We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craig Highland Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craig Highland Farm
Save
You added Craig Highland Farm to your Saves list
Plockton IV52 8UB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Priceless views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed in the one bedroomed fisherman's cottage for an unseasonally sunny week in April with our 15mth old son. The setting is stunning, with spectacular views of Loch Carron; a wooded island that can be walked to from the beach at low tide (tides never low enough whilst we were there); and a rare breeds farm on site. The changes in light outside make the views of the loch dramatically different each time you look. It's compelling to watch for wildlife on the loch. We saw seals, herons, ducks and Llamas right outiside our door which the wee one just loved. The farm itself is wonderful for kids. You can take some feed and wander round feeding all the animals as you go, Our son adored this, and this became a daily activity. The cottage has a wood burning fire and some electric radiators for heat. There is no TV reception so if you have kids and they need TV, take DVD's - you really shouldn't need them unless there's rain and/or midges. There is a grassed area right outside the cottage with areas for camp fires, and a rocky beach. The accommodation is fairly basic, but you'd be a fool to think you'd get better value with the superior location and a brilliant farm on your door step.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We came all the way from South Shields and it was definately worth it! Every one was really kind and every thing was beautiful. despite bad weather and car trouble the fact that this is one of the best holidays we've ever had shows what a lovley place this is. The owners of the farm were more than helpful hence the reason for us rebooking as soon as we came back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We rented the Thatch Cottage for our stay. While not perfect, the accomodations were more than adequate and the prices very reasonable. This is not a luxury spa, if that is what you seek go elsewhere. The location is outstanding, with truly breathtaking views, and quite central for getting in the car and exploring. Our hosts were very pleasant and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and myself booked a one bedroomed lodge for a week but only lasted until wednesday ,the bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever tried to sleep in which was not a surprise as it was two thin mattresses one on top of the other.The views from the balcony were fantastic it was a pity that to sit outside meant sitting beneath a constant drip from the blocked gutter on a balcony that was in need of repair . It was a shame that the lodge did not match the surroundings or the area as we plan to visit the region again but would not go back to the same accommodation

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Booked a one bedroom lodge for 7 nights with husband and dog. Arrived after a long 7 hour journey. Weather was pretty awful raining all the way to Plockton but the views were fantastic.

The accommodation however wasnt so fantastic, oven wasnt working, shower had no attachment to the wall it was broken off so had to shower holding the head while water ran scolding then freezing. Had to use the sink to wash. Electrics were a joke found out that the fridge and the cooker were wired together! Cutlery and crockery had to be washed prior to use. It was clear that this lodge wasnt cleaned before we arrived, and no doubt hasnt been done for weeks! A "welcome" sign at the front door was covered in cobwebs.

As the week went on we found more things wrong with the place, cold water tap dripped all the time, sheets on the bed were dirty, glad I took my own to use. Windows wouldnt open, were blocked with paper to stop draughts. Doors didn't fit properly throughout the lodge, front door had a gap down the side showing daylight. All in all accommodation from hell!!

Wouldn't recommend this place at all, apart from the view from the lodge cant say anything good about it at all. We cut holiday short to come home for a shower, we both felt filthy and unwashed.

I have photos of the faults but unfortunately for some reason I can't post on here. I will send them to you if requested.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Clean, friendly, simple accommodation in one of the prettiest locations in the UK. Very inexpensive. Unbelievable views. The beach, wooded island and rare breed animals would make the place ideal for kids. An taigh-osda math gu gearbh!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

This is one of the most beautiful places to stay. The cottage on the beach is absolute Heaven. Waking up in the morning and having your breakfast on the beach, with the sea and the sky and the glorious mountains is just what you need to gear you up for life back in the real world.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craig Highland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Highland Farm

Address: Plockton IV52 8UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craig Highland Farm Hotel Plockton
Craig Highland Farm Plockton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig Highland Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.