We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of English Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added English Inn to your Saves list
English Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is rich with history! The service was great, everything was clean and very comfortable.
The room was beautifully furnished and very bright.
We watched a deer from our window and could hear the birds in the morning. If you are a nature lover this place is a must!
The building itself is stunning. My partner minored in architecture at Carleton University and he loved exploring the English Inn building- we found ourselves admiring the beautiful stained glass windows in the lounge.
I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The Estate Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    62
    25
    21
    18
See reviews for
38
119
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I spent a year in Victoria as a teenager so I was familiar with the appeal it had to tourists during the spring and summer seasons. Unlike the flashy hotels you find in major cities, people tend to seek leisure in Victoria for it's traditional English style and stunning natural beauty. Upon arriving at the English Inn for a weekend visit from the mainland, I was pleasantly surprised to find a Victorian-style lodging surrounded by lush green gardens and charming stone pathways. Our room was more than spacious and the furniture was elegant and antiquated - a nice touch for a romantic getaway. If you're traveling with family and value space and tranquility, I highly recommend the English Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the English Inn over a long-weekend and found the hotel to be incredibly comfortable, very quaint, and the perfect place to catch up on some much needed rest and relaxation. As I was lucky to have sun during my stay I often spent a lot of my down time walking around the property which is covered in beautiful gardens and lush trees. The staff are incredibly friendly and accomodating, the rooms are very clean and comfortable - I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway. It's also a lovely place to get married! Great for pictures with the surrounding gardens!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised about our stay at the English Inn after reading all of the poor reviews here. We had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. From the numerous fireplaces, the lit candles above the main fireplace, to the fresh croissants and the old world charm that oozed from the building and grounds, it made for a great vacation. We loved this place! If you want "cookie cutter" or expect 5 stars and everything to be just perfect, don't come. If you appreciate old world charm and are looking for a quiet, quaint place to relax and don't come with over the top expectations, you will love this place! Because it is an old building and can be a bit drafty, bring an extra layer of clothing to be cozy. And if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs as sounds resonate a bit throughout because it's an older building. Thank you to the front desk staff for being so friendly, helpful and approachable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

So much potential for beauty and comfort. Lack of cleanliness, an abundance of silverfish insects, and poor service made this trip rather disappointing and uncomfortable. With much improved management, maintenance and vision, this could be a magical place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a unique property, very nice. Each room different, not a hotel experience (which is what we were seeking). Lush gardens, attractive grounds, well kept building. We didn't use any of the amenities like the bar or restaurant, and we planned on eating large for breakfast so we skipped the modest continental breakfast. So I can't comment on their level of staffing. We were pleased.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

No real warmth here - the fireplace was broken in our Honeymoon Suite where we went to celebrate our anniversary, staff was scarce and hurried when offering service. Room was decent but no theme to the inn outside of the furniture which is mostly reproductions mixed with modern touches.

Continental breakfast not much better than a motel except for the fresh baked croissants which would have been heavenly had they been served with decent jams and butters instead of individual Kraft jams which taste like the plastic they come in. Apples were served whole and guests picked them up for inspection and replaced them - individual applesauce would have been more charming and hygienic.

No English Tea here - Tim Hortons has a better selection and that is where we had to go since I prefer herbal teas and the only ones they had were anonymously contained so that one had to pick up a bag up and sniff it to determine what type of tea it is. Tongs would be useful !

The grounds were poorly maintained but charming nontheless and I took a half hour to explore and take pictures. I think the inn has lots of room for charm and if management took the interest to have a bit of welcoming English hospitality themes beyond just decor the place might warrant a second visit as I am often in Victoria and it is quite easy to get about from this inn but then - Victoria is rather small and easy to get about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - and if you want a fireplace make sure to ask for one that WORKS!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.