We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lochinver Mission accomplished” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse

Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochinver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse
Culag Park, Lochinver IV27 4LE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lochinver Mission accomplished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Lochinver Mission was fantastic place eat sleep and hang out on our breif one night visit to the area. Super clean @ bright throughout, quality bed linen & towels, great showers with powerful water flow, excellent dinner with fresh local fish selection on menu, enormous breakfast. Only niggle was bedrooms were a little on the hot side even with the radiators turned off. But thus was only a slight niggle because there are no two ways about it - this is the best bunkhouse we've ever stayed in, bar none.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were delighted with our stay at the Lochinver Mission. We were lucky to have a room to ourselves, however it was spacious, clean and warn. The communal area again was very clean, spacious and with a well equipped modern kitchen area too. The showers were exceptional, spacious, clean and there was always loads of hot water.
Like all bunkhouses you are left to get on with things after checking in, but there was always either staff downstairs in the cafe or available at the end of a telephone if there were any issues or problems.
We would highly recommend upgrading to the Full Breakfast option which was a bargain for an extra £2 a day.
The staff were also helpful in telling us where to get replacement walking equipment (the Boat Chandlers over the road) and groceries.
We will come back here again and again and again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, East Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Sorry, I can't comment of the "Hostel-iness" of this location, but I can comment on the cafeteria / restaurant part of the place.

On a tip from my B+B owner, I dropped in here for a meal in early September, and I was rather impressed. The place was very clean and shiny, and the staff we utterly enthusiastic - they really seemed to be having fun there.

Menu-wise, it veered between "Greasy Spoon" and cafe, but the quality was very good. Local ingredients and made to order when I was there. (Had a pizza followed by Sticky Toffee Pudding - perfect comfort food after a moist day on the coast.) I'd be very happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Lochinver Mission only opened around July 2011 and is a welcome addition to hostels in the North West of Scotland. Great location at the harbour area of Lochinver. This is not a hostel in the traditional sense it is a new building and is quite luxurious. Perhaps lacking a little character compared to say for example Achmelvich Youth hostel but in more than makes up for that

When you arrive you are given clean bedding and a towel. The quilts in the room are lovely and warm

All the rooms in the hostel are on the 1st floor with no lift access so probably not suitable for disabled travellers

3 dorms, one with 3 bunk beds one with 2 bunk beds anda family room with 5 beds a double bed with a bed above and a bunk bed. There is a communal area which will have a TV with freeview connected shortly, 2 comfy leather sofas and 3 tables and chairs. If full the hostel will have 15 guests however the kitchen area is just like one in your home. State of the art cooker, large fridge freezer, microwave and toaster and one sink. Very limited storage space for foods. If everyone wanted to use the kitchen I think this could be a problem when the hostel is full

Central heating throughout, one toilet and 2 tolilets with showers. The showers are fantastic power showers and there was always plenty of hot water

For the price £17 breakfasy=t is also included in the cafe downstairs. Cereal, toast and tea or coffee. If you wish you can upgrade for an extra £2 and get a full cooked breakfast.

Cafe downstairs is open from 8am until about 10pm with great range of food most of which is local produce. Prices are excellent a main meal typically around £6to £8 as well as daily specials. I did not try the food but it looked excellent and the portions were decent as well. Cafe was busy even on a Thursday night in September.

Compared to Achmelvich youth hostel this place is 10 times better, cleaner and it costs less, per night. When you consider that you also get breakfast this place is superb value

Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse

Address: Culag Park, Lochinver IV27 4LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Lochinver
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse accommodation has 13 single bunks and 1 double. The accommodation is set over three shared rooms:Curlew 6, Tern 4 and Heron4/5 (family room). The rooms are booked on a self catering or B&B basis. Cooked Breakfast is served from 8.30am in Lochinver Mission Cafe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lochinver Mission Bunkhouse to your Saves list