We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual a wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochinver Holiday Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lochinver Holiday Lodges to your Saves list
Lochinver Holiday Lodges
33 Strathan, Lochinver A837, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As usual a wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We have stayed in a few of the Stewarts' wonderful properties in Lochinver and we always have the most relaxing time imaginable - what a fab escape from the intensity of London!
This time we stayed in one of the Lodges and had an excellent view of the bay and lots of great birds to watch, although sadly the famous otter was still elusive.

If you want a self catering cottage away from the world you really can't beat LHL - and the welcome is warm with a great welcome tray of tea, coffee, shortbread and choccies and the kitchen is second to none with its superb quality cooking equipment and Highland Pottery. The properties are always impeccably clean too.

The area is great for walking and wildlife and the properties all have a great info pack. Lochinver also boasts two really high class restaurants.

I can't recommend the LHL properties highly enough for a real get away from it all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We were staying in the lodge called 'Shelduck'.
This is apparently the only lodge with 2 bathrooms and as such ours was quite small (not too bad in itself, but the door into it was glass, and therefore see-through; not good when using the wc!).
Of all the lodges, this one had the least spectacular view (although it was still very nice).
As the title suggests, we would like to give this 3½ out of 5, because although fine, when compared to other places we have stayed, we would expect a 3 star rating rather than the 4 it has.
If we had stayed in one of the other lodges, we probably could have given it a 4 out of 5 rating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochsidehomes, Owner at Lochinver Holiday Lodges, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Lochinver Holiday Lodges are inspected annually by Visit Scotland under their quality assurance scheme and we have been consistently awarded our 4 star rating for each of the 7 lodges accordingly.

We welcome our visitors’ comments and invariably go out of our way to ensure as far as is possible within all reasonable means that any concerns raised are addressed beyond expectation and in a timely manner. We regard the satisfaction of our visitors as paramount in importance to the successful maintenance of our business. We also welcome independent forums such as Trip Advisor as a means by which we can collect feedback on our performance and the quality of accommodation we are providing. However, these forums do rely on the accuracy of writer’s comments and unfortunately do not filter out any emotional content that might colour a particular entry for reasons which may or may not have anything to do with our service.

In respect of Shelduck, this is indeed the only lodge out of 7 which boasts 2 en-suite bathrooms. The bathroom the door in question was an opaque screen through which vision was obscured and the WC is sited around a corner and not directly visible from the beyond door.

However, as part of our continual rolling programme of improvements, the bathroom doors in Shelduck have been replaced with solid wooden doors, a velux roof window has been introduced to add light into the bathroom and the wardrobes have been rebuilt with folding doors opening into the bedrooms.

Andrew & Karen Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglesham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Having stayed at Lochinver Lodges in October for the past 20 years, we would highly recommend them as an ideal bese for exploring this beautiful, rugged part of Scotland. The lodges themselves are extremely comfortable, well appointed and well maintained, situated in their own private, secluded bay away from passing traffic with a balcomy that allows you to sit out and enjoy watching the varied wildlife. The owners are very approachable and attentive. We can't wait till our next visit !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Moray
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Very friendly helpful hosts. Booking process easy with good and accurate information supplied. Cottage was very comfortable and warm in a quiet end of road situation. There is plenty of off-road parking in the enclosed gravelled garden.
The groud-floor double bedroom and adjacent bathroom are ideal for those of limited mobility. Upstairs bedrooms are comfortable but steeply coombed.
Foreshore great for watching the sun go down but little scope for walking . Brilliant star-gazing opportunties (little or no ambient light). Small fishing operation with creels, pressure-washing facilities and adjacent storage building at the bottom of the garden.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

This cluster of lodges and cottages is located in an ideal spot, a few minutes from the amenities in Lochinver and slap in the middle of some of the most gob-smacking scenery you are ever likely to come across. One of Scotland's most spectacular mountains, Suilven, is literally round the corner. There are gorgeous beaches a few miles away at Achiltibuie, Clachtoll and Sandwood Bay and the views from nearby Knockan Crag geo-park are amazing. The lodge we stayed in was snug, clean and private, with a balcony that and looked right out on an idyllic inlet fequented by herons, some special sea-birds and deer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borders
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at the Lochinver Holiday Lodges and Cottages in Seaside Cottage in a secluded bay just outside the village. We were only a few metres from the water's edge overlooking a lovely island. The cottage was excellent with superb facilities. The doors opened on to a simple patio with a table and we were able to sit out each evening watching glorious sunsets. Wedidn't see any otters in the bay, but others had. The bird life there made up for that as well as the amazingly peaceful setting.There are a few lodges nearby but as you are so near the water, it feels very private and none overlook the cottage to a great extent. The grounds are well cared for and the hospitality of the hosts is great too.
There is plenty to do in the area and you don't have to travel far to enjoy it. The village is well served with shops and a filling station as well as cafes, hotels and the best pie shop ever! We'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochsidehomes, Owner at Lochinver Holiday Lodges, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Dear HeatherBorders,

Thank you for your lovely comments, please note that you stayed at SEASHORE Cottage which is located on the same 14 acre private site as our Lodges and Tigh A Chladaich House.

Seaside Cottage which we also own is located in Badnaban (the next bay around from Strathan) at the end of a quiet no through lane beside the pebble beach.

Best wishes

Karen & Andrew Stewart
Lochinver Holiday Lodges & Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Spent a perfect week at the lochinver holiday lodges during may 2009. The location of the lodge was overlooking the loch, superb views of the wildlife. The lodge was very comfortable,clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochinver Holiday Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochinver Holiday Lodges

Address: 33 Strathan, Lochinver A837, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Lodges and Cottages by the sea in N.W. Highlands of Scotland set around a large grass green in Strathan Bay on our 14 acre site where you will find 2 pebble beaches, tidal island, true peace & quiet and see beautiful sunsets plus lots of wildlife including deer, otter, seal, porpoise and heron. Great fishing, walking, moutains to climb & bird watching. Furnished, equipped & cleaned to a high standard. 1.4 miles from Lochinver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lochinver Holiday Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochinver Holiday Lodges Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochinver Holiday Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.