We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Tongue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhian Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhian Guest House
Save
You added Rhian Guest House to your Saves list
Rhian Cottage, Tongue IV27 4XJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Tongue B&B and Inns
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Tongue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Jenny and Stuart were wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. The place is beautiful inside and out, and immaculately clean. Our twin room had a private bathroom -- what a fantastic shower! There's also a wonderful conservatory to relax and read if you desire. I'd highly recommend Rhian Guest House to anyone visiting the northern Scotland coast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

A very nice B&B just outside the village of Tongue. We had a very warm welcome from Jenny and Stuart Anderson, who went out of their way to ensue that we had everything we needed, which, as I was cycling, even went as far a supplying a bucket of water to mend a puncture. The breakfast was delicious especially the bacon. The only downside was that I found my bed in our twin room pretty hard, so I didn't have a particularly good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed one night in May 2013. The room was very comfortable with all the usual tea and coffee facilities, though there was no television in the bedroom. However, there is a guest lounge with a large television for those so-minded.There is also a conservatory, complete with boxed games, a bookshelf and even a telescope. The garden is well stocked with bird feeders and we were able to sit and watch the many birds that come to them. Jenny and Stuart gave us a great welcome and were perfectly friendly and charming hosts. Breakfast was excellent (the full Scottish, of course) and just about all appetites were catered for. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to look out over the hills and valleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Rhian guesthouse is just outside the village of Tongue, a short walk to the Ben Loyal hotel for dinner. The bedroom was small but clean and comfortable, and the use of the conservatory and lounge for guests made us feel quite at home. Good breakfast and both Jenny and Stuart were most helpful with local advice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

myself and my partner stayed here a couple of years ago ,
set in a lovely location , easy to find, I loved the fact there was no TV in the room
I found the owners to be very friendly and helpful . breakfast was lovely .
there are some great walks in the area .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla,North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a perfect retreat for couples who are looking for a home base to explore the beautiful remote areas of northern Scotland. The breakfast was amazing, the owners very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere quaint and peaceful. It is located close to town for excellent dining and beverages and all of the locals we met were friendly and we enjoyed their company. We were sad when our time there was done.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Terracotta room which has it's own en-suite. The bed was comfortable and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely location ,Clean and comfortable room.We loved the area even though it is a remote location.Had a one night stay which would have been great had it not been for the noise from the adjoining room.It was as though the family were in our room!We could hear every word also the creaking floor boards especially when they were having to go in and out of their room to use the bathroom. Not their fault, just that walls must have been very thin!.This spoilt our stay here unfortunately. Can recommend the nearby Ben Loyal Hotel for an excellent evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhian Guest House

Address: Rhian Cottage, Tongue IV27 4XJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tongue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a gamekeeper’s cottage, Rhian is set in over 20 acres of private grounds where peace, quiet and comfort are assured. Cozy rooms have hospitality trays and either en-suite or private shower room. Two guests’ lounges, one with TV and peat/log fires in winter, offer panoramic views of Ben Loyal. Wi-fi Internet access. Packed lunches available on request. Open all year and totally non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhian Guest House Tongue, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhian Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.