We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Queen of Scots House

Mary Queen of Scots House
Queen Street, Jedburgh TD8 6EN, Scotland
01835 86331
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Jedburgh
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Gardens, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 16th-century fortified house was visited by the queen in 1556 and now contains an exhibition dedicated to her life.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special place..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I loved this historic building,easy to find ,very informative displays,clothing samples belonging to Mary..beautiful wall paintings ,tapestries etc,the death mask was just amazing.I especially liked the Four Maries bedroom,where you can just visualise them all chattering away !!!Nice shop for momentous of your visit,and reasonably priced..
Free entry,and beautiful gardens..will visit again soon..loved it !!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    51
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have wanted to visit this house for 5 years and was not disappointed. There is a lot of information. I would advise taking the info phones. Very friendly and the gardens are nice to walk in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very interesting stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found this small museum after seeing a sign while driving -- so glad we did. British history is so fascinating (and a little confusing) and this museum did a great job explaining the timeline and history of the area. Incredible to walk through a place where she would have been, and to be able to touch the walls and use the same staircase, etc.

Definitely worth the quick stop -- plenty of free parking just down the street!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The displays were informative, but still left something for you to think about. Fine house. Friendly staff. And free!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

What a marvellous museum! I have passed many times but today decided that I must visit and I am so glad that I did! The first pleasant surprise was that it's free to enter. You can leave a donation on the way out which is fair enough and I was more tha happy to do so. It is a fascinating tour of a fascinating woman's life. Watch out for the low door lintels! Don't know how Mary managed at 5'10". Shame it's not better publicised as I know of many people who would thoroughly enjoy this visit. If you are in the Jedburgh area, make it a must on your wish list. Far better than the Woolen mills!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Queen of Scots House also viewed

Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 
Kelso, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Mary Queen of Scots House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Queen of Scots House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.