We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Bistro at Strathyre

Inn and Bistro at Strathyre
Inn at Strathyre, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland
011 44 1877 384224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Strathyre
Cuisines: Scottish
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

While having a weekend away with my husband we decided to visit this little pub as there was not much choice of places to eat in the area. I was not really expecting much as we had to eat in the pub part as the Bistro was fully booked. I ordered the soup which was Cauliflower and Spring Onion that was amazing. Hubby ordered the Haggis which was a first for him and he loved it. For our mains I had an Onion and Brie tart which was one of the best things i've ever had and hubby had Chicken. We would definitely return the staff are lovely and the meal was 10 out of 10.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Might be nice if it was open!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have eaten here on a number of occasions, when staying at the Forest Holiday log cabins, and walking into Strathyre. However, today after completing the same fairly lengthy walk, and anticipating at the very least a decent pint, we were absolutely astounded to arrive at 12:30 to find it closed! A youth appeared from within the bar to advise us that they did not open "until about 1:30 - 2:0'clock". I find this incredulous, especially at the peak of the holiday season.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love this place - cannot sing its praises enough. I have been here on numerous occasions and never disappoints, food is excellent and always a great selection if beers. Service is great and the atmosphere is so relaxed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed one night in Strathyre and visited the Inn and Bistro for an evening meal. The food was good and the beer was excellent. Staff were friendly and service was prompt

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
packmybagsreadytogo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great meal and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Right on the main street in Strathyre. We were tired from our walk and were hoping for a reasonably good meal. This far exceeded my expectations. I ordered the salmon and it was delicious. The atmosphere, with the locals (along with their dogs!) was great. Everyone very friendly and welcoming. A really nice meal in a really nice place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn and Bistro at Strathyre also viewed

Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park

Been to Inn and Bistro at Strathyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Bistro at Strathyre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.