We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allerton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Allerton House to your Saves list
Allerton House
Oxnam Road, Jedburgh TD8 6QQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Castle Donington, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the Castle room at Allerton House for 3 nights recently. As others have said, we were given a warm welcome by Chris and Carol and shown round the house. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and everything was spotlessly clean. Chris' breakfasts were a highlight of the stay - the poached eggs were brilliant!
I would highly recommend Allerton to anyone wanting accommodation in Jedburgh. There is plenty to do and see in the area so you should also plan to stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
92
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here on September 15th and booked a single and double room through the Tourist Information Centre in Jedburgh. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Chris and shown to our rooms. We made our way down to the lounge area where we were offered a wee dram or sherry ! great touch. The rooms were very nice and we all had a great sleep on the wonderful and comfortable beds. Breakfast was really good with fresh local produce. The view from the front of the builddding is quite breathtaking. Chris and Carol deserve praise for the clean and welcoming property. A wonderful stay !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

On arrival greeted and given quick show round and was asked if neede any information about dining out or attractions.Room(the castle) was extremly nice and very clean,the bed was lovely and comfortable and i slept ok.Breakfast was nice and the choice good. All in all it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcq-en-Baroeul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place deserves full marks. A friendly welcome from the owners to a very stylish large Georgian house that has been converted to a top-notch guesthouse. I stayed in the single room ('Jed'), which was spacious (the ensuite bathroom was even very large) and very tastefully decorated. There were many nice 'upmarket' touches such as Neutrogena toiletries, Egyptian Cotton towels and a mini- HiFi chain in the room.

In spite of being "chique", the place is definitely good for walkers: Coming in quite wet from a particularly muddy section of the St Cuthbert's Way, I was given a dry place to store my boots, old newspapers to stuff them with, tips on the next day's section, and they do offer a service to pick up walkers from the Harestane Visitor Centre -as Jedburgh is not directly on the Way.

As to the location, Allerton House is in a quiet residential street not more than five minutes' walk from the Abbey and some good pubs.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leasky, Owner at Allerton House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to note that you found our single room to be spacious and appreciated our facilities for muddy walkers, there have been quite a number this year! Yes we can collect and return walkers to St Cuthbert's way or look after cars for guests who set out from here on the Borders Abbeys Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Allerton House for one night. I had been before with other relatives nearly three years ago. The standard continues to be high. The house and grounds are lovely, set off the road above the town. The facilities are great and it is very comfortable with very helpful and welcoming hosts. It is more like a hotel than a B&B as rooms are well furnished with plenty of additional equipment.It is only a short walk to the town and a couple of good restuarants recommended by the owners. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and good service. I would recommend and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

When we arrived and were met by a familiar face I knew we were in safe hands.
I knew Chris from his days as a General Manager in a classic country Hotel in Perthshire that both my Wife and I had business dealings with up to a few years ago.
(However I had no idea that Chris had moved to Jedburgh)
Chris and Carol's experience and know how are very evident and our overnight stop was first- class.
The Breakfast alone, is enough for us to visit again plus the comfort and cleanliness of Allerton House could not be faulted.
Nice to see you both again and thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

stayed over one night en-route to Newcastle. Chris and Carol very friendly and accommodating, room lovely and bedding changed for me as I'm allergic to feathers!.. Everything was spotlessly clean and the sitting room and extensive dvd collection for guests to use was very thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and as a vegetarian was asked for any preferences that I might have. They really go the extra mile to keep guests happy and will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allerton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerton House

Address: Oxnam Road, Jedburgh TD8 6QQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerton Guest House and B&B in Jedburgh is a welcoming Georgian house set in a lovely, sizeable garden giving the impression that it’s in the middle of the country when, in fact, it’s just off the Main A68 trunk road and only 5 minutes’ walk from the centre of the attractive Borders town of Jedburgh. With just six rooms (one fully equipped for people with disabilities), the atmosphere is personal and informal whilst the standards come up to those required in these modern days for both business and leisure visitors.The spacious rooms are all en suite and are equipped with free wi-fi, digital television, an Ipod dock, iron, hairdryer and, of course, tea and coffee making facilities. Your hosts, Chris & Carol Longden, enjoy serving a really good breakfast (with healthy and vegetarian options) using locally-sourced ingredients such as St Boswell’s Black Pudding, Denholm sausages and free range eggs. There are some really good local restaurants and bistros and the fish and chip shop is excellent – and all just five minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allerton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton House Jedburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allerton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.