We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're still shopping, stop now and book this resort...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you're still shopping, stop now and book this resort...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the VIM 10/18-10/22 - the only negative is that we were only there 4 nights!! I had really high expectations because A: I was in the travel industry for 12 years and have stayed at many all inclusives, and B: I personally read about 3000 of the reviews and looked at 4000 pictures!! This resort totally exceeded my expectations! Like so many others, we are already planning a trip back next October.
The staff, the service, the grounds, the location and the beach make this resort a stand out.
Yes, the food is very good, but not all great. Depends on your taste. For us, French and Indonesian were the best. We did upgrade from the basic room to the silver suite to get on a higher floor. We had the room with the hot tub in between the bathroom and the bedroom, which is a little odd, but we decided since we had it, we'd take full advantage and had a relaxing, romantic soak 3 nights. Makes you sleep like a baby after a day of sun, tequila, food and fun!!
A stay at the VIM is as close to perfect as you will find. It will be our only vacation destination for many years!
Thank you to the VIM staff for all you do-

Room Tip: We were in building 1 which was perfect. Its was a 3-5 minute walk to the pool and/or beach, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,851
    1,656
    513
    165
    107
See reviews for
340
5,804
36
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from one week at the VIM. Although very large, we enjoy walking and it really wasn't very far to restaurants, etc. The restaurants were good; our favourite dish was the Pad Thai at the Indonesian restaurant; it was excellent!
We stayed in a swim-out room, and it was well worth the additional expense to be at a "quiet" pool just outside our door. One suggestion we would make for improvement would be for the staff to clean up after the iguanas. There are "islands" in the swim-out pool areas with chaise lounges and palapas; however the iguanas leave their droppings around. The staff did not clean this up during our stay; there was even a mess on one of the lounge chairs.
We knew that Wi-fi was not available in the rooms at VIM, so took our own router and were very happy that we did. We were able to have internet access in our room and out at the pool.
The staff were mostly fabulous although there were a few waiters who did not seem to enjoy their jobs and this was reflected in their poor service.
Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'd like to write a long review of our stay but I know after reading a lot of long reviews i only read half and then move on, so here it is short and sweet. From the moment we walked into the VIM we were treated like royalty, from the cool lavender smelling towels and cool glass of champange to the curtious & attentive staff we felt like we were special. The lush tropical grounds were breathtaking with plenty of wildlife to run into around every corner. We were here for our Anniversary so they decorated our room with rose petals and a bottle of champange. We had only a basic room and didn't need anything more, many people posted about getting what you pay for so upgrade...I don't beleive it. We enjoyed our room just fine. The pool was spotless the beach was perfect and the ocean was breathtaking. If there was anything I could say anything bad about the resort would be the resturaunts. The Italian resturaunt was just ehh, my lasangna was cold and portions were small. The steak house wasn't much better, my rare steak was rare inside but blackened (burnt) on the outside, very dissapointing. The Ginger was excelent, the sushi was delicious and the hibachi grill was both delicious and entertaining. Guys be prepared to wear slacks and buttoned up or polo shirts to all the resturaunts. Breakfast and lunch buffets were good with plenty to choose from. The night life was as good as you want to make it, the band was good as was the DJ so get up and dance, drink and have a good time. Don't worry about the drinks take care of the bartenders $$$ and they will take care of you just like home.
We will definately be going back someday.

