We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Assynt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inver Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Inver Lodge Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Assynt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Assynt and Coigach have some of the most impressive scenery in Scotland. Amazing beaches (Achmevich) nice we villages (Kylesku and Achiltibuie) for lunch. An an outstanding area for wildlife, geography, geology, history and archeology.

Inver lodge has great food complimented by some very compitent young enthusistic staff. Rooms are well appointed large and very comfortable. The hotel harks back to a Victorian sooting lodge without being all darl mahogany and clutter. It is a bright contemporary hotel with all you need for a relaxing time.

I have been several times before. Once upon a time they had a very nice shop well stocked with local crafts (Lochinver pottery) and practical items like fishing tackle toiletries etc. I think the management has forgotten they have a shop and it is to say the least disapointing. It really is a bit of a loss and would be better closed altogether if it can't be freshened up stocked and run properly.

Still we all really enjoyed Inverlodge. It was the third and best out of it and out of three hotels we stayed in on this trip, Aucrannie (Arran) and Duisdale (Skye). My friend was disables and though the adapted room was already taken his mobility problems presented no issue with room an resteraunt car park all on the same level.

Room Tip: They are all nice but specify you requirements and the staff will help get the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your return visit to Inver Lodge and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed it as much as you have done in the past. Regarding the shop, this winter part of reception and shop will be replaced with a private dining/ meeting room which will also offer whisky tasting and whisky for sale. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    33
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
137
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel once or twice each year for the last fifteen years or so and we rate it as the best hotel we have ever visited in the UK.

Expertly managed for the ease and comfort of the guests by Nicholas Gorton and his staff, the rooms are spacious and very well equipped and all have magnificent views of the fishing harbour and the sea beyond. On clear days you can make out the hills on the Outer Hebridean Islands.

The restaurant is a real pleasure; the service is expert, efficient and friendly and the menu has improved (if that were possible) under the Albert Roux guidance and input. Excellent breakfast menu and marvellous dinner menu.

The hotel has easy access to wilderness-type walks; you just select your route and go! Better still, the fishing is superb whether you want huge lochs, smaller lochans or rivers. The Inver and the Kirkcaig rivers have good salmon runs and plenty of brown trout in them.
It's not unusual for deer to graze on the lawns around the hotel which adds to the charm and we've seen seals and sea otters in and around the harbour.

Finally, the Inver Lodge has an ambience of tranquility, luxury and warmth. In the words of the song: "Simply the Best"

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for ease of access if you have a problem with stairs. My wife always requests Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your visits to Inver Lodge and how much you have enjoyed all aspects of the food and service that we offer to help make your stays memorable. I hope that we can contunue to to succed in this for many years to come and hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, Stockport, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were staying in Inverkirkaig and were looking for somewhere to have dinner to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Having dined some years ago at Le Gavroche we decided to try Inver Lodge. Were we disappointed, no we were not. It was truly lovely. The food was superb, the staff amazing, friendly without being overbearing. Fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to dine in our Chez Roux restaurant for your anniversary. Chef Lee is delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the rest of the team are pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last week, and from the very start we new it was going to be just what we needed to relax after a long busy season catering for our tourists in the Cotswolds both in Jackie's B & B and my touring business.

We were met and greeted before we had parked the car by 2 delightful staff, our bags were whisked away to our room, and we had checked in before we new it...very professional..

Our room was superb, a wonderful enormous comfy bed, a large en-suite shower wet room, with exceptional views, and all the other extras one would hope for...but not always get!

Dinner was exceptional under the Albert Roux trained and run hotel restaurant..we ate here every night..All the courses were well thought out and were all delicious.....we even ate lobster and grouse, with no extra to pay, on the reasonably priced set 3 course menus, which included canapés before and coffee and wonderful home made chocolates afterwards...The service in the dining room was first class...Breakfasts were equal to the diners..

We even had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of “the great man himself”..Albert Roux, who was attending a luncheon here to celebrate the hotel achieving their well deserved “5 star rating”...Meeting Monsieur Roux was especially rewarding for Jackie as she has always been a fan of his and she is a gourmet cook herself!

I must thank and congratulate the manager Mr Nicholas Gorton for selecting and training his friendly, considerate, and highly proficient team, and making my Wife and myself so welcome...This is a wonderful part of the world...and when we return we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else...Thoroughly recommended...Tim Harrison Tour the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Talk to Mr Gorton...he will advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
There are a lot of smiling faces today after we read the review of your stay at Inver Lodge last week. I am delighted that you found all aspects of you time with us to meet your expectations and possibly exceed them. I hope that you will return before too long and wish you a pleasent winter. Kind regards, NIcholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were attracted by the good reviews and the Chez Roux restaurant, being familiar with Greywalls in Gullane. It was interesting to find such a first class place in the remote North West,far from any big towns, and the hotel is indeed luxurious,with every comfort and beautiful rooms. The public areas are spacious,and combine the efficiency of a top hotel with comfort and cosiness. Best of all, the wonderful food and flawless service from a well trained staff. A nice local touch was the Highland Stoneware on display at breakfast, which is made in Lochinver. Finally,congratulations on superb Eggs Benedict!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, so no one loses out on the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your first visit and I am delighted that you were not disapointed. Our aim is to provide a warm and welcoming atmopshere and discrete service to accompany the excellent food in Chez Roux, I hope that you will return to enjoy our hospitality before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just returned from my third visit to this hotel and I am delighted to report that it has maintained its very high standards. The new bathrooms are very elegant and all the public areas are decorated and furnished superbly. The bar has an excellent selection of whiskies and other spirits and some wonderful bottled Scottish ales. Breakfast here is a true delight and dinner divine. I set great store by the manners and attitude of hotel staff and the people here are a shining example of friendliness and efficiency. When the only thing someone as fussy as me can find to moan about is the centre pedestal design of the restaurant tables, you can be assured that everything else is exemplary. It is a fantastic advertisement for the Scottish tourist industry and deserves to be regarded as one of the countries finest hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your third visit to the Inver Lodge and it really is encouraging to see how much you are still enjoying your time with us. As a team we really enjoy welcoming back previous guests as the feedback helps us maintain the standards and hopefully having you back time and time again. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

In late July my wife and I spent a perfect night at the Inver Lodge. Driving there through magnificent scenery was a delight and the reception at the hotel was warm, welcoming and super efficient. The room (a suite) was large and equipped with everything necessary and the views were outstanding. Dinner in the Chez Roux Restaurant was superb, as was the table in front of the picture windows, the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient, and the food excellent - and I really mean excellent! The barman knew a lot about whisky and recommended a couple of really nice ones! Just sometimes a hotel gets everything exactly right - this was one of those times. For a special occasion this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Firstly thank you very much for taking time to write your review of your stay at Inver Lodge in July, I am delighted that you chose to come here for a special celebration and to read how much you enjoyed your experience. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inver Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.