We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not quite there.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plockton Inn

Plockton Inn
Innes Street, Plockton, Scotland
(01599) 544222
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Plockton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had dinner at the PI, one starter seafood platter, one main seafood platter. Both were pretty good, the smoked fish delicately smoked and the shellfish cooked to a nutty crispness. However, the food was served straight out if the fridge and this certainly does not enhance the flavor of a dish such as this. Room temperature would be good. The service was good, in line with the casual ethos, quantities were adequate and prices fair. The atmosphere is nothing remarkable. All in all I would look for something better, although this is not bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    111
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ANOTHER SUPERB MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thursday 13th. of June was not an unlucky day for my wife and I as we had yet another superb lunch at the Plockton Inn. Mick, the jovial barmen, was on duty and always made us very welcome.
Beer today, Bombardier, was excellent as their ales always are and the repost, wonderful.
I had a 'starter' size dish of sprats (easily enough as a main course) which were perfectly cooked with a delightful garlic, lime and mayonnaise sauce in a separate pot and served on a bed of lettuce and thinly sliced onion. Lovely chunks of brown bread and butter came as well.
Julie had Marrocon lamb served with new potatoes and small salad garnish and she reported that it was very, very nice with just a slight bite and again cooked perfectly.
Only down side there was a fresh photo' of the horrible, English hating Alex (FAT BOY) Sammond who had met some of the golfers from Plockton at the Isle of Skye Golf Club.
Plockton is very lucky that it has two other good restaurants, Plockton Shores and the Plockton Inn. I here from friends that the takeaway is also very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good food and beer selection. Very nice sea food in our case
Service was a bit under pressure but it was very busy with lots of locals as well as tourists, a good sign I suppose

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food at low prices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Seafood fresh from the Plockton harbour - amazing!!! Low prices, charming atmosphere and very friendly staff! We spent there every evening since the food was so good!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food - very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Let start with the pluses - the food was excellent, and the prices fair/OK. However the service was woeful.

We had made a reservation a week in advance for four. When we arrived the table allocated was right next to the path way from kitchen to bar; too busy for a pleasant meal - and we had booked. It was rather a take it or leave it attitude to a move.

Our order was taken soon. The Inn's clients would be better if the today's specials on a piece of card with the menus rather than have the maitre d' read them out. Our mains were delivered in time order with other clients.

However Inn failed to consider that we might like to order dessert - I had to seek out the Maitre de. Having taken our order, our food delivery was stalled whilst other later seated clients were served. The same agin for the bill -- we waited 20 minutes before I sought the Maitre de - again! When the bill arrived it was for the wrong amount! By this time many people who were seated after us, had eaten, paid and left!

The Maitre de seemed to suggest we had not made a booking. The Maitre de did, but grudgingly, void part of our bill. So much better to have taken it on the chin - so to speak.

To repeat, our experience was of reasonable prices and great food spoiled by poor service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plockton Inn also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Plockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plockton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.