We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Colonsay B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonsay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonsay B&B
Save
You added Colonsay B&B to your Saves list
Arrina | Near Applecross, Arrina IV54 8XU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Arrina B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW Colonsay B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a Paradise !.Forget about the Carribbean you must visit this place. Our stay was memorable .Kalie was the hostess with the mostest.She excelled to make our stay comfortable .It was like home from home. The cottage was tastefully decorated to a very high standard.We had personal service,nothing was a problem.She shared a wealth of information about the local and surrounding areas .The views were absolutely stunning the sunsets were unforgetable FIRST CLASS THANK YOU KALIE..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I can only reiterate everything that has already been said about this B&B and the lady who runs it. She made us feel welcome immediately with offers of coffee. Stunning location and modern comfortable room with no item overlooked. Breakfast tasty and more than plentiful.
Hope to be back and would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghead
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was helping with a local event (an extreme triathlon)in the North West and manged to get accommodation in this hidden gem. Kalie was a wonderful host and even did us and the other guests a really early breakfast! The race started at 0500 - nothing was a trouble. The situation of Colonsay B&B is incredible,the loch, the mountains.and the views make this a very special place. I have been lucky to travel the world and see exciting places but this is one of the finest.

If you can get booked in this is a magic place to be if you enjoy your stay, the food and the hospitality as much as we did then life cannot get much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Colonsay B&B whilst on a photography trip. The house was lovely
, room was very comfortable, and breakfast was great. The views around the house were great and it's location was great for exploring the Applecross peninsula.
Kalie and Islay gave me a warm welcome on arrival and there was a host of good information on the local area with Kalie able to add other places to see and things to do. I would recommend Colonsay Arrina to anyone visiting the area and will certainly be back later in the year for views of snow capped mountians.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, a double and a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Colonsay B&B which was recommended to us by another local B&B. The house was lovely as was Kalie and her pets. We arrived later than planned but this wasn't a problem and we were warmly welcomed. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty; nothing too much bother. The views around the house were fantastic not to mention breathtaking and Kalie was very helpful in providing information on places to go and things to do. We would certainly recommend Colonsay B&B and if it wasn't for work we would have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herne bay , kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What can I say but....beautiful ! incredible location with breathtaking views! Kalie & Islay ( the dog hehe!) and the cat too ! made us so welcome! We were greeted with tea and homemade flapjacks! yum yum!! lovely room and wonderful breakfast!! We stayed for 2 nights and wished it had been more! will definately be back soon. Thank you Kalie for our wonderful stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We only stayed the one night with Karelia but we were very happy with our stay and are more than happy to recommend Colonsay to anyone considering somewhere to stay whilst they explore the Applecross Peninsula and Findhorn area. The area is beautiful, the accomodation first class and Karelia is an excellent host. If you're looking for someplace to stay in the area, look no further!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonsay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonsay B&B

Address: Arrina | Near Applecross, Arrina IV54 8XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Arrina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arrina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a scenic and tranquil setting on the Applecross peninsula, Wester Ross. We offer a friendly and personal service to all of our guests in a welcoming home environment. Guests can use the dining room, TV area, sun room and outside deck, all of which have stunning sea views, as do both the bedrooms. Our breakfast menu includes a full Scottish cooked selection of local produce or a continental breakfast. Evening meals can be arrange in advance.We can advise you on local walks, sea trips and activities in the area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonsay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.