We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stop......” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jedforest Deer & Farm Park

Jedforest Deer & Farm Park
Mervinslaw Estate | Camptown, Jedburgh TD8 6PL, Scotland
01835 840364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 attractions in Jedburgh
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Attraction Details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Didn't stop......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Can't say a lot we drove in and drove out, reason being it looked deserted, and run down, kids stuff looked dangerous, maybe we should have given it a chance but first immpressions and all that!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    3
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Enjoyed it but would recommend a visit during summertime, ie: when it's dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We decided to give this place a punt as it was easy driving distance from Harwick where we were staying. Pretty easy to find via sat nav we pulled up in the spacious carpark and we pleased to see some chickens and a rabbit hopping around. They were charging a reduced fee of £5 per adult and our little boy got in free. Upon entering the main area I was delighted to see so many animals walking around and happy to be petted. The donkeys were especially lovely. There was loads of room for kids to run around and some good play equipment to use. Some of it was a bit grubby but it IS the middle of October so that's only to be expected. We also discovered the woodland area. The gokarts looked like great fun. As for tree roots you just need to steer around them! It's a woodland area afterall...?! What really made the visit was a massive deer just walking up to us and being happy to be stroked. Amazing! The downsides were that the grass 'arena' area was pretty damp. I agree that they could do more on the signage side of things. We managed to find our way around though. Can't vouch for the birds as we didn't stop to see them as we had to head off for a toilet break. I can imagine it being a fab place to take kids for a day during summer when the grass is dry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“So appalled at the animals we didn't go in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived to find a muddy car park, scruffy chickens, and rusty farm machinery lying about. The whole place had a run down feel to it. There is a barn by the entrance with 2 sets of sows and their litters that were filthy, living on manure with no fresh bedding and didn't appear to have been cleaned out for at least a month. My family and I were so appalled we decided to leave and report the place to the SSPCA. My Mum is a retired vetinary nurse and she was not impressed by the state of the animals we saw.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice place with great scenery.pity about the MUD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kids will enjoy it as the animals are friendly & eat out of your hand. The falconry displays are very good & worth watching. The cafe is pleasant with a limited menu & there is a small gift/toy shop which is reasonably priced. The only down side is that there are no proper paths around the park, so if it has been raining you get covered in a lot of slushy mud that even goes into your shoes.We were unable to see a lot of the animals as it was impossible to walk in the mud, which was disappointing as the children had lots of animal feed from the little shop. I think it should say on the internet etc that you need to wear wellington boots if there has been any rain. Even a reduced price would have been nice seeing as we couldn't see most of the animals.The real solution though is to put proper paths around the enclosures. It would then be a perfect day out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great fun if a little muddy..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great park, lots of animals, 3 play areas including fab wood adventure one. Indoor play barn if it rains and plenty of picnic tables.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jedforest Deer & Farm Park also viewed

 
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Jedforest Deer & Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jedforest Deer & Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jedforest Deer & Farm Park to your Saves list