We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views in Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baruna Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baruna Cottages to your Saves list
Baruna Cottages
2.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Desa Buahan, Kintamani, Buahan, Kintamani, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Best Views in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times over the last few years and always been made welcome by Putu and his family. The rooms are large and spacious. Ask for a bungalow overlooking Lake Batur. You can go out to the fish farm to get your dinner which is a nice touch. The pace of life is slow which is just ideal. Nearby you have opportunities to climb the volcano. I did it 20 years ago and haven't felt the need since. You also have hot springs and a couple of restaurants nearby. Locals will also invite you to cock fighting . This is ideal for a couple of nice of peace. The irrigation pumps do start up fairly early.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place as it is a perfect stopover for our sunrise volcano batur trekking. The owner organised everything for us, including the driver and trekking. Me and my two girlfriends truly enjoyed our stay here. We even get to do our own fishing for our dinner. The fishing experience was so memorable and not your usual boat and net kind of fishing!

Our dinner was sooo delicious - truly balinese food. I doubt you can find any restaurant around the area as it is a small quiet town.

Our room was lovely and faced the mini vegetable farm and lake. As the weather gets cold at night, be sure to bring your warmies! The bed was comfortable and big enough for 3 ladies.

Overall, highly recommended for people who wants to avoid annoying crowd and i am sure to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friends and I stayed in 5 different hotels while in Bali, and this was by far our favorite. I just got home today after 30 hours of travel and had to write a review ASAP - that's how good our experience was!

Pros:
• Right on the lake, literally steps from the water. The view is breathtaking!
• The staff was friendly and welcoming, and we felt like part of the family.
• We were taken onto the lake to watch our dinner (fish) being collected. I've never had fresher, more delicious tilapia.
• Very close to Mt. Batur, so we got an extra hour of sleep before our hike by cutting out the drive from a more populated area.
• The room was clean, large, and comfortable.
• The bathroom had a Western toilet and hot water.
• Very well priced given the beautiful location.

Cons:
• There were some bugs in the room; it was more like a cabin than a hotel. This didn't bother us, but it might bother you.
• The dinner menu is limited if you're vegetarian, fish from the lake is their main dish.
• Toilet paper and towels are provided, but no soap or shampoo - we expected this and brought our own.
• The main bed was very noisy. Our room didn't share a wall, though, so if you're on your honeymoon it shouldn't be a problem.
• Small swimming pools outside the rooms weren't usable. Notify them in advance if you really want to use them.
• No air conditioning. Not an issue for us at this location, the altitude keeps the temperature cool.

Room Tip: We had our choice of a lakeside cottage or a room in the main building. Lakeside is the obvious choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We only stayed one night here and we were the only guests during our staying period. The room was basic and clean. No air condition, no fan, no TV and the Wifi also did not work. The hot water shower was ok. The owner's son can cook meal for you and the price seems above average. The taste was good. The interesting thing was that the owner's son will invite you go fishing if you want to have dinner at the hotel.
I booked room through email and it seems a little bit cheaper than through those famous agent websites. But according to my experience, I still think that the price was a little bit expensive.
The overall experience was good during my stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is just near the Batur Lake and the Batur Mt. located on the other side of Batur Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baruna Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baruna Cottages

Address: Desa Buahan, Kintamani, Buahan, Kintamani, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kintamani > Buahan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baruna Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baruna Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baruna Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.