We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to the walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rose Guest House to your Saves list
The Rose Guest House
Marianne & Ed Weerts | Ardglas, Lochinver IV27 4LJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent start to the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stopped at The Rose just prior to starting the Sutherland Trail.
The Guest House enjoys a great location overlooking the sea - and alo with close ups of deer grazing just over the garden wall at dusk.
Warm, clean, relaxed, and laid back - a good start to the holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the sea (you can see Suilven from some) - and then head to the Lochinver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
29
50
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Ed and his staff are warm, welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed here many times over the last few years and would recommend Rose Guest House to anyone wanting to stay in Lochinver. Fabulous views over the harbour, village & surrounding countryside with great hospitality, wifi throughout the B & B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This pleasant B and B is located across the bay from the main township, affording fantastic views over the loch to the mountains with the village houses nestled at their feet. We arrived unannounced, and received a warm welcome complete with a cup of tea and coffee, and the offer to help carry our bags up the steep stairs: - nice. Ed, our host, was friendly and very welcoming and the staff were all very pleasant.

Although other reviewers have commented about a lack of ensuite rooms, we stayed in a pleasant upstairs room complete with a modern, spotlessly clean bathroom. My understanding is that the guest house is presently 'a work in progress'. Our room had recently been up-graded and although smallish, was warm, cosy and nicely decorated. Breakfast was well-cooked and served in the lovely breakfast room/conservatory with its utterly stunning views across the loch. Several pairs of binoculars were resting on the window sills and piles of books and maps etc were there for our use. The view alone should prompt you to stay here.

I would describe the overall style of this B and B as friendly, casual and 'laid back' - a little hostel-like but well suited to people who enjoy the outdoors and are looking for a nice, simple place to stay. If you're looking for up-market, luxury-type accommodation then this is not the place for you. However, if 'friendly and relaxed' is more your style then 'The Rose Guest House' is a nice place to stay and is great value for money.

We enjoyed our stay here and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very pleasant with a lovely view, and has a nice modern ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stay in this guest house a couple of times every year. Need I say more? OK, then, I will. Two things make it a special place for me. First, the wonderful views across the loch to Suilven and Cul Mor. But that would nothing without Ed, the excellent host. He is always welcoming and provides great breakfasts and packed lunches. And not forgetting his mountain-bike hire. The house itself is cosy - and warm in the colder months. There are two restaurants for evening meals (three in the summer). So I can recommend it wholeheartedly - I will be up again in a few months' time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowdonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I chose The Rose because of the wonderful views of Sulieven and the Harbour of Lochinver ,and so convenient for restaurants,local shops ,post office and petrol station.I would throughly recommend the accomodation and the host Ed. The mountain views overlooking the Loch combined with the tasty well -cooked breakfast after a comfortable warm nights rest just made the trip very enjoyable. Ed was knowlegeable about the area and always helpful,and the room was clean and comfortable plus TV and free Wi-fi at the end of the day,perfect for catching up with a cup of coffee ,relaxing in your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a river survey to conduct in Lochinver so I looked for a bed and breakfast to stay for one night. We chose The Rose Guest House because their website is very good and it looked simple and clean and warm and inviting and has a great view over the water. The price was great - about 1/2 the price of several locations nearby. Marianne and Ed Weerts were very nice and after we spoke on the phone we knew that we would want to stay there. The room was just fine for our stay and the location is perfect. We had dinner in Lochinver and in the morning Ed made us a very nice breakfast tailored made to our requests.

Room Tip: Just ask Ed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked at short notice and were treated very kindly by the staff. The room was comfortable and the bathroom warm with good hot water supply. Clean and neat. Breakfast was good. Quiet and a good hotel nearby to have dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Guest House

Address: Marianne & Ed Weerts | Ardglas, Lochinver IV27 4LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Rose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose Guest House Lochinver, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.