We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn, interesting room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of English Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added English Inn to your Saves list
English Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Humboldt, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn, interesting room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The grounds of this inn were just amazing, I could have wandered around there forever! The inn itself was very charming, there is character everywhere. Our room was fairly big, had room for a sitting area and fridge. The bathroom was very small and the sliding door didn't leave much for privacy. We also had a sky light above our bed, which was not enjoyable when you are woken up early by the sun shining on your face. I had read the reviews about the keys working for more than one room, which made me nervous, must have been in another building, as we tried our key in a room we knew was empty and it didn't work on that door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    62
    25
    21
    18
See reviews for
38
119
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently had our elopement at the English Inn. It was absolutely fantastic and would do business again with them in a heartbeat. Jennifer, the event planner, was flexible, quick to respond, hospitable and took care of all of our arrangements. The venue is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are lovely. All of the staff took wonderful care of us. We will be back in the future for anniversaries and other celebrations!

Room Tip: Room 7 had a beautiful balcony. Room 8 had a fireplace which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent the first four nights of a months holiday at the English Inn and enjoyed it so much we went back for the last two nights of our trip. The hotel was a pleasant surprise, very quiet and quaint. We enjoyed wandering the gardens with our Grandchildren and guests. Our room was spacious, perfect for us with a Murphy bed the kids thought was the coolest thing when they stayed overnight. We will go back again next time we go to the island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On the outside this is a beautiful and quaint little hotel, with old world charm. A place that you can imagine a romantic evening spent by the fire. Unfortunately the reality is, the rooms are run down and unkept, the staff is over worked and under qualified. The Inn has terrible customer service, our room was not cleaned in three days, we were short on towels even though we were paying a premium price. There are many nice places to stay in Victoria for the same price point, I would avoid this one in the future.

Room Tip: website photos are very misleading, check out your room before you commit to ensure you are getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the English Inn for 5 nights in preparation for my best friends wedding. Although the venue itself is unique and beautiful it is evident that their is a lack of care for the property and apparently the guests as well. I switched rooms once during my stay (to be in a larger room with my boyfriend) and the room was not cleaned upon our stay. There were no new towels and the sheets were unchanged. Thankfully I knew the person who had been in the room previously so it was a little less bothersome, but still took away from our stay.

Upon booking the venue, the bride (and myself) were given discounted room rates as the entire venue was booked for the day prior and the day of her wedding. When I checked out I was told my room would cost over $300, double what I was originally quoted. In shock, i went to find the bride and groom to see if they could offer assistance. The staff at the English Inn had no idea that any rates had previously been set and could not get ahold of a manager as she was out of town. This was not the first time we had trouble with the staff as there were several occasions leading up to, on the day of and after the wedding where the bride spent precious moments searching for emails to communicate with staff what had previously been agreed upon.

Although this venue is a real-life fairytale, it is extremely poorly managed, unorganized and understaffed. Disappointing,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was recently part of a wedding that took place at the English Inn. As part of the bridal party we stayed in the hotel for the entire week leading up to and including the wedding day.
I can say that the property is a very beautiful place and the wedding itself couldn't have been any more perfect thanks to planning from the bride. Unfortunately this beautiful day was clouded by a mountain of stress and drama causes by the staff (or lack there of) at the English Inn.
We had to continuously help ourselves to supplies and linens out of their closets because there was no staff on site to supply us with these items. We were then scolded for doing such things, even though we were only trying to clean our own rooms because no staff had done so for numerous days. Also when staff was available I could never tell who actually worked there because staff members were dressed in sweat pants and had no form of identification indicating that they indeed worked there.
There was also a major lack in communication between management and staff members. The bride had to continuously search through her emails to find written documentation of what management and her had agreed to as staff had no idea what was going on. There was no form of management on site during the wedding leaving young staff members unprepared for the huge event that was happening that weekend. As well we were all over charged about double what we were quoted originally at the time of check out. This left us as guest in utter shock and once again the bride had to spend the morning after her wedding searching through emails to find out what the rooms should actually cost.
For such a beautiful venue I can only wish that they were better staffed and managed in order to make our week more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, CAD
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

First impressions do make or break opinions, indeed. The estate has a tree lined drive way, that screams quiet! Our check in was easy, and we were given room nine, which is two flights up. The room is clean and quiet! Trails on the grounds presented an interesting walk. Overall, you get everything as advertised! If you love quiet, this is the place to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.