We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon as it is meant to be.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plockton Shores Restaurant

Plockton Shores Restaurant
30 Harbour Street,, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
01599 544 263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Plockton
Price range: $17 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Salmon as it is meant to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Delicious food, a warm welcome on a chilly day and good service. A little disappointed that the cheeses i ordered did not appear to be local, but they were good!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    273
    77
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Plockton has more than just one good place to eat, but for a long time now Plockton Shores been the only place there we've gone for a meal out. Living in South Skye it's both close enough and far enough for a wee run out for lunch or dinner.
Food is always interesting, beautifully presented, and consistent good quality. Plenty of other places in and around Skye offer quality, but few feel as good value.
There's always a convivial atmosphere, and it gets very popular. I'd always advise booking, although in winter you may not need to.
Plockton understandably attracts an awful lot of visitors year-round - so be prepared to park and walk a bit unless it's a foul day or very out of season!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A haven from a cold and wet winter's evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a superb evening at this popular restaurant which has a well kept shop by day also. The menu was extensive with many original dishes from local produce. Beautifully presented. Good selection of wine. very friendly helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Stayed on Isle of Skye but drove here for dinner for 2 nights in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were staying just by the bridge on Skye and realised that Plockton is not too far away. Set off and thought that we were heading so far out 'into the sticks' that it would be impossible to find a good restaurant. What fools we were! Such a magically beautiful harbour and Plockton has three separate really good eating places: 'Shores' is outstanding. So much so that we went back for a second night. Such fabulous scallops with black pudding and apples and such amazingly good value. The steak was similar to a melt in the moth one had in New York. In London the prices would be x3. Cannot recommend it more highly

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"A lovely experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited this restaurant last week for an evening meal. The restaurant was warm, cosy and reasonably busy for out of season. The food and service was very good. We both enjoyed the seafood platter, which was excellently cooked and professionally served. The location of this restaurant is idyllic. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plockton Shores Restaurant also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Plockton Shores Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plockton Shores Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.