We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Adult Only Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hicksville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Adult Only Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful Grounds, Pool. Negative side if you want to sit at the beach or pool on a chaise under the palapa (in the shade) you have to get up to do it at 6 AM. On vacation out of your room at 6 AM!! They need to fix this somehow. If you do not pay $120 per day for a reserved palapa, good luck finding a chaise. Beach is not calm here, pretty big waves. if you are looking for a calm beach look for hotel in a bay or cove. That being said the beach is gorgeous, Pool is pretty quiet, multiple pools linked together allow quieter area selection if you want to choose it. Several swim up and walk up bars. STAFF ALWAYS very friendly and courteous. ALWAYS attentive with a BIG smile, and OLA, everywhere you go. If it rains there is not much to do on the premises.
Italian Restaurant was terrible, food was inedible from start to finish. La Hacienda, Mexican dinner was fantastic. Allergic to Shellfish, the Manager came out to table-side to make sure his staff knew about my allergy and were taking special care to make sure. Food was excellent there. Recommend the Tilapia and the Chicken Fajita's. Quality of the food was excellent.
Buffets at both buffet locations for breakfast and lunch were very good.
The monkey-raccoon like animals (coati's) were not that big a problem when we saw them come out of the forest areas to eat coconuts or just pass by.

Room Tip: Third Floor, Big complex. Middle of the complex between Beach, Pools, and main buildings with resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Neil from Hicksville ,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya.
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

I have also carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above regarding the beach chairs & floating’ reservations, it is really not easy but we are working very hard to find the fairest way to solve the problem.

We want also to confirm a very important point: $60/ day for single person $120 for a couple; Is not the price for the Cabanas on the beach and round the pool but well the Price for our Privilege package which included:
• Private check-in and check-out at the Valentin Privilege Club.
• Pre Arrival Concierge services at privilege.vim@valentinmaya.com
• Early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability).
• Daily newspaper room delivery.
• Fruit platter & petit fours.
• In room fresh flowers.
• Bottle of sparkling wine in room upon arrival.
• Tailored Minibar
• Beach bag
• Restaurant reservations
• Lobster included at sea food restaurant.
• Reserved chairs at Pool or Beach Area
• Exclusive access to privilege lounge (7:00 am – 11:00pm) with:
o WiFi service
o Concierge service
o Ultra premium bar service
o Snacks at Privilege Club (5:00 pm – 7:00pm)

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,868
    1,660
    513
    168
    107
See reviews for
344
5,822
36
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Valentin. We love the food, service, beach and our room overlooking the ocean. We arrived to find not only had our room request been granted (2nd floor Emerald) but also our friends were given a 2nd floor Emerald in the same building. It was their first time at the Valentin and they loved every minute of it. The only negative was one evening at the Ginger - some how our food order was messed up and our friends got their meal but we didn't. Our food didn't arrive for over 30 minutes and when it did - mine had shrimp in it - I have a shellfish allergy which they forgot about when we inquired where our food was and they were in a hurry to get us food. Anybody that posts bad reviews about food on TA obviously has never been to the Valentin. The breakfast buffet is overwhelming with choices. Dinner is fabulous at the French and Italian spots. I can't eat lobster but everyone else in our group said it was the biggest and best lobster ever (18 oz for $32 USD) The beach has soft sand and only a few shells here and there. The pool was fun and we played water volleyball every day. My only suggestion is less karaoke and more dance music. We had a wonderful time and already talking about going back - love, love, love the Valentin!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, subdirector at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear recent VIM guest,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of every employee at the Valentin Imperial Maya. Your comments were truly a pleasure to read and we really appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding your shellfish allergy inquiry in the ginger with our B&F manager, to make sure that situation do not happen again.

We have also carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding the music; we hope you will understand how difficult it is to satisfy the musical tastes of everyone. Although we have taken your observation up with the entertainment manager in order to offer more music varieties.

We look forward to welcome you back next year for your 3rd visit at the valentin imperial maya resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com

Wishing you all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We loved this resort. Have been to many all-inclusive resorts but have finally found our spot. The special differences add that extra touch that results in an above average, quality vacation. I am so happy that we finally found a 4+ star that really is one for the money you spend! Each restaurant has one-on-one service with an extensive menu at each. The wait time is worth it. You just have to plan you evening properly and go for drinks while you wait. There are food options at all times. If only they could find a way to follow the cruise lines and manage the morons who insist on holding 2 chairs each (one in the sun, one in the shade while others have nowhere to sit? Who does this and thinks it's ok?) and the floating mattresses (signs and announcements everywhere yet the same morons place them under their chairs all day so nobody else can enjoy them). These are hardly "problems" but it does take away from the enjoyment for others at the pool.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear YHZTraveler from Halifax,

We really want to thank you for the positive impressions and the suggestions you have published on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and we are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations for the money you spend.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention the beach chairs & floating’ reservations, it is really not easy but we are working very hard to find the fairest way to solve that universal problem.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort was great! And big. Which was great. Even though a lot of other guest were staying there, it never was crowded. No waiting at restaurants, except for the Japanese. This was only one night and we were given a pager. The only issue was deciding which bar to wait at. Service all around was fantastic. Grounds were impeccable. And pool was also huge. We upgraded to the emerald suites by the beach which was also nice. I would recommend this place as a great couples all inclusive.

Room Tip: Emerald suites are by beach. Gold suites have there own huge lazy pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jim from Nueva Jersey,

We would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

It was a pleasure to have been part of your anniversary!!

Thank you also for recommending our property and we look forward in welcoming you back for your next visit in the near future!!

Receive our warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Let me start by saying this is a beautiful resort....landscaping is phenominal!! We were greeted immediately upon arrival and escorted to a table with a glass of champagne. Only waited a few minutes for the front desk individual and received our room quickly.

