We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruddyglow Park Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochinver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruddyglow Park Country House
Save
You added Ruddyglow Park Country House to your Saves list
Loch Assynt, Lochinver IV27 4HB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of a recent short stay at Ruddyglow Park and thoroughly enjoyed the same. Wonderful views from the room and very comfortable with a truly outstanding and amazing breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere, meeting some wonderful guests who were also staying.
Service is very good, and very professional, and we would recommend this place to anyone. The only reason we have given it only 4* instead of 5* is because our room was not en-suite, which nowadays is something you do expect in most places. That said, the place is still excellent and Patricia is a great host and if possible we woudl probably have given it 4 and half stars..!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Daniel-Olga-Madrid, Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am delighted you both liked our breakfasts and our lovely views. I know I'm biased but I think they are wonderful too. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to try out one of our en-suite rooms the next time you visit.

With kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are just back from a 3-day stay at Ruddyglow Park as a birthday treat for my husband, and I have to say that our experience matched that of (almost) every other reviewer. The house is extremely comfortable and well-appointed, and Patricia could not have been a more attentive hostess. She responded magnificently to the request for a cake and champagne for the birthday boy on arrival, and throughout our stay she anticipated our every need.

We stayed in the Rose Room, a very spacious en suite with a glorious view out over Loch Assynt, and despite the unexpected (for Scotland) heatwave, we slept like logs both nights. It was too hot even to contemplate a cooked breakfast, but the array of fresh berries, juices and a home-made smoothie made a lovely start to the day. We even met Devon, the resident pine marten, as she came for her own breakfast.

Guests are free to use the livingroom with a good selection of books and music, and the bedrooms are equipped with all sorts of gizmos for playing your own music. Fresh milk is provided for the morning cuppa - and a wide choice of teas.

We enjoyed a lovely 6 mile local walk on Patricia's recommendation that took us apparently into the heart of a wilderness if it hadn't been for the man-made track, with superb views of Quinag, Stac Pollaidh, Canisp and Suilven.

From the welcome to the farewell, this was a memorable stay for all the right reasons, and we shall definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Rose Room has a lovely view, an enormous bed, and an en-suite bathroom with over-bath shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear HeronScottishBorders,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband here for such a special occasion and I am so happy you managed to make it up to Assynt and Ruddyglow Park. I look forward to welcoming you both back soon. I'm looking forward to trying out new a new cake recipe and the bubbly will be chilling awaiting your arrival.

All the very best from Patricia and everyone at Ruddyglow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A stunning place. The general ambience is homely and friendly, and the house is lovely and very comfortable. We stayed in the lodge, which is separate from the main house - I would recommend this for romantic couples. A massive bath, spring water from the taps, wonderful products, champagne, all provided on arrival. Patricia was an impeccable but warm and friendly host, and nothing was too much trouble. The location is incredibly beautiful, genuinely magical. The house is in a beautiful garden, on the edge of a fabulous loch, and you feel you really are coming to the edge of nowhere, away from everything. Within an hour there is no end of stunning coastline, mountains, fishing, birdlife, restaurants, pubs, live music, distilleries - and, best of all, the amazing Sandwood Bay (one of the most beautiful beaches in the entire world). We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Music_Travel_Wine,
We were delighted to read your review and thank-you for taking the time to post it. I am very happy you enjoyed your time both at Ruddyglow Park and the surrounding area. I agree with you, but then I'm biased! I think Assynt and this part of the NW Highlands is a magical place to be. Sandwood bay is, as you said, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world but next time you come I recommend you visit Oldshoremore. It's also spectacular (and much easier to get to!)

I hope to welcome you back to Ruddyglow Park very soon.

Kind regards, Patricia and everyone at Ruddyglow Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This property is well worth visiting. The owner deserves the support of tourists. She was happy to have a very late arrival, and was extremely hospitable even though it was so late, with very generous sized whiskies and an offer of milk and cookies! She had gone to immense trouble to provide a fantastic breakfast spread for us and the other couple who had stayed there.

Room Tip: The Lodge is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Colin,
Thank-you for your wonderful comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back soon for hopefully a longer stay.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our-first visit to Ruddyglow but not our last
Patricia made us feel so at home and has a encyclopedic knowledge of the area .Nothing was too much trouble even down to the delicious snacks that were prepared for us one evening.
The facilities in our room more than complemented the furnishings and the comfortable bed . We would not hesitatein recommending Ruddyglow to those who prefer being out of towns and busy areas.

Room Tip: Either the rose room or the outside room are the ones preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Hazyview, Thank-you so much for leaving such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you all here and Devon (Pine Martin) Bertie (Badger) and Pippa (Puffin) and myself look forward to your next visit.
While am looking forward to some winter sun in SA. All the best. Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed with Patricia at Ruddyglow Park for a couple of nights recently. We were, quite simply blown away by our experience. Patricia could not have been more welcoming. The house is lovely - the lodge very special - and the views over Loch Assynt really do have to be experienced to do them justice, so spectacular! The wildlife in and around Ruddyglow Park is amazing. Patricia showed us footage of a regular visitor - a pine marten no less - who comes for her bread and jam most evenings, and will scratch at the window to attract Patricia's attention if she is tardy! She is also usually visited nightly by badgers.
The accomodation is really first class, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and the views from the dining room just beautiful. We would not hesitate to return. It was our first time in Assynt, and we were delighted. The people were frindly and helpful and there was lots to do. We did have the luxury of two fantastic sunny days!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear RoccaB,

Thank-you so much for your wonderful comments and feedback. They are much appreciated but everyone. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here and was delighted you managed to see Devon (our cheeky Pine Martin) while you were here. If you are ever up this way again it would be a pleasure to welcome you both back.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coevorden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After a rainy start we stayed at Patricia's Ruddyglow Park in the lodge for 3 days with sunshine.
With a beautiful view of the loch this place is "wow". Go for the Rose room if you want to be stunned every time you wake up in the morning and open the curtains.
Although a bit remote the scenery is lovely, spectacular when the sun shines. We were at a B&B for the first time and Patricia's sets a high scale with her service and kindness.
And then the breakfast...we haven't had a greater variety in hotels ever. Her smoothies are delicious. Fresh berries, strawberries to much. And we didn't even go for the full Scottish breakfast.
The lodge has a great bed, soft linnen and thick towels. A huge bath (which could be a little difficult for elderly people). All the privacy if you desire so.
All in all, we would go back any time if we would be in the area.
Patricia, THANKS

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddyglowPark, Owner at Ruddyglow Park Country House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Peter Z,

It was lovely having you to stay and I'm so happy the weather was good while you were here. It does make a difference. Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave your review. It makes such a difference. We have just been awarded the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence - 2013 for which we are all very happy about.

I hope to welcome you all back to Ruddyglow Park in the not to distant future.

With kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruddyglow Park Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruddyglow Park Country House

Address: Loch Assynt, Lochinver IV27 4HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home, a quiet, friendly, five star bed and breakfast surrounded by 5 acres of woods and garden that extend right down to edges of Loch Assynt. The main house is quite traditional with antiques and old paintings but our Lodge is very contemporary and the perfect honeymoon hideaway. The perfect location for fishing, hunting, walking or just exploring the amazingly beautiful, west coast of Scotland. Lochinver, Achiltibuie, Durness, Handa Island and Knockan Crag are all close by. We love what we do and what all our guests to feel special, pampered and to remember Assynt. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruddyglow Park Country House Lochinver, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruddyglow Park Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.