We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Evason Ma'in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evason Ma'In Hot Springs

Save Saved
You added Evason Ma'In Hot Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Evason Ma'In Hot Springs
P.O. Box 801 Madaba, Ma'in 11117, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ma'in
Russia
1 review
“Great stay in Evason Ma'in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I are hurrying to express our gratitude for the hospitable Evason Resort and Spa treatment.
We were deeply touched with that incredible care and warmth which we met at Evason Ma'in hotel. We visited Six Senses properties over 7 times but are still surprised by the high professionalism, sense of duty and tender attitude towards their guests. There are no enough good words to express all our feelings. It was not only relaxation in a good hotel but some special indescribable piece of life. I wish to express special gratitude to many people and am afraid not to name everybody as I don't know every name.
First of all we thank The General Manager, Mr. Manish, for his special care, every day attention to any trifle detail and request. For hisresponsible and thorough work. For his smooth and amiable mood, smile and kindness. Thanks again and again.
Then we thank his assistant who was always at hand and despite the fact that he seemed to take a detached view of our stay we always felt his favorable attitude.
Thanks to Mrs. Lizzie Baxter who due to her positive energy, smiles and warmth always made people feel the same way. Special thanks for organizing our anniversary which used to be previously celebrated only in the family. She managed to create such an atmosphere that we'll remember through our life. We wish her life would always be festive!
We thank Mr. Jumat Mamat very tenderly. He was always very helpful and cooperative. He is a wonderful manager, he keeps all in a perfect order as he watches things intently and works very hard but never looks tired or dissatisfied. He is always calm, attentive, outwardly restrained and very benevolent.
The chefs are marvellous! These particular hard-working people create masterpieces of haute couture cuisine. Your couldn't tell yourself : "Stop eating as you may get fat!" -as all was fantastically tasty. I got only one visit-card - it was Mr. Hamzeh Abu El Foul. It doesn't look very polite that's why I say "thanks" to every Evason chef. We loved everybody!
We thank Mr.Richard Lee. That charming, delicate, well-bred man always turned up when it was necessary to find out something, that was astonishing!
Thanks to Mr.Fred Selvi. He is a fascinating worker and a good company.
Special thank to the Spa and its general manager. I don't have his visit card that's why am afraid to misspell his name. He is a specialist and his employees respect him. Thank for his help and support. The Spa receptionists are very nice people. I would like to thank my therapist Mrs.Kewalee Chewphan( Mai), who helped me in a very difficult situation. She has nice hands and a warm heart what is very important in her work. Therapist Ai is also a very nice girl.
The department Life deserved our special thanks. Smart and good people work there. I'd like to distinguish the head of the department, Mr.Baha Baniata and the rest of the team. Mr.Baha Baniata is a delicate and considerate person.
A few warm words about waiters. We remember all but some names are missing. Somenames we remember are
Mr.Srikameswaran Lyer, Mr.Mahmoud Al Kahtieb и Ms.Chay Are Chay( Rosebeth Arcardo). We thank every single waiter!
We thank all the reception team. They didn't leave any trifle unattended. Special thanks to Mr.Mousab Abdelkhaleq.
Warm-hearted thanks to my Room attendant Lolita Ela. This wonderful girl (very slender and small) worked hard every day. I am a house wife myself and can see that strong effort. She is accurate, thorough and kind. I wish her a chance to get a higher position.
I am sorry not to mention everybody. There was no single moment when we felt frustrated. Thank you very much.
Dashin-Mikhaylov family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    89
    37
    25
    22
See reviews for
46
233
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Perhaps the worst experience I’ve ever had at a “luxury” hotel, despite an upgrade to the royal suite, the top room in the property.
I’d never stayed at a Six Senses property before, but after planning initially to stay at the Four Seasons Amman, with an overnight at the Movenpick in Petra to break up the long drive to/from Petra, I was seduced by the newness of the Evason Ma’In. What a mistake—we would have been far better off in even the most standard of Four Seasons hotels, and the Movenpick in Petra would have enabled us to enjoy sunset and morning at Petra, as well as the candlelight tour provided on selected evenings.
So it’s clear to anyone who looks at Six Senses properties that they’re trying to create some sort of rustic idyll for their guests, but that shouldn’t mean that everything, and I mean everything, is falling apart and dirty, especially after having been open less than a year. Within seconds of entering the rooms, the problems began. Barely-functional air-conditioning made rest difficult. The soap dispenser in the shower had clumps of hair on it, raising concerns about using the re-filled pump. The bathroom sink’s hardware had come loose, and the bathtub had been poorly patched up after incurring some sort of damage. Visibly sloppy painting of the walls, with paint also spreading onto the window frames. No trash can, despite four calls to housekeeping requesting one. We requested a bucket of ice, but never received it.
The small swimming pool has only a dozen or so daybeds, so there’s probably some anger when the resort has larger numbers of guests, and the pool service was deeply inadequate, not having towels at several points of the day. Lots of flies. At some point, the steel handrail leading down into the pool was covered by wood to try to continue the rustic theme, but most of the wood has been broken off—and should either have been removed altogether or repaired, rather than being left to look so shabby.
The public areas have some interesting design elements, merging rusticity with a sense of Middle Eastern aesthetics. The dining areas are attractive. But the guestrooms themselves just look cheap and underfurnished, with nothing seeming to function as intended.
Upon checkout, they couldn’t get their credit card machine to work, and the bill they presented us had charges for six different dinners, when we’d only stayed for three nights! We tried to explain that it was simply impossible for us to have eaten 6 different dinners when we’d only been there 3 nights, and had to argue for about an hour about that with them. The on-site manager was incredibly unhelpful during our entire stay, constantly trying to coerce us into doing something different than we desired. For example, we prefer to have a spa treatment prior to a meal rather than right after one. So we requested our spa treatments at 6 pm, and availability was confirmed. But then the manager approached us and told us that it was a bad idea to have a spa treatment before a meal, and that we should have our spa treatment right after lunch instead. We told him that we really did not want to lay on a massage table right after a meal, and he continued to insist that it was a bad idea to have a massage before dinner. Every interaction with him felt like a battle in which, for no good reason, he attempted to dissuade us from doing what we wanted to do. Another example: on the last day of our trip, we wanted to relax without leaving the property. But he became insistent that we should leave the property to dine off-site that evening. We refused, and he was somewhat disgruntled about that.
The spa building is also underwhelming, and the pool there seemed unclean, with twigs and residue floating on the surface. Treatments, though, were excellent there from the Asian staff who came from Six Senses properties in SE Asia. Local staff who performed less extensive treatments, like the 30-minute foot recovery massage, were less proficient, however.
Altogether, a really unpleasant stay, full of battles with the management over what appeared to us to be very simple requests, and general discomfort with the state of disrepair and lack of cleanliness. I’ve learned my lesson, and will never stay at a Six Senses property again.
As I said, were I to visit Petra again, I’d definitely stay at the Movenpick. I’m sure the rooms aren’t much better than a standard 3-star hotel’s, but the lobby area is beautiful and atmospheric, and the light on the Treasury in Petra is best in the early morning, and it would be great to be able to come and go from Petra to the hotel, which is just 2 minutes from the entrance gate to Petra, rather than doing a long drive from Amman or Ma’In, spending the heat of the day trying to see as much of Petra as possible, and then driving 3-4 hours back. It made for an exhausting day—well worth it to see such a spectacular place as Petra, which I absolutely loved—but how nice it would have been to see it without the long drive home hanging over you all day, and to have been able to take advantage of the candlelight tour in the evening, in addition to seeing all that glorious colored stone changing appearance during morning and evening and noonday suns.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteladvisor23, Manager at Evason Ma'In Hot Springs, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Evason Ma'In Jordan.
It is with objective comments and observations like yours, which allows us to see our shortfalls and rectify them with immediate effect.