The rooms are beautiful! Very clean and spacious! I loved the shower...very good water pressure. Plenty of towels daily and washclothes (saw other complaints but we had them).
The room service was good and quick not to mention 24 hrs!! Our room was in building 8, there is alot of walking so once you are at the beach it's not a quick run to the room for something so dont forget anything!! Next time I think I would ask for a more central room.

The food..well it wasn't the best but certainly not the worst. The buffets were pretty good but I wasn't so impressed with the restaurants at night. Went to Thai, Italian and French. I wouldn't rave about any of them:( They were not horrible just not that great. You could get top notch alcohol at this resort which was nice! And the bartender at the beach bar made us some awesomme concotions!

Again, The saving of the beach chairs..what a pain. You had to get up and get to the beach by 630am. Even when i did that I was still near the end of the row. I think people save these the night before unfortunately. I guess it's beats a line in the morning and people running for for chairs if they had someone their to enforce this...could get messy:)

Entertainment was so so....shows weren't that great but I didn't mind we found other thiings to do and the surroundings are so beautiful!

To sum it up....you won't be dissappointed if you go. Wonderful resort! So enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Milly from Pensilvania,

We really want to thank you for the positives comments you have published on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

We also have carefully reviewed the information you mentioned above and regarding the beach chairs reservation & entertainment, we have taken your observations up with our executive team in order to solve the problem and improve that service.

Thank you for recommending Valentin Imperial Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our first all inclusive vacation at the VIM. From the moment we arrived we were blown away at how beautiful this resort is! the grounds are perfect, walking around feels like you are in heaven from the vegetation, to the spotless walkways. The grounds staff works SO HARD to keep up this beautiful property, it amazes me! I took the time to thank these people everyday for their hard work.
We booked a silver suite, but received a free upgrade to an emerald suite in building 11. WOW!!! We loved our room! The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job everyday-very clean, well stocked, and the turn down at night was perfect, as we did have a few afternoon "naps"..it was nice to have our bed made up for the evening.
All of the food was EXCELLENT! Drinks were EXCELLENT and Plentiful! Only suggestion would be a drink menu at the beach & swim-up bars...but the bar tenders were very helpful, and could make you whatever you needed. All of the servers were a delight from the buffets, to the bars, to the evening service!!! Please tip these wonderful people! We noticed non-tippers, too bad, but everyone got good service. I just think that they deserve the extra few dollars each of us can spare....
We brought our own floats with us which was a good idea from other reviews. the pool was so relaxing, water was perfectly cool temp to refresh you from the heat of the day. We loved it! It's nice to have a pool were you can either be reading and relaxing, or partying, One side is quiet...other side is lively, giving you a choice. Well designed for that purpose.
Just want to say a big THANK YOU to all of the staff at the VIM for your attention to detail, and the wonderful service you provided us. You made our vacation a dream!!!! If it wasn't for you..we could have never been so spoiled!
Please do not hesitate to book this resort...the bad reviews are from people who have nothing better to do than complain! I have no idea where they could possibly get that opinion from!
We WILL return to this resort again for our next trip! Don't think we'll ever find anything better...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. Karalee from North Carolina,

We really want to thank to post your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers from Trip Advisor community to confirm that our VIM Resort is the perfect hotel for their Holiday.

We are very happy to know that the efforts and friendliness of our staff made a significant difference to your holiday enjoyment and your comments will be displayed within the hotel for all to see.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon for your 2nd visit at Valentin Imperial Maya!!!

Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Valentin Imperial is a beautiful, luxurious resort on the Riviera Maya. This was our first stay here and won't be our last. The staff are incredibly friendly and well trained and we did not have an unpleasant experience the entire trip. We stayed in a basic room which had a king bed, sofa, TV, and bathroom with both a shower and a whirlpool tub. The room was on the ground floor and had a very nice walk out patio area.
The resort is huge, and even though it was close to full capacity we never felt like it was crowded. We were always able to find loungers at the pool (we did get to it early though) and never had to wait more than 30 min for a table at a restaurant. The restaurants do not take reservations (with exception of the hibachi which has limited seats) so if you wanted dinner between 7pm and 8:30pm you usually had a wait, but there's a plaza central to most of the restaurants where you can wait and have a drink and there was entertainment there every night of the week.

The food was good but didn't blow us away, but we didn't expect it to. The breakfast and lunch buffets are great and usually out-shined the dinner experiences. The restaurants are beautiful and comfortable and feel luxurious, and again, the staff are trained incredibly well.

We had a centrally located building so we never had to walk too far to get to anything.

This isn't a party resort and most of the guests were couples aged 50+ but there were still a lot of younger couples in there late 20's and 30's and a bunch of singles too. The resort is romantic in the sense that there are no children, or their enabling parents for that matter, and you can always find a quiet place to slip away.

The beach was beautiful, but it was red-flagged the entire stay, so no one was swimming in it, but the pools are huge and very well kept up.

The drinks are plentiful and were not watered down, on the contrary at times.

This place was so much nicer than we expected and even with the all inclusive it ended up being less expensive and definitely less stressful than other trips we've had to a'la carte resorts.

Room Tip: rooms are all great, just try to get one with the type of bed you desire
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear VIM guest from Washington,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. We are so happy to hear that the efforts and dedication of our staff made such a positive impact on your vacation.

All our employees will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.

Please be also assured that we have shared your feedback regarding the food quality with our F&B manager, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

Regarding the red-flagged on the beach, safety of our guests is of paramount importance to us, it´s a shame that you didn´t enjoy the beach fully due to bad weather, but it´s good to know that you enjoyed our beautiful pools at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Please contact us so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

E mail : con.vir.vim@valentinmaya.com


Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.