We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marbella Resort to your Saves list
Marbella Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 35 Camino Concon a Zapallar, Zapallar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zapallar
NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

10 minute walk to the beach. Golf course is adjacent to hotel. Good restaurant on the ocean about 15 drive north near the Zapallar Resort. Staff was adequate. Rooms were OK. You need to go off property for nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    24
    12
    9
See reviews for
23
26
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I am a Chilean who has always heard how good this hotel is. I booked from one night to another the room a head up to the hotel the next morning. I arrived at 13:30 to the front desk and they didnt find my reservation. I even showed them the email confirmation and even so they were about 15 minutes looking for it. When they managed to find the resrvation they told me that the check in was at 16:00, they had enough rooms to check me in but they made me wait 2:30 hrs to give me my room. The room is extremely dissapointing, carpet that shows they were installed 20 years ago, flat Tv hanged 30 cms below the ceiling (incredibly unconfortable to watch while on bed), the bathroom is the worst; Broken walls, windows not closing correctly, really por lighted, just one towel per person.
After i left my things on the room I went to see what they call resort... What a dissapointment. The pool is on the grass, not nice, and what is absolutely out of normal in a 5 star hotel, NO towels available for pool, No chairs to sunbath, not even a chair to sit! No service at the pool to have a drink. The warm indoor pool was packed with kids, not less than 40 (i believe they were from outside the hotel since the Hotel was kind of low in occupation) which made impossible to use. My wife and I commented how can this hotel charge what they charge (over usd 200) for what they offer. No service at all, not a usable pool, no towels, no maintenance, old rooms, poor check in, dirty spaces, and I can go on and on. I even told my wife that the best thing of the hotel is the parking space. Summary, wont come back again even if it is free. Waste of money, go to Zapallar.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zapallar hotels

Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Chilean service is below par and this is no exception. Personell at the front desk can't make a decision. We asked for towels to go to the beach and they were clueless. Not well maintained. Getting hotmwater took forever. Comfortable bed. For the money they charge I expect much better.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We were lost trying to find the Grand Hotel Zapallar Isla Seca at night and the Garmin GPS directed us to the Marbella Resort as the closest to Zapallar...It was cold and empty...the desk gave us a lower room with a view of the trees...Why not an upper floor if the place is empty...All in all it was alright, however, a short way up the main road is the Grand Hotel Zapallar which is outstanding!...Avoid this large hotel for the beautiful, small and warm Grand Hotel Zapallar...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Head north from Vina del Mar and you'll find a much quieter coast. We stayed at the Hotel del Mar in Vina, very nice views but it is more of a refuge from the craziness of the beaches filled with day trippers from Santiago. We took a private driver and car and simply headed northwards after reading reviews that Zapallar and area are nicer. True. Zapallar is charming but you need to have booked an apartment/house there as there is limited accommodation for simple travelers. We found the Hotel Marbella Resort available and perfect to visit the beaches (all cold and foggy alot of the time), enjoy a pool set in trees and nice lawn, good food and very charming staff. There was even a fireplace in the room - which we asked to have loaded each night - yes, it was chilly in Chile ! We originally booked for 1 night and stayed the week. Bikes for free to ride to the nearby houses - interesting summer homes and condos with great flower gardens. Spa and massages are okay. Internet works but only in the lobby areas which is fine - day and night. Good service, charming area and a nice break from the cities. It's also where the locals come - with the family so prepare for well-behaved children especially on the weekends.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Resort

Address: Km 35 Camino Concon a Zapallar, Zapallar, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Zapallar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zapallar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marbella Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marbella Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel Zapallar
Marbella Resort Chile/Zapallar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.