We profusely apologise for the bad feelings which was felt during your stay. But nevertheless, we accept your observations and appreciate your feedback all the same.

Kind Regards,

Fred Selvi
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights last month as part of a wider tour around Jordan and Egypt. The hotel is in a stunning setting but the building itself is really ugly and looks like its been picked up in benidorm and dropped off by mistake. Inside its been given the "soneva/evason" treatment although you can still tell its an old hotel been tarted up. The views from the restaurant terrace over the springs and waterfalls are lovely and the food is good. Its the main desk service where things really start to go wrong -it just doesn't feel like you are getting five star service anywhere - nobody greets you by name and they can't seem to get much right- even though occupancy was as low as 20% at their own admission. I appreciate that Evason is Six Senses cheapest brand but having stayed at their flagship Soneva properties and a Hideaway ( along with many other top class properties worldwide) they have a country mile to go in terms of service -they claim to be in soft opening still despite being open for guests for 6 months and I am not sure that it is going to improve.Whilst room rates themselves are lowish the overall cost of staying in terms of eating and tour prices are very high. On a broader note I thought Jordan was great and Petra a true highlight.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

the hotel still has some teething issues in terms of service - they have employed a lot of local people who are not vry fluent with english and this can lead to a very 'different' experience.
though i must say that the entire package was extremely well planned and the general manager ensured that we were well looked after despite the above mentioned difficulties.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We booked 1 night in Ma'in springs as the big special treat for our 1 week holiday in Jordan (which was a brilliant trip). It got off to an annoying start as 4 people at reception got in each others way trying to find our reservation and it took 15 mins to call various people and sort it out (we had booked 2 days earlier on-line and paid $286+25% Service and Tax for 1 night B&B and does not include the spa unless you book a treatment then it is free).

