We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little better than Zarco...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Salas

Salas
Puga 637, Cajamarca, Peru
(076) 36 2867
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 restaurants in Cajamarca
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little better than Zarco...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

...but not much better! Greasy raw fries, soups without any flavour and dirty plates!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    22
    28
    20
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pawqara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The humitas are so good. But most of the other dishes are bland and tasteless. Just ok if all the other nicer restaurants are closed. Of course if you are not used to the deliciousness of Peruvian food, you'll think its great. But food here has so much nicer flavors to offer!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Several people recommended Salas as the best restaurant in Cajamarca. The food was underwhelming. I had a very tough piece of meat that was grilled and under-flavored. Another friend had the rabbit which was also very tough and overcooked. The third member of our party had Caldo of Gallina which was prepared with rice and was the only dish I would have ordered. The ambient was nice but the tables were simple. My biggest complaint was that the restaurant was freezing. It had a really cool arched ceiling made of stone that was well lit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“After all this years still good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I like it, nothig to dislike....I miss the # 2 Salas new location 1/2 a block from the plaza, it was close for vacation

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I had breakfast here 3 straight days and i have no complains, sandwiches were great and juices too. It's located just in front of the main square.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salas also viewed

Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
Cajamarca, Cajamarca Region
 

Been to Salas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.