We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Scottish Borders golfing base.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenbank House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenbank House Hotel to your Saves list
Glenbank House Hotel
Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Castleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant Scottish Borders golfing base.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Looking for a place to base ourselves for golf in the Scottish Borders left us with a task until we dropped on this little gem of an hotel in the ideal location for capturing the best golf around the borders area.It offered everything for a group of 6 men looking for a good hearty breakfast and comfortable rooms.Alec & Julie who own the place are working there hearts out along with their staff to present good value quality accommodation.We stayed with them from the 30th Aug for 3 nights and had a brilliant time, Alec was always helpful and his knowledge of the area helped us get around to the different golf venues we had booked.Coming back on an evening to the bar for a few beers with a good evening meal was something we looked forward to after a day on the golf course. Off street car parking was a bonus here as we had some valuable golf equipment with us and we could leave it safe in our vehicles knowing it was up a driveway off the road area.If you are looking for a good hotel base in the Scottish Borders around Jedburgh ,give this place top spot on your selection list.We have booked to go back in 2012 knowing what we will be getting when we get there.

Room Tip: Ask at the time of booking what you require from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    36
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
74
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our way up to Scotland. Alex and his staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Both breakfast and dinner were good - my husband thought the lentil soup was the best he had ever tasted!
Alex makes no secret of the fact that he knows that the hotel, which he has recently taken over, is in need of some renovation and he has started with the public rooms downstairs as well as replacing all the beds. He plans to do more over the winter when the hotel is not busy. I am sure that when he has finished it will be wonderful.
There is plenty of free parking available and if the weather had been better a lovely garden in which we could have sat out. We will definitely return if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This Hotel is a little gem. Perfectly situated in Jedburgh for sight seeing. Very friendly and helpful service. Clean and comfortable, with excellent food & service. Overall I heartily recommend a stay at this wonderful little Hotel. Hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The serviced, reception, room and hosts were so marvellous we decided to return on our way south - it was wonderful to come back and be welcomed like old friends. The gardens are peaceful, the food exquisite and the company out of this world. thank you Julia and Alex for making our stay so welcome and comfortable

Cathy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabrueck
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

An old house with new spirit.
The owners were very kind.
The beds are new and very good. (Large size!)
Tip: Taste the dinner! It is delicious. (The best dinner during our 2 week-scotland-trip)
The next time we stay, we will taste the homemade-scones!
Thanks a lot!
Daxi and Martin

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

we came here for a weekend visit in July 2011, it was a warm and freindly place, food and service was good, wide choice of evening meals and plenty of it.
Room was clean and comfortable.
garden was a sun trap.
Thank you to Alex and Julia for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our stay in Jedburgh was the finale to 2 weeks of Scottish B&B's and what a delight it was! A lovely building, clean and comfy room, including space to spread out in the bathroom (a first in Scotland), ample parking (another rarity), lovely food and drink. New owners Alex and Julia plan to do a bit of updating, but I'm sure the charming character will stay the same!

From the welcome beer in the garden with Alex after a long drive to the "pick me up" scones and lattes as we ambled about, Glenbank and its owners made us feel at home. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Just explain what you need and ALex will do the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbank House Hotel

Address: Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenbank House Hotel Jedburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenbank House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.