We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food is the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killarney Lodge
Save
You added Killarney Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lake of Two Rivers | Hwy. 60 at Km 33, Algonquin Park, Ontario P1H 2G9, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Food is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stayed two nights and it was the second time after ten years.
The best of the lodge is the terrible good food.
All the staff-people are very friendly and helpful.
The cabins are clean and comfortable, the kayaks and canoes are next to your cabin and free of charge.
You can also see a lot of animals, when you trail in the national park.
Overall it is a very good experience to stay here for some days.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    33
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
88
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed two nights in September in a one-bedroom cabin at the Killarney Lodge. Originally we booked a “Main Lake” cabin on the peninsula with full view of the lake. When we arrived the management gave us the opportunity to change to a “Prime Lake Cabin” for an extra $25.00 p.p.p.n. After inspecting both cabins, we decided to take the “Prime Lake Cabin”, because the location was much better and the view was extraordinary good.
The cabin was tastefully furnished in a comfortable country style. Each cabin includes the use of a canoe. Lodging includes three delicious meals daily, which are served in the dining room. You have the choice between three different menus. The decision is not easy, because every menu is delicious. The service was very good and everyone was friendly. We really can recommend this place. The only annoying thing is Hwy 60, that runs directly behind the lodge. Sometimes you can hear the trucks passing the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We had a wonderful time at Killarney Lodge. Its a great place, lovely log cabins overlooking the lake, very peaceful and relaxing, despite the fact that its rather a busy place.

Awoken in the night by wolves howling in the distance, and heard the Loons before bed.

Great food and amazing Pecan pie.

Our 4th Annivesary was well spent.

Tim and Evelyn Clayton, Manchester, UK

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Stayed for a night and owners put me in a great cottage after hearing it was for my birthday. We caught rock bass from shore and there were elusive lake trout further out. It was wonderful to have a good canoe at your cottage. The rooms are very clean and the food is really fantastic. Best prime rib I have had in a long while. Great hospitality in a charming setting. We will be back!

  • Liked — Setting and the food. Canoe.
  • Disliked — Small fridge in room would have been nice.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

Just home from a quick weekend getaway at Killarney Lodge from Toronto. We chose it because we wanted to bring our small dog to Algonquin Park and they have a few cabins set aside as dog friendly. Ours was actually very private, large for 2 and nice lake view. (There are rules so dogs cannot run free and bother other guests... we found it easy to keep our pet happy as well.) Food has something for everyone, portions are large and delicious but don't forget to bring your own wine and glasses! The dining room is enchanting, hummingbirds play at the window beside your table!This place has respect for tradition, is family run, friendly, and quiet enough even though close to the highway. If you want wilderness, paddle your canoe across the lake or hike the many trails in the park. This lake has few if any cottages and only canoes. For swimming and sunbathing paddle the canoe over to the island. Many international guests, families, couples and seniors..a great mix of people seemed to enjoy their stay. We wanted to come back the very next weekend but they were full.

  • Liked — quaint, lakeside
  • Disliked — near a road
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Address: Lake of Two Rivers | Hwy. 60 at Km 33, Algonquin Park, Ontario P1H 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is located right inside Algonquin Park on a private peninsula on Lake of Two Rivers. We offer individual lakeside cabins, your own canoe, fine country dining and friendly personal service. Our central location in the Park provides a wonderful way to explore and enjoy this lovely wilderness area in comfort and at your own pace. Walk or hike, canoe or bike ... there's so much to do. The spectacular Park Visitor Centre, the instructive Logging Museum and the stunning Algonquin Park Art Centre are each only minutes away. Attend one of the many interesting programs offered by Park naturalists, or let our knowledgeable staff here at the Lodge help plan an enjoyable day trip for you! Come join us ... in the heart of Algonquin Park. Eric & Poppy and all of us here at Killarney Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Algonquin Park
Killarney Lodge Algonquin Park, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.