We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but I definitely had better. My local fiancee was disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salas

Salas
Puga 637, Cajamarca, Peru
(076) 36 2867
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 restaurants in Cajamarca
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Westwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good, but I definitely had better. My local fiancee was disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My fiancee lived in Cajamarca for 10 years and used to love this place. Apparently, it´s not the same. I thought it was fine, and the price can´t be beat. But our food was just okay, and the service left much to be desired.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    24
    30
    22
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little better than Zarco...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

...but not much better! Greasy raw fries, soups without any flavour and dirty plates!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawqara
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The humitas are so good. But most of the other dishes are bland and tasteless. Just ok if all the other nicer restaurants are closed. Of course if you are not used to the deliciousness of Peruvian food, you'll think its great. But food here has so much nicer flavors to offer!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Several people recommended Salas as the best restaurant in Cajamarca. The food was underwhelming. I had a very tough piece of meat that was grilled and under-flavored. Another friend had the rabbit which was also very tough and overcooked. The third member of our party had Caldo of Gallina which was prepared with rice and was the only dish I would have ordered. The ambient was nice but the tables were simple. My biggest complaint was that the restaurant was freezing. It had a really cool arched ceiling made of stone that was well lit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“After all this years still good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I like it, nothig to dislike....I miss the # 2 Salas new location 1/2 a block from the plaza, it was close for vacation

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salas also viewed

Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 

Been to Salas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.