We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great food, dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plockton Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Inn
Save
You added Plockton Inn to your Saves list
Innes Street, Plockton IV51 8TW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plockton
Rickmansworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great food, dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in Plockton for 2 nights in November. Staff very friendly and helpfull,. Sea food excellent. They are very dog friendly. We could take our large mutt into the bar when we were eating. Large room on ground floor gave access to garden. Plockton is set in a lovely part of the highlands and would highly recommend staying at the Inn when in this area. In fact it's worth visiting this area just to stay in this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    96
    38
    15
    2
See reviews for
42
136
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the Plockton Inn in October for 3 nights with the family and had a wonderful time. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our family room in the annex across the road was clean and also has a room off it for the kids. Great selection of teas are provided with coffee,hot chocolate and Walkers shortbread. The food served in the In is to die for- There is a wide selection of starters and mains available, including seafood soups,langoustines,scallops, mussels, home made pies and my favourite was the seafood platter- freshly caught and expertly smoked behind the Inn.
The Inn also serves Plockton beer which is made 100 metres from the Inn.
The Inn is also a great place to base yourself to see the famous Eilean donan castle, Isle of Skye and the Applecross peninsula.
Don't hesitate and book the Inn and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Lincolnshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was doing a tour of The Scottish Highlands on the train and stayed here for 1 night on Monday 22nd of October 2012. Although I was traveling alone I had a room with a double and a single bed. All the staff were very friendly even to the extent of offering me a lift back to the train station which was about half a mile away up a rather steep hill. I declined the offer as I would have rather walked and soaked up the stunning scenery of Plockton. As my train didn't leave until just after noon I had plenty of time in the morning to explore the village and admire it's scenery, which in places is rather breathtaking. I also dined in the restaurant in the evening and sampled the local smoked fish platter which was one of the best fish platters I have ever tasted. I was glad I only ordered this as a starter as there was plenty there and I doubt I would have managed to eat a main meal platter. I had the smoked haddock and salmon fishcakes for main course and a smoked Scottish cheeseboard for desert. The price was very reasonable too as a one night bed and breakfast stay (scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast, although there are plenty of other options to choose from) a 3 course evening meal washed down by a couple of pints of Belhaven Best came to a grand total of £66. Plockton is now my new favourite place in the UK, just edging out Polperro in Cornwall and I will definitely be paying another visit next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booke a 4 night package including be,breakfast and eveing meal,I specified a sea view room,it was a loft room which meant it was quite cramped,but there was a sea view.

The room was very clean,nicely fitted out and was very comfortable,breakfast was superb a very wide selections,beautifully prepared,recommend the moked products from their own smokehouse.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant for evening meal was superb,with an excellent selction of locally sourced produce

Room Tip: Check size of room when booking if wanting a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Plockton Inn for 3 weeks in October (2012) during a business trip. Room (No.6 ) was a double room with ensuite and with a twin aspect, and notwithstanding it over looked the main village road and sat above the dining room, it was very quiet. The bed was ok, but did have some 'noisy' springs, and before eye brows are raised (LOL) I was single occupancy, goodness, what were you thinking! The breakfast choice was excellent, as was the standard of lunch and dinner menu, with lots of specials which were always popular and often disappeared fast! This was not a problem as the standard menu was varied and equally delicious with lots of fish choices as you might expect with the hotel sitting so close to the water. The 2 bars were warm and friendly although the popularity of the food meant that seating was at a premium due to reservations. The bar also had weekly live traditional music and a quiz night, although it did seem that one round of questions was strictly local knowledge designed to preclude visitors winning! (LOL). The staff were always welcoming and the standard of service SUPERB, including the early breakfast, which Chef Mary was more than happy to prepare! All in all a highly recommended Highland hotel which I would have no hesitation recommending!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have eaten here many times - OK so the dining room is quite plain but it is clean and does not affect the food. The staff are perhaps not as efficient as they were some years ago, perhaps because they no longer employ locals, but the food especially the seafood is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Staff friendly, room clean but overpriced at Pounds 39.50/night (each). Binoculars should have been supplied to see the TV which was so small. They should drag themselves into the 21st Century and charge PER ROOM! You have to change a double bed anyway so you are effectively paying almost 40 Pounds for a breakfast. Went to the bar where they had live music, musicians were very good but drowned out by exceptionally noisy boozy birthday party.
Bit of advice from a seasoned traveller: Check out a B&B, go to the local chippy (30 seconds from the seafront) where the fish and chips were excellent at Pounds 5.50 (Haddock or Lemon Sole) and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Inn

Address: Innes Street, Plockton IV51 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Plockton
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Plockton
Plockton Inn Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plockton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.