We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plockton Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of An Caladh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Caladh
Save
You added An Caladh to your Saves list
25 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Plockton B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plockton Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay An Caladh. Friendly, welcoming host, great location - easy walk to shops and restaurants. Hearty breakfast, nice, spacious, clean and comfortable room. Plockton itself is in a great location and this B&B represented good value for money. Ann & Peter, Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in one of the en-suite rooms. Nice room, comfortable bed, quiet and the en-suite looked almost new. This B&B is in prime position on the sea front and only a few doors down from the shops and restaurants. Anna is a very welcoming host and attended to our every need. The breakfasts were superb with the local smoked fish a real treat. Free parking is available out front and the road is very quiet at night. 3 doors down is the Shores restaurant (highly recommended) and round the corner is the Plockton Inn with locally brewed beer and good food. Plockton is a beautiful fishing village and well worth spending a couple of days in. We will return!

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the harbour but all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Plockton is a beautiful village and the location of the B+B is excellent with the added bonus of being able to park in front. The hosts were welcoming and friendly. We booked quite late so were pleased to have found availability but understandably we were located a back bedroom which was rather small but adequate. My only negatives: the hairdryer is shared between guests and some of the wardrobe and drawer space held the owners' belongings but what was left was quite adequate for our needs. We would certainly return if a front room was available.
My review is based on the comparison of the five B+Bs we used when touring Scotland in the same price range.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

An Caladh is a fantastic and tranquil gem in Plockton. We were given a friendly welcome, and a beautiful room overlooking the harbour.

Mr & Mrs Rowe were accommodating and helpful and made us feel very at home in their gorgeous house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Have stayed here before. Plockton is a lovely little village with excellent food available and pleasant walks.
Very comfortable room and very good breakfast. Can firmly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I had a fantastic time at An Caladh over the three days we spent up in the tranquil town of Plockton, getting away from the everyday frenzied life. The first thing to mention was the friendliness of our hosts, Anna & Bob. They provided us with fantastic breakfasts and Bob’s knowledge of the area for hill walking was second to none. My first day there I had a sublime cooked breakfast, not swimming in fat and grease like most other B&B’s we have stayed in. My wife had Anna’s special recipe porridge every day, it definitely went down a treat!

Our accommodation was perfect; we had booked a double room situated at the front of the house looking out onto picturesque views of the Loch. Although the room was not en-suite it did contain a wash hand basin and was beautifully decorated with antique furniture, with the addition of a flat screen TV so it was just perfect for us.

Plockton is a good base for day trips to Skye and Applecross and we spent our late afternoons in the garden at the front of the house. Overall, An Caladh was an excellent place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone, great hosts, fantastic breakfasts and also very close to fine local eateries.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Anna and Bob made us feel extremely welcome and looked after us during our first visit to the area. They provided us with local information about where to eat and books on local walks.
The B & B is superbly located on the sea front with beautiful views over the bay. The rooms are clean with all facilities you would expect in a guest house.
Breakfasts were great and we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to other tourists.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Caladh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Caladh

Address: 25 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
An Caladh Hotel Plockton
An Caladh Plockton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Caladh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.