The decor is tired. Yes simple is relaxing but it is a bit too old (I think this is an old hotel under new management) to meet 5 star standards. It is very clean but looks 3 star.

The location is amazing and the natural hot springs are gorgeous but we only found out after talking to another guest an hour before leaving that there was a large pool and natural springs available without using the spa. We used the spa which is free if you book a treatment (approx 60JOD/euro for 60 mins + 25% tax and service). We very much enjoyed the massage and indian head massage we choose. They were excellent but we would have loved to have used the large pool (as the main pool at the spa was closed for service for the day). The flies were dreadfully annoying. It was impossible to relax outdoors outside of the water.

The food was the best we had in Jordan.

However for the amount we spent on 1 night here the service though very kind and friendly needs to be more professional and there needs to be more extra touches or else they need to drop their price to compete. There is no reason this hotel could not be full as most others were at the time in Jordan. Either they need to considerably lower the price or improve the hotel which is 4 star not 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Wish we had come directly to Six Senses and avoided Amman. The property is considerably closer to the airport and there is not much to see or do in the city, unless you go to the Citadel which seems to be the only big attraction. The hotel is a luxurious and serene retreat. One of the most stunning locations we have ever seen for a resort---absolutely beautiful. I don't need to repeat what others have said so well about the facilities, the waterfall, and the food. There is nothing like sitting out on the terrace of your room or at the restaurants and gazing out at the scenery here. Magical!

We thought the food and service was charming and delightful. The spa was wonderful and we both had high quality treatments, surprisingly given by (male) Jordanian therapists, considering that the culture is so modest. The spa pool under a waterfall was never crowded and we relaxed there several times

We were lucky to meet the executive chef (British) and appreciated the challenges of bringing in world class supplies to a distant location, and using many local workers on the staff. We were very impressed with how this company wants to support the local economy and environment.

Since this is only several hours away from Petra it is well located even for a day trip there. We discovered that the hotels at Petra were nothing special and wished we had been able to stay longer at Six Senses.

LOVED IT and would go back again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

After two tiring days walking around Petra, the hotel was the perfect finale to relax and sooth our tired bodies after a wonderful week long trip around Jordan. The hot springs waterfall provided a wonderful environment just to close your eyes and surround yourself with the sound of water and the warmth of the massaging waterfall.
Head to the natural sauna located in the public family waterfall which is just to the left as you head out of the main hotel gate. It is a cave with benches located behind the waterfall which acts as a natural sauna. It does get busy with locals on weekends so get there early before 8 a.m and more than likely, you will have the sauna and waterfall all to yourself.
Stay for at least two nights to take full advantage of the serene environment. The library located in the hotel has free internet access, games, large comfy seating, complimentary cookies and a very nice selection of books.
The room was very comfortable with a wonderful bed and balcony to enjoy either mountain or valley views.
Breakfast was excellent with a very large selection of freshly cooked items. Chef Hamzah was very kind enough to find us almond croissants when they had finished on the main table ... absolutely delicious! Having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lovely views was sublime ... one just feels like staying there, enjoying the breeze while drinking your cup of tea. If you have had enough of the terrace, there are many spots located on the hotel grounds where you can get comfortable on oversized cushions and get serenaded by the sound of the waterfall.
Overall, our stay there was just fantastic. The location is quite isolated and having your own car means you can drive down to the Dead Sea or explore the nearby mountain ... but the hotel is so special that we just wanted to take full advantage of all it had to offer. It is on the pricier side but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Make it part of your itinerary ... you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evason Ma'In Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Ma'In Hot Springs

Also Known As:
Evason Ma`In Hot Springs Hotel Ma`In
Evason Ma`In Hot Springs Hotel
Evason Ma'In Hot Springs Jordan
Address: P.O. Box 801 Madaba, Ma'in 11117, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Ma'in
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ma'in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Evason Ma'In Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evason Ma'In Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.