We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plockton Gallery - The Manse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Save
You added Plockton Gallery - The Manse to your Saves list
Innes Street, The Manse, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Plockton B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first stay at The Manse and it was part of a short break trip to celebrate a birthday. We were welcomed by Miriam's French assistant Annabelle and were offered coffee. Miriam was out on the water helping Calum with his afternoon seal watching boat trip!
The facilities were excellent — the bedroom was spotless, large and very comfortable with a four poster bed and the usual tea making facilities, with fresh milk and lovely biscuits. The bathroom was spacious with a large free-standing bath and endless really hot water. There were also terry towelling robes and lots of little extras, soaps and lotions.
As the house is also an art gallery, it was full of paintings and other artworks, some of which were by Miriam herself. This led to an inpromptu wine and nibbles event in the early evening whilst Miriam entertained some customers.
On Miriam's recommendation we ate at The Shores Restaurant and had a wonderful meal. Afterwards, in Miriam's company, we enjoyed a ceilidh in the Plockton Inn across the road from The Manse.
Breakfast the following morning was also wonderful with a fresh fruit smoothie, porridge and full Scottish breakfast with home made breads and preserves — all very tasty indeed.
We delayed our departure from magical Plockton to enjoy one of Calum's entertaining seal watching trips on the Sula Mhor, with Miriam assisting him again.
We will certainly be returning to The Manse as both it and Plockton are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Ken and Helen, THANK YOU! That's an OTT review... You should have said we were at school together, otherwise everyone will expect wine and nibbles in the drawing room and a full session in the pub later! it was brilliant fun catching up with you, come back again soon. mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location and an equally beautiful place to stay. I stayed at The Manse for a creative writing course and I could not have been more impressed. This property is full of character and right in the centre of Plockton. It backs on to a stunning view of the sea lake and provided the perfect setting for creativity! My room was on the top floor and extremely comfortable and clean. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Belated thanks Criona, for your nice review. It was a totally stimulating week, which I thoroughly enjoyed as well. I am looking forward to the next one in a few weeks time. take care of yourself plus the extra one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week for a writing seminar and loved every minute of it. Miriam is a jewel and the The Manse is reflective of her warmth and creativity. I don't do breakfasts but the diverse and delightful options offered changed my mind. My room was spacious and lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had a lovely time earlier in May when we stayed for two nights. Plockton was beautiful and the house itself was absolutely stunning. We stayed in the large four poster room, the bed is the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the room met all of our expectations and more, the bathroom was huge and had lots of little extras such as soft dressing gowns to wear. Miriam herself was a wonderful host; she was so welcoming and helpful and told us of the best restaurants/activities to go to. Her full Scottish breakfast we had each day was amazing with freshly baked bread which was a nice touch, but there was also plenty of other options for breakfast too!! By the end of our stay we definitely didn’t want to leave this magical place and can’t wait to stay at Miriam’s beautiful house again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed with Miriam at the Gallery a few weeks ago while attending an interview at the local High School. Absolute bargain. Miriam herself is a tremendous host, and a very calming influence at a time of high nerves! The house is beautiful; the walls are festooned with an eclectic mix of artworks and all the original features are accentuated by Miriam's own great eye for detail and colour. Nothing was a problem for her, and I even learned a great deal about the properties of edible seaweed. The breakfast was incredibly hearty, with fresh baked bread, porridge and a full scottish to contend with. (the seaweed even made an appearance in one of the loaves, although it isn't mandatory that you have it!).

I'd recommend the Gallery to absolutely anyone looking to stay in, or near the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here last week and had the nicest stay I've ever had in a b&b. I love Plockton and Skye and decided completely on a whim to come up for a few days. Miriam was completely unfazed by my short notice (half an hour!) and I had a beautiful room with a very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom with a nice deep old-fashioned bath in which you could lie and watch the sky through the window. The Gallery is a lovely solid victorian house with lots of character and right opposite the consistently excellent Plockton Inn. The artworks on the walls are a nice addition without being overwhelming and Miriam was the perfect combination of being friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. All great - warm, comfortable, lovely bathroom, digital TV, good bed and bedlinen and a wonderful breakfast with local black pudding and homemade bread. On my last morning Miriam made seaweed bread with some seaweed I had collected earlier - delicious! Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a great time here last week and what a great host Miriam is.

She taught us among other things to make fabulous porridge,find edible seaweed and the children to row a boat.

The accommodation is very comfortable and you are surrounded by a host of original artworks.
Already planning our next trip.
The Hunter Family

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plockton Gallery - The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Gallery - The Manse

Address: Innes Street, The Manse, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a big old house, a former manse, with views of the sea loch- Loch Carron- from all the rooms. Big rooms and bathrooms. Full of paintings, lots of which are for sale. Log fires in the winter. BBQ's in the summer. Opposite the Plockton Inn and round the corner from the Plockton Hotel and The Shores, excellent meals out are easy to arrange.As an article in the May 2013 Yachting Monthly says, " if anything, you've too many views around Plockton. Snuggled around a sheltered cove on the south side of Loch Carron, the place is absurdly picturesque."n.b. There is no B&B sign outside, we are opposite the Plockton Inn and there are a lot of sculptural pieces in the garden. Wrought iron gate and grey front door. There are working locks on all bedroom doors and for the front door, just ask me for the keys if you require them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Gallery - The Manse Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plockton Gallery - The Manse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.