We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 8 fabulous nights at the VM in April of 2012. This review is long overdue but the good news is....we are returning in May of 2013. My husband and I have been to many all inclusives in the past. The Sun Palace and Riu Las Americas in the Hotel Zone and Riu Macau in Punta Cana just to name a few. So far, the VM, has by far, impressed us the most. Four other couples joined us last year. We have never been to the same place twice but this year we are all returning! The Steak House/Japanese/Indonesian/Mexican & French restaurants were our favorites. The Breakfast and Lunch Buffet had a great variety of food selections to choose from. After a long day at the beach, please be sure to stop by Don Miguel's late afternoon for a delicious Cappacino "with Baileys Irish Cream" and select from an assortment of sweet treats, cookies, mini fruit tarts, chocolate covered strawberries etc., before returning to your room to get ready for dinner. We loved the Cigar Bar where we enjoyed our Martini's. The bartenders are eager to please and will make your drink exactly the way you like it! Early evening we ordered sushi appetizers at Don Miguel's until our table was ready for dinner, trust me, "it's a must"! You cannot beat the "no wristband and no reservations needed" policy. The food is fabulous and the staff and service is outstanding. We highly recommend this "Adults Only-All Inclusive" resort. You will not be disappointed. Please remember to tip the staff!!! They do such a wonderful job. We cannot wait to return in May!!!

Room Tip: Building 6 is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Fabrice Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sherri from Massachusetts,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent experiences at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Your kind’s words mean more than you know and your feedback has been displayed in the hotel for all our staff to see.

We are also very happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel for your 2nd visit next May.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,329
    1,790
    548
    177
    113
See reviews for
383
6,311
38
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just got back from a 10 days vacation. Overall it was good. The room we had was a deluxe junior suite in building 5 room 5316. View of the Caribbean. The room was perfect and the amenities. Never was short of anything. The beach is one of the best I've been at along the Mayan coast. We try all but the lobster pot. All and all they were good. The sport bar was fun. The staff was excellent. The only critic I have are floaty in the pool. They all have label on them asking that they be left in the pool. You ask the people that are hoarding then if you may use it, they all respond I be using it soon. Often soon for them is hours later. I think the staff could try to in force the rule. Because I think it's not the client to fight for it. All in all I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Marc,

Thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation. Your comments made us so happy and so proud to work in this little piece of Paradise.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention the floating round the pool, we know we have to do something to solve that universal problem and believe us it is really not easy.
This is the reason why we are working very hard to find the fairest way to do it.
Our guests’ contributions are important for us since they help us to constantly improve the services we deliver.

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya met your expectations and hope to be able to host you many more times in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

After researching a number of options for our first trip to the east coast of Mexico, we are so glad we decided on this property. The service is outstanding, the grounds and environment are beautiful, the staff are all super-friendly. We really appreciated the 'no wristbands and no reservations needed' policy. The restaurant selection is terrific and we enjoyed every meal. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with all the amenities you could want. The resort size is ideal - big enough to have lots of options, small enough to feel 'like home' yet it never felt crowded. This vacation was everything we expected and more.

We have already recommended this resort to family, friends and co-workers. Our only hesitation in doing so is that this gem on 'the secret beach' will become too well known and will end up fully booked when we want to go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear recent VIM from Surrey,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent experiences at the Valentin Imperial Maya.
Wow what a great way to start the month. Your kind’s words mean more than you know and your feedback has been displayed in the hotel for all our staff to see.

Thank you also for recommending our property and we look forward in welcoming you back for your 2nd visit in the near future.

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our second visit, 2 years in a row, it was as good if not better than last year. The beach, the pools, the rooms are all fantastic. Pretty typical AI food, wasn't impressed with the French, but the Hibatchi tables at Gingers and the Indonesian (Taman Sari) were excellent. The steak house is always a safe bet. Didn't go back to the Italian as we weren't ultra impressed last year. The buffets are good but we tended to go to the cook to order stations instead of eating the items under the warmers.

We met some really nice people while we were there, had lots of fun on Valentine's Day evening with 2 couples in particular. We ran them out of Don Julio Tequila!!! Top shelf liquors upon request, another couple counted 52 bottles behind the swim up bar, so just ask for what you want.

Considering returning in November for our 15th anniversary. Can't go wrong with the VIM!

Room Tip: Golden Jr 3rd floor bldg 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Dan & Deb from Shrewsbury,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

We also have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding our food & Restaurants, we have taken your observation up with our food & beverage manager in order to improve that service.

We are also very happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel for your 3rd visit next November.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Service at Valentin was wonderful. They are GLBT friendly and made our anniversary trip memorable. The Riviera Maya area has wonderful opportunities to explore antiquities, decend into cenotes, go zip-lining, .... I would highly recommend using the many tours offered at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear John from Manchester,

Thank you so such for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

It's a pleasure to see that you had a wonderful stay with us!

We will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have vacationed in the area now 14 times, staying at both the biggest and the smallest hotel properties. We both agree that the Valentin is just the perfect size resort. Easy to get around and the size means you are not forgotten about by the staff. Every staff member from the maids to the bellboys to the front desk staff really go out of there way to be helpfull, Even the grounds keeper helped my wife with her packages to the room one day. Please don't be cheap a buck or two goes a long way to make make your stay more enjoyable. Everyone of the staff are so greatfull. Hopefully this property doesn't get any bigger as you may see the personal service decline as a result. Well done management and staff. WE WILL BE BACK. Drew & Karen Anderson (Regina Sask. Canada)

Room Tip: Through your travel agent book the cheapest room. When you get to the resort you can strike a much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Drew & Ms Karen Anderson from Canada,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya resort. We know that our staff will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Thank you also for recommending our property and we look forward in welcoming you back for your 2nd visit in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful resort. Huge restaurant selection. Amazing staff,hard working and very friendly.i don't usually go to the same place twice but would go here again. I felt very safe there. We really didn't need to leave the resort. There were a lot of options if we chose to. The pool is amazing and has two swim up bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Danielle ,

Valentin Imperial Maya Resort thanks you for your kind recommendations. It is nice to know that our guests take their time to express their impressions.

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our Management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back in our hotel.

King regards from sunny Mexico,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.