We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Caladh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Caladh
25 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Plockton B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived at Plockton without a booking and were more than happy when Ann still had a room available. Wonderful view over the little harbour, charming room, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. It was really the nicest B&B on our latest trip to Scotland and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: As others have already noted: Try to book one of the rooms overlooking the bay. One of them has no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is right in the centre of Plockton overlooking the lovely bay. We knew before we arrived that we would not have a sea view so were not surprised to be shown to a back bedroom. The size of the room was very disappointing however - once we brought our bags in the floor space was all taken up, and we constantly had to clamber over them. Also the towels were very well worn and the overall feel was rather uninviting. Didn't feel that we really got value for money compared to the other places throughout the north of Scotland that we had stayed at this week.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the front bedrooms with fabulous views over Loch Carron. The room itself was ok, a bit mismatched with furniture & un ironed duvet cover but the bed was extremely comfortable. We had been told when we booked that this room didn't have it's own bathroom & we would have use of a private one down the corridor. This would have been no problem at all other than the bathroom door was of the sliding variety & there was a large gap between the door & the frame, meaning anyone passing by could see you while you were in the bath. Not ideal but we managed by hanging up a towel over the gap.

The breakfast was average, terribly unexciting for vegetarians but at least the eggs were free range. I'm not keen on having to decide what I want to eat for breakfast the night before. Our hosts were pleasant enough, in particular Anna.

£80 per night is overpriced for the quality of the room - I think you are basically paying for the fantastic view.

Plockton is very pretty but lacking in atmosphere & I don't think we would return to either the village or the B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

lovely friendly b and b. Rooms at the front offer a great view over the bay. Breakfast is deliciuous and sets you up for the day.be prepared to select what you want the evening before. This makes it easier fro Ann in the morning.
All in all a lovely find...

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's got what you expect from a very good b&b. On top you get a key from the charming owners to move in and out as you please. Because they are here to help you to enjoy your stay, not to be in your way. And they mean it. And no chintz in sight.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Plockton is a stunning little place where everyone is friendly and welcoming. Stayed at this B&B in August 2010 and returned this weekend (18th May 2013). Friendly welcome into a family home. Sometimes I think too many people think a B&B should be like a hotel. I'm glad to say most aren't. Lovely welcome, spotlessly clean room, good breakfast (happy to assist with gluten free diet). Hosts interested in guests and gave hints and tips for local area.
Like big table for breakfast as it gets guests chatting.
Friendly pleasant place to stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were lucky to get a room here without booking in advance, and were very glad we did. We had a double room (with private bathroom) overlooking the loch, which was clean and spacious. The furniture was old in a charming rustic kind of way, and we felt very much at home there. The private bathroom had a big bath in it (as well as sink and toilet), and the room itself had an additional sink.

Anna, the hostess, was very welcoming and friendly as well as cooking an amazing breakfast. After a few days of standard cooked breakfast fare I was particularly glad to see something different on the menu: toasted crumpets with bacon and maple syrup - an inspired combination! The porridge was also very good.

Plockton the town is really a gem of the region and was well worth going out of our way to visit. For a small village it has a surprising number of good places to eat, and you can certainly not get enough of the loch/mountain view.

Room Tip: As you come up the stairs there are two rooms with loch views. The one on the left comes with a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An Caladh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Caladh

Address: 25 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
An Caladh Hotel Plockton
An Caladh Plockton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Caladh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added An Caladh to your Saves list