Room Tip: Building 4 was great with a central location, don't worry about spending a fortune on the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folcroft, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Can't wait to return. We are already planning our 2013 vacation to this resort. This is one of six resorts we have stayed at in this area and is absolutely heads above the rest. The people are phenominal. The food is fantasic along with great service. Anything you needed, one call to the front desk took care of it in no time! I can't say enough. A truly great, relaxing vacation, most probably my best ever! Thanks to the entire staff at Valentin Imperial Maya!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful weeks 30/09 till 14/10 at the 18+ Valentine Imperial Maya in Riviera Maya. I will begin with two negative aspects and finish with very positive elements of our trip. We did not like the ground room assigned to us upon our arrival and the sales pitch to each and everyone to upgrade to a more expensive room for 35$ a day. We found this tacky for a 5 star hotel. It took the front desk two days to place us on the second floor with a king bed as we had requested. The ground level room was extremely damp and humid with absolutely no view at all. Upon our reservation, it was said to us “garden view”, however, when we opened our patio door, it looked like a jungle. The trees are planted all the way to the patio and also on the left side of our room was the walkway to the pool which was not private at all. The reservations were made 5 months before departure asking for the king bed and also a request email was sent to the hotel by us 3 weeks before departure. The fact that September-October is low season and the hotel being full at only 40% , the room requested should not have been a problem. Having traveled to many other places at 5* hotels in low season our request has always been positive and they have never asked us for additional money. The second negative aspect is that we had a lot of mosquito bites at night so we had no choice but to have supper indoors. Bring some insect repellent for those hungry critters.
All in all, the rating for this hotel truly is five stars. The staff especially the concierges will try their best to please you. One person who made a big difference in our vacation was Alberto at the reservation desk. He made sure that our room was upgraded to our entire satisfaction. The quality of the food is absolutely first class beginning with the breakfast right through to supper. The hours that two main restaurants are open allow you to be very flexible with your schedule. The a la carte restaurants at night required no reservations. The food is beyond belief. There is also an elaborate and delicious room service menu if you wish to dine in your room. The room we had was a deluxe junior suite which was spacious, clean and perfect for a couple. The incredibly warm pool has plenty of chairs with 2 swim up bars and activities. The beach was great and we had no problem getting our hut, two chairs and a table every morning before 10 am. The beach water was bath warm with angel fish swimming around us. The beach water was rough only during our last two days of vacation. There are also two volleyball games scheduled everyday on the beach. Waiters will also serve you drinks or bottled water on the beach if you so desire. There was always nightly entertainment, but it became repetitive the second week. There is also a sports bar with two pool tables open until 2am every day. There are also a couple of boutiques if you wish to shop and bars to drink or have a great cafe latte. The grounds are beautifully maintained and you will see gardeners constantly working to keep this a five star hotel even with 100% humidity temperature. We always tip everyone and made it a point to also tip the gardeners, cooks and also the bar man after our order of drinks were taken from our waiter. It seems like we always think of the waiters and maids, but we always forget who makes our drinks and gardeners that keep the grounds looking beautifully manicured.
Pamela & Andy

Room Tip: No need to upgrade and spend extra money. We stayed in Building 4 and it was central to everything a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Washington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was so hard to decide on what resort to pick for our 10 year anniversary but we picked this one, and we are very happy with our choice! The resort is so beautiful, and the landscaping is awe inspiring! So lush! Pools are great, lots of drinks to go around. The beach has plenty of areas for lounging and sun ray catching....and the ocean is very pretty. There is a roped off swimming area in the nicest part of the beach, water is such a pretty color! Also a beach bar with swings. At night the walk 2 and from the lobby and restaurants were so romantic with the music playing down the pathways. The service was wonderful! There is not one thing we asked for that we did not receive. The mexican people were friendly and cared for you like their own. This place is not overly crowded, but not empty. So if you want to be sociable you can, or if you want to keep to yourselves, that is a option also. I would not hesitate to refer anyone here. There was alot of repeat customers, and that says alot in and of itself. We fell in love all over again. Thanks Valentin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Valentin 10/13 - 10/20 in a Junior Deluxe Swim-up room in building 7. The room was fantastic and the location was pretty central to everything. You walk of course but the grounds are beautiful and the "rock" speakers are playing so it is very relaxing.

When you read these reviews there are always resturant comments. I would like to add a few things that we discovered that I never read about in the reviews. First of all - Steak. Many reviewers say that the Steak house is terrible. Believe them - this is true! We ate there against my better judgement and the steaks were not good. BUT - there are other places to get amazing steaks! The Indonesian restaurant was fabulous but in addition to the southeast asian cuisine they have a great steak on the menu. The French restaurant, also fabulous, has a Chateaubriand that is fantastic!

We were there in October and the days and evenings were warm. Be particular when you eat in the open air restaurants in terms of where they seat you. It is a very lovely dining experience if you are seated under or near a working ceiling fan. Our steakhouse dinner was at a table at the very front. None of the 3 fans worked. Our mistake, we didn't think about it when we were seated. The other thing that should have made an impression was that we were offered bug spray! We were the first stop for those mosquitos! This didn't seem to be an issue during the day.
Both the Steakhouse and the Lobster Pot (Mar) were also very dark at night, no candles on the tables. It was hard to read the menu and to see what you eating.
My advice is have breakfast and/or lunch at Mar y Tierra; which brings me to my next tip -Seafood. Most of the restaurants have seafood on the menu, not just the Lobster Pot. The French also has lobster.

We all agreed that the customer service at all levels was outstanding. The staff was always so accomodating and pleasant. Even the vendors by the pool and in the plaza every other day were great to work with. If you said you were just looking they would just let you look without any hassle, and were ready to help if you wanted to ask a question or make a purchase. Remember to bargain!

All in all we had a great week! The resort is beautiful, the room was spacious and comfortable, the food was amazing, and the people were so nice!

As many have mentioned, Gabriella at the beach bar and the pool bar in the early afternoon and Gilberto in Tierra for breakfast and lunch are the absolute best!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311 +500, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.