We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airlie House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Airlie House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Strathyre B&B and Inns
North Tawton, Devon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way back south from the highlands with my husband and dog. What lovely hosts! It was dark and wet when we arrived so we were very pleased to see a lit woodburner to warm us up in the lounge. Ray showed us round, a lovely guy. First impressions of the house were great - and it stayed that way! Lovely big room (called Viole, I think) with a large ensuite bathroom and a huge comfy bed. Met Jacquie at breakfast, a lovely, friendly lady who made us feel right at home - just like Ray did. Breakfast was great, perfectly cooked poached eggs, loads of other choices too. AND a sausage on both mornings for the dog! Hope we can visit again in the Spring. Thanks Jacquie and Ray, what a lovely end to our holiday :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This B&B was absolutely perfect for our one night stay on the way to the highlands. It is very reasonable and so would also be fantastic for a longer stay.

Bedroom was very comfortable. We were on our first night of honeymoon, so appreciated the very comfortable bed as we were totally knackered. The owner also gave us a bottle of fizz since we had just got married which was lovely.

Cracking breakfast the next day. Perfect smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and great coffee. Good parking and a very good restaurant recommendation for the evening

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Arriving early into Glascow Airport, we wanted to retreat away from the city to relax our first night in Scotland. This was the ideal location. A comfortable distance without driving too far. It gave us time for a local hike and a lovely evening to relax. Pleasant, clean rooms, and so quiet. What a restful first night's sleep. We awoke to a fabulous breakfast as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast in wonderful countryside. For those walking the Rob Roy Way, I cannot recommend this highly enough. My son and I stayed here on our walk of the Rob Roy Way. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the house is absolutely immaculate, the bed was by far the most comfortable I experienced that week, with crisp sheets and a wonderful mattress. The room had a large bath which is ideal when you have been lumping a rucksack around all day. Breakfast was excellent with a great range of choices to choose from. Overall a wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a truly beautiful bed and breakfast experience in wonderful countryside. For those walking the Rob Roy Way, or enjoying the Trossachs area, I cannot recommend this highly enough. A traditional stone building with high ceilings and beautifully refurbished to give large rooms. My Dad and I stayed here on our walk of the Rob Roy Way, and are hardened B&B travellers. Airlie House gets my vote of the best B&B in the UK from our last four walks (28 B&Bs we've visited). Everything is thought of, the bed was by far the most comfortable ever experienced in a B&B with crisp sheets and a wonderful mattress. Large baths with all treats you should want. Teapots and a range of teas, real milk and a wonderful view onto the hills. Breakfast was the most peaceful experience with beautiful crockery, presentation and a lovely morning welcome from the owners, plus a great range of choices to choose from. Overall a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband, dog and I recently stayed in this very dog friendly B&B and had a fab stay. Jackie and Ray were very welcoming and really helpful throughout our stay. Our very large room was clean and modern and the guest lounge area was a nice place to relax in with a lovely log burning stove. Breakfasts were very tasty and a large and varied selection was offered each day. A minute down the road, The Inn Bistro is a very friendly pub where the locals made all of us feel welcome and served very tasty food. I couldn't recommend a nicer village to stay at, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Highly recommended accommodation - high quality fittings and good log stove to relax by. Good attentitive service. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Airlie House Bed And Breakfast Strathyre, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.