We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quite place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chinchero

Chinchero
Chinchero, Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Chinchero
Attraction details
Deinze, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a quite place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

the church in this town is pretty nice, there are not too many tourists. You also have a pretty view from here over the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    99
    28
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Charming town and ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Another must stop on the Sacred Valley circuit. A small charming town not far from Cusco. The ruins are small but a nice display. There were small potatoes being grown on one of the terraces, so that was cool. The colonial church was very pretty right there too. We went very early in the morning making our way to Ollantaytambo so I am afraid that we missed all the crafts being made as the town was closed down and quiet.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must do for a couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Idyllic weavers village and great cultural information. You should do this if you like watching cottage industry workers at the traditional looms and also do check out he brilliant church there. Easily accessible from Cusco.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Interesting Demonstration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Depending on who your driver has a relationship with, you will be taken to one of the many stores or cooperatives of weavers. Since it was a Friday, the main market was not open so we visited "Balcon del Inka" cooperative of 20 weavers situated on a small hill facing the main town. The ladies will greet you at the vehicle, sprinkle you with glower petals and then lead you to their demonstration area for a 15 minute show after offering you some hot coca leaf tea and blankets. It was interesting to see them shred a particular root which is becomes a natural soap with which to clean the alpaca wool and is also used as a body soap and shampoo. The ladies then show you the plants, herbs and flowers used to make dyes. The bathrooms are clean. The weavings are not cheap - I purchased an alpaca scarf for $40 (initially offered at $48) that took 25 days to weave due to the intricate designs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Another of old the Incan Royal Estates, like Pisac, Olly, & MP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The old part of the town that everyone goes to visit was originally another royal Incan retreat. However, it was burned by the last Inca once he was forced to retreat from Cusco in an attempt to cut off Spanish supply lines. What remains today are old Incan foundations and terraces ( you need to go to the edge of the field past the church to see these ), as well as old living quarters which line the several streets up to the top of the hill, many of which today have been converted into shops for tourists.

There was some quality Alpaca products for sale, including a thick blanket I couldn't find in any of the other markets I visited in Pisac, Olly, or Cusco. It almost came home with me, but the seller was unrealistic on her price. Though, I did buy two sweaters here at reasonable prices ( which could have been matched elsewhere if properly bargained for ). I visited on a Friday and the stores on the streets were all open, though only maybe 15 vendors were in the square in front of the church. The church, much to my disappointment, was closed to visitors.

I took a hired taxi from Olly as follows: Olly>Salinas>Moray>Chinchero>Cusco, for a price paid of 150 soles, 6 hours in total. If going independently, the taxi will drop you off at the bottom of the old part of town, and it's one store-lined road up to the church & square. There is a public bathroom at the bottom of the hill as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinchero also viewed

 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Chinchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinchero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.