We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Everything We Needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Dorado

Hotel El Dorado
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Dorado to your Saves list
Hotel El Dorado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gabriel Leyva & H. Valdez 525 Norte, Los Mochis 81200, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Los Mochis
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Everything We Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Hotel El Dorado was conveniently located for stretching our legs, looking for a bank and grocery store after a 12 hour travel day. The staff was very nice and helpful, the internet access was free and they have a hotel shuttle to take you to the train at 5 am. In response to some other reviewers- Yes, its an older hotel and it wasnt Hilton pristine but the price was good.. This is Mexico and you need to lower your expectations a bit. Things are done differently there. 400 pesos- about $25!
It was hot and sticky in Mochis in July and the pool was great to cool off in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    0
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
3
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

After spending five days in the Hotel El Dorado because of auto troubles we won't again. The main building is old and not clean. The staff doesn't clean your room in a timely fashion. They take your towels in the morning and return them late in the day. The beds don't get made until late afternoon, and the desk staff seem to have a problem setting the computer so your cardkey will work, necessitating additional trips to the desk to enter your room. Also the desk staff gave us wrong directions to the bus. The wifi was intermittent and the air conditioning didn't work correctly. The restaurant food is very average.

Room Tip: Stay in the motel area by the pool of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel El Dorado for 6 days. Before I checked in, I asked to see the room. They showed me the room, and it was clean, and close to the pool.

The wireless internet worked great, and the hotel is located in the middle of the city and is easy walking distance to everything. All the buses also pass in front of the hotel.

The staff does not speak English, but we could communicate if you have a dictionary.

The restaurant menu is in English and Spanish, so all you need to do is point at what you want. The food was average, and you can find better meals at some restaurant close to the hotel.

I had to ask for hot water, as people in Mochis in the summer dont use hot water. My girlfriend is from Mochis.

The pool was cleaned every morning, and they will let you bring alcohol to the pool and enjoy a cooling swim. You can ask for beach towels at the front desk. If it is windy, the pool can get leaves in it, but before noon it was the cleanest.

There is a bar in the hotel with a musician, and it was packed on the Friday night, and everyone seemed to have fun.

This hotel is $50 - 60 a night cheaper than the Best Western, but if you want to spend $120 a night, you will get a new hotel room at the Best Western.

It was all I needed for my visit to Mochis.

A quick tip. To keep your drinks cold, put them on top of the TV and turn on the AC.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The food at the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

This was a 4 star hotel. I don't know when it earned it'sstars. It was very outdated. Everything was white. No pictures on any walls.The door of the room had a big gap all around it. They gave you the remote when you checked in and you couldn't check out till you brought it back. The workers don't speak any English so it's very hard to communicate if you don't speak Spanish.

The restaurant was not real clean. Food was Average or less. The waiter in the AM was the only good thing. He was very helpful and friendly.We renamed it the Hotel El Do Rotten. Not staying there again. Besides it's not near anything.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Dorado

Address: Gabriel Leyva & H. Valdez 525 Norte, Los Mochis 81200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Los Mochis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Los Mochis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.