel like to be one. Every worker I spoke to told me how much they
loved their jobs and believe me it shows. The food in all the restaurants was delicious
and on that rare occasion when we selected something we didn’t care for we just
selected something else. Our last night we opted for dinner at Tierra (steak house)
and the Filet Mignon was not as good as the first time but at 10:10 Pm we rushed
to the French Restaurant and even though they close at 10:30 the Mat’re D said being
It was our last evening he wanted it to be special and invited us in. It was perfect. I am
stunned at some of the complaints I’ve read. The Spa, the workers, the beach, the
Restaurants, the rooms, the drinks, the excursions, I couldn’t find one thing about
this place that doesn’t deserve 5 stars. I guess we just know how to make the most
of a really good thing. Spend less time complaining and more time enjoying.
Please tip these people, they deserve it. Thank you to everyone at Valentin for
providing us with the perfect vacation.
AllInclusiveBob

Room Tip: Floors are all marble and I was told you can hear the furniture being moved around on the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Fabrice, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear AllInclusiveBob from Filadelfia,

In the name of Valentin Imperial Maya Team, We want express our gratitude for contribute with this amazing review.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed so much the time spent at our hotel. Thanks for appreciated the efforts and job of the staff, we will pass all your inspiring comments to them.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back for your 2nd visit at our resort..

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are not pleased with your experience at Valentin Imperial Maya, you likely can't be pleased anywhere. We experienced great food, fantastic top shelf drinks, friendly service, clean facilities, good entertainment, and a fantastic beach at this all inclusive resort. We went to every restaurant, and wasn't disappointed with any of them. Eight of us went to the seafood restaurant and they accommodated one of us who couldn't eat fish and brought him a steak. At every dinner, the staff was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Fabrice, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tom from Wauwatosa,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya resort. We know that our staff will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Thank you for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A great trip to the Valentine Imperial week of Feb 23rd:


Excellent weather, excellent staff, excellent food…..

Previously stayed in the Golden Suite, this time we stayed in the Silver Suite, Top floor, Building 1. Very quiet. Looked over a bird sanctuary. No real ocean view but we could look at the ocean all day long.

Room was beautiful, immaculate. Fabian, our guest service, did a beautiful job every day. We collected all our towel “animals” and left them on the bed the day we left. Swan. Fish, elephant, hearts of romance. With rose petals……

Food… Enjoy them all all. We did O’lvio, French, Mexican Party in the Plaza ( great dancing and Mariachi), Steak, Seafood, Indonesian, Japanese..

Sushi at Don Miguels at night – excellent!!!

Second stay, not a regret… Ignore the bad reviews…. If something is missing, something you want… it’s a phone call away… they bend over backwards to accommodate….

I’m an early riser and would walk early every morning. Every landscaper, maintainence worker, waitstaff, bellcap… were all so gracious and happy to respond “Buenos dias”. Fresh coffee and pastries in the lobby.

My special marsupial friends and iguanas were also there.

My shout outs, and to all I missed by name…. Pedro and Julio at check in… and Joice

Don’t miss Le Marche for breakfast- omelette station, crepe station, sushi, mimosas, bloody mary’s…. And oh, an amazing sax player serenading you. If you’re lucky, Raul might belt out a song or two…..
At Le Marche… smiling Sandra, Elsi, Isaac, Marysol, Javier, Arturro, and Raul.

Poolside… thanks to Sandra, Sergio, Veronica, Jesus and Reynaldo.
Entertainment staff… a great job Lidia, Marlene, Marina, Carolina and Edgard….. And Barbie’s boyfriend’s last name is a secret I’ll keep….

Take in the cooking lessons poolside… paella and guacamole…

Enjoy, make friends… Hey there Chicago, Baltimore, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Yvette and so many others… Don’t worry about chairs, floats….. we all shared…. Have an iceberg on us!!!!

From Long Island, RedNY

Room Tip: Silver Suites - very quiet.... Golden's were beautiful.... Top floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear VIM Guest from Long Island.

We really want to thank to post your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers from Trip advisor community to confirm that our VIM Resort is the perfect hotel for their Holiday.

We are very happy to know that the efforts and friendliness of our staff made a significant difference to your holiday enjoyment and your comments will be displayed within the hotel for all to see.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon for your 3rd visit at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Please contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail: costumercare@valentinmaya.com


Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from the VIM with my partner (21 Feb to 28 Feb, 2013).

The good things:
Upgraded to a lovely room, outside lazy river.
Grounds – amazing – flowers starting to come into bloom.
Lots of bird life, critters and of course the coatis – too cute.
Huge pool and swim up bar. Water was very warm. Nice drinks.
Lovely long walking beach, nice swimming area.
Buffet restaurants – very good, good assortment of foods to choose from. Very clean.
Specialty restaurants – all very good. We went to the French restaurant (twice), Steakhouse (twice) and the Mexican (very authentic). Did not enjoy the Italian one much. Good food, excellent wait staff, good wine too.
Saw a few of the shows at nite, and enjoyed sitting in the Le Espana plaza having drinks.

The not so good things:
We asked for a King size bed – sadly, this was not provided (however, we did get an upgraded room with two double beds).
Could not find a lounging chair at the pool – people leave towels lying around and its difficult to find a spot.
Difficult to find a lounging chair at the beach – again, people leave towels lying around and its difficult to find a shaded spot.

Besides that, nice crowd of people, good rest, lots of sun, sea, sand and swimming – what’s not to like? We did go on a snorkelling tour off site, but the water was very choppy.

Thanks Valentin, we had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Fabrice Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear VIM guests from Toronto,

We would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services .

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.