We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Shrewsbury, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“2nd time and will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our second visit, 2 years in a row, it was as good if not better than last year. The beach, the pools, the rooms are all fantastic. Pretty typical AI food, wasn't impressed with the French, but the Hibatchi tables at Gingers and the Indonesian (Taman Sari) were excellent. The steak house is always a safe bet. Didn't go back to the Italian as we weren't ultra impressed last year. The buffets are good but we tended to go to the cook to order stations instead of eating the items under the warmers.

We met some really nice people while we were there, had lots of fun on Valentine's Day evening with 2 couples in particular. We ran them out of Don Julio Tequila!!! Top shelf liquors upon request, another couple counted 52 bottles behind the swim up bar, so just ask for what you want.

Considering returning in November for our 15th anniversary. Can't go wrong with the VIM!

Room Tip: Golden Jr 3rd floor bldg 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Dan & Deb from Shrewsbury,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

We also have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding our food & Restaurants, we have taken your observation up with our food & beverage manager in order to improve that service.

We are also very happy to hear that you were looking forward to returning to the hotel for your 3rd visit next November.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,867
    1,659
    513
    167
    107
See reviews for
344
5,819
36
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Service at Valentin was wonderful. They are GLBT friendly and made our anniversary trip memorable. The Riviera Maya area has wonderful opportunities to explore antiquities, decend into cenotes, go zip-lining, .... I would highly recommend using the many tours offered at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear John from Manchester,

Thank you so such for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

It's a pleasure to see that you had a wonderful stay with us!

We will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have vacationed in the area now 14 times, staying at both the biggest and the smallest hotel properties. We both agree that the Valentin is just the perfect size resort. Easy to get around and the size means you are not forgotten about by the staff. Every staff member from the maids to the bellboys to the front desk staff really go out of there way to be helpfull, Even the grounds keeper helped my wife with her packages to the room one day. Please don't be cheap a buck or two goes a long way to make make your stay more enjoyable. Everyone of the staff are so greatfull. Hopefully this property doesn't get any bigger as you may see the personal service decline as a result. Well done management and staff. WE WILL BE BACK. Drew & Karen Anderson (Regina Sask. Canada)

Room Tip: Through your travel agent book the cheapest room. When you get to the resort you can strike a much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Drew & Ms Karen Anderson from Canada,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya resort. We know that our staff will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Thank you also for recommending our property and we look forward in welcoming you back for your 2nd visit in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful resort. Huge restaurant selection. Amazing staff,hard working and very friendly.i don't usually go to the same place twice but would go here again. I felt very safe there. We really didn't need to leave the resort. There were a lot of options if we chose to. The pool is amazing and has two swim up bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Danielle ,

Valentin Imperial Maya Resort thanks you for your kind recommendations. It is nice to know that our guests take their time to express their impressions.

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our Management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back in our hotel.

King regards from sunny Mexico,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first time to the Valentin and we are already planning next years trip to return. Everything from the service to the grounds were excellent. We went with two other couples for 4 nights. It is only 30 mins. from the airport. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and current, all the food was good and service as it should be. No reservations at the restaurants, 1st come 1st serve. I highly recommend this resort, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in bld 1 near the restaruants. It was fine with us as its only a 5 min walk to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear recent VIM guest

We appreciate your preference in visiting the Valentin Imperial Maya and taking the time to write impressions. Thank you for your recommendations for our future guests.

Your comments are very encouraging as we our main goal is the meet your entire satisfaction with our services and our atmosphere.

We look forward to receive you for your 5th visit at our resort and do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Our warmest Regards from the Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful Grounds, Pool. Negative side if you want to sit at the beach or pool on a chaise under the palapa (in the shade) you have to get up to do it at 6 AM. On vacation out of your room at 6 AM!! They need to fix this somehow. If you do not pay $120 per day for a reserved palapa, good luck finding a chaise. Beach is not calm here, pretty big waves. if you are looking for a calm beach look for hotel in a bay or cove. That being said the beach is gorgeous, Pool is pretty quiet, multiple pools linked together allow quieter area selection if you want to choose it. Several swim up and walk up bars. STAFF ALWAYS very friendly and courteous. ALWAYS attentive with a BIG smile, and OLA, everywhere you go. If it rains there is not much to do on the premises.
Italian Restaurant was terrible, food was inedible from start to finish. La Hacienda, Mexican dinner was fantastic. Allergic to Shellfish, the Manager came out to table-side to make sure his staff knew about my allergy and were taking special care to make sure. Food was excellent there. Recommend the Tilapia and the Chicken Fajita's. Quality of the food was excellent.
Buffets at both buffet locations for breakfast and lunch were very good.
The monkey-raccoon like animals (coati's) were not that big a problem when we saw them come out of the forest areas to eat coconuts or just pass by.

Room Tip: Third Floor, Big complex. Middle of the complex between Beach, Pools, and main buildings with resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Neil from Hicksville ,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya.
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

I have also carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above regarding the beach chairs & floating’ reservations, it is really not easy but we are working very hard to find the fairest way to solve the problem.

We want also to confirm a very important point: $60/ day for single person $120 for a couple; Is not the price for the Cabanas on the beach and round the pool but well the Price for our Privilege package which included:
• Private check-in and check-out at the Valentin Privilege Club.
• Pre Arrival Concierge services at privilege.vim@valentinmaya.com
• Early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability).
• Daily newspaper room delivery.
• Fruit platter & petit fours.
• In room fresh flowers.
• Bottle of sparkling wine in room upon arrival.
• Tailored Minibar
• Beach bag
• Restaurant reservations
• Lobster included at sea food restaurant.
• Reserved chairs at Pool or Beach Area
• Exclusive access to privilege lounge (7:00 am – 11:00pm) with:
o WiFi service
o Concierge service
o Ultra premium bar service
o Snacks at Privilege Club (5:00 pm – 7:00pm)

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Valentin. We love the food, service, beach and our room overlooking the ocean. We arrived to find not only had our room request been granted (2nd floor Emerald) but also our friends were given a 2nd floor Emerald in the same building. It was their first time at the Valentin and they loved every minute of it. The only negative was one evening at the Ginger - some how our food order was messed up and our friends got their meal but we didn't. Our food didn't arrive for over 30 minutes and when it did - mine had shrimp in it - I have a shellfish allergy which they forgot about when we inquired where our food was and they were in a hurry to get us food. Anybody that posts bad reviews about food on TA obviously has never been to the Valentin. The breakfast buffet is overwhelming with choices. Dinner is fabulous at the French and Italian spots. I can't eat lobster but everyone else in our group said it was the biggest and best lobster ever (18 oz for $32 USD) The beach has soft sand and only a few shells here and there. The pool was fun and we played water volleyball every day. My only suggestion is less karaoke and more dance music. We had a wonderful time and already talking about going back - love, love, love the Valentin!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear recent VIM guest,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya. Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and we really appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding your shellfish allergy inquiry in the ginger with our B&F manager, to make sure that situation do not happen again.

We have also carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding the music; we hope you will understand how difficult it is to satisfy the musical tastes of everyone. Although we have taken your observation up with the entertainment manager in order to offer more music varieties.

We look forward to welcome you back next year for your 3rd visit at the valentin imperial maya resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.