We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find - beautiful, cozy hotel perfect for a romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Inn

Save Saved
You added English Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
English Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Esquimalt
Montreal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great find - beautiful, cozy hotel perfect for a romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Given the price I paid, I was completely taken by surprise at how wonderful the hotel was. We had a huge room off the main staircase with a huge semi-private balcony shared with the room next door. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with several buildings reminiscent of tudor England. Looks like a nice place for weddings

My only complaint is the noise as the door to our room was not as air tight as one would hope for the room's location. However, the other guests were very quiet and nobody was in the lobby after hours.

Note that we were told that there is no reception staff after 10pm so checking in and any problems would need to be sorted beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    25
    19
    17
See reviews for
32
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This rates very highly. It's ecclectic, quiet and fun. Away from tourist mania downtown and close to where the locals go to enjoy the ocean two blocks south.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Get ready to sleep in Shakespeare’s Village, with 21st century plumbing & electric. Your first time will definitely not be your last.
At first we were a bit reluctant to commit to a hotel just out of town, but EVERYTHING is near in Victoria, so 8 minutes out of town is no issue at all if you are driving anyway.
Driving up to the hotel, it looks like a genteel manor house, but walking into the foyer takes you into a living, working antique. The ancient wood has been kept in incredible condition, and stained an incredibly rich colour. The furnishings are ultra-modern, and the combination of the old and the new is expertly married and fascinating.
There are no elevators, so ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble climbing stairs. If not, the higher you go, the more charming the rooms, with tilted ceilings and vines climbing around outside the windows. I peeped into a few rooms and can safely say that each room is completely different. They have updated all the bathroom fittings and plumbing, and used all the nooks and crannies in the most novel ways. Each room has a different bed and bedding and accessories – some with canopies, or distressed furniture, true to the period – but a splash of colour with a modern armchair or table. Amazingly tastefully done.
As we walked up the stairs, we passed a room where we heard a baby cry. I was dreading the night in this 100+ year old building thinking the walls must be paper thin. We didn’t hear the baby at all, NOR anyone else, and we were told that it was a full house for that weekend.
The pathways to the different “houses” are quite an adventure. Take note of the outside of the Tudor buildings and the various quirky carved characters, a very old mail box (British?), and lots of other stuff that is real eye candy.
We took a look through the windows of Anne Hathaway’s Cottage with its thatched roof, which is now used as a conference facility. The gardens on the entire estate are stunning so take some time to wonder through.
EVERYTHING was spotless, the bed was fantastic, the bath / shower had strong pressure and the water piping hot.
Good Continental Breakfast, we didn't have any other meals there. I am told that the Sunday Brunch is incredible.
I have already and will continue to recommend The English Inn. I will definitely be back.
We certainly felt like Romeo and Juliet, without the fighting parents….!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The English Inn is just as picturesque as their website shows. It is the perfect getaway if you are looking for relaxation, beauty and a unique place to stay. Although it is just outside of downtown Victoria, it is still very close and the hotel staff are always helpful in arranging for transportation. I have already recommended this place to several of my friends and I'm confident they will enjoy it as much as I have. Next time I'm in Victoria, the English Inn will definitely be my number one choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

What a pleasure to fall into the English Inn! We had just come to Victoria that morning to visit the home my wife was born in and decided to forgo the usual accommodations in the hope of finding a venue more in keeping with our taste. We found exactly that with The English Inn. The initial esthetic is of a turn of the 20th century building with absolutely fantastic grounds. The landscaping was stunning. When we walked in, we were pleasantly surprised by the uptempo decor of the lobby and lounge area. It appears as if great lengths were taken to update the interior without taking away from the overall feel of the Inn. A recently renovated room added to the comfort of the Inn. Being early risers, we went for a beautiful walk through the gardens and returned for a sumptuous breakfast. Overall I would have to say that the English Inn was a pleasure to stay at and we definitely would, and will, stay there in the near future.

Oakville, Ontario

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I was greeted by several staff members as I entered the castle-like building, and quickly checked in. The staff were helpful and informative. My room was a delight, decorated with period furniture. The claw-foot tub was a wonderful treat. The grounds include rows of lavender, roses and beautiful trees. The place was quiet. The real treat was waking up and looking out the window through the trees at seaplanes taking off, a cruise ship coming in and the roof of the Legislature Building peeking through. This is a 1906 building - there is no airconditioning and the staff admits the wireless is inconsistent. If you are on a holiday in beautiful Victoria - who cares? I slept like a queen!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is the sharing of a delightful experience in an extraordinary place. It turned out to embody our image of Victoria more than any other we had in the three and half days we were there. The English Inn sits on five acres of carefully crafted and maintained gardens. The buildings have a history going back more than 100 years. The Olde England Inn, as it was once called, was designed and built by craftsman brought from England for the task. If you have a minute please look at the photos we have included in this review. As we drove up to the entrance I said to my wife, "I hope I have the right address". The English Inn was stunning from the very beginning and just became more wonderful as we roamed the gardens and its many buildings. A number of them currently being reconstructed, remaining true to the original intent of the designer. As the previous reviewer has described the services and friendliness of the staff are as extraordinary as the grounds. We also loved the idea that the Inn is 3 miles from the center of town so that we were only minutes away but at the same time in a quiet neighborhood so we heard no traffic or boats or anything else, just peace and quiet. Our servers in the restaurant are unmatched in our experience on this trip, friendly, kind and personable. Kathy at the front desk made us feel at home immediately. The rooms are elegant, spacious to say the least, perhaps expansive is a better word, and the furniture antique. The Inn's restaurant serves prize winning cuisine which we sampled, as well as bringing in food from Safeway. I think you may have said enough already so I will finish by saying that I am saddened that this Inn doesn't come up on the very first screen! Please, please don't allow the experience of this wonderful city to not include the wonders and delights of the English Inn!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.