We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky mistake finding this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carters Rest Pub

The Carters Rest Pub
Abbey Place, Jedburgh TD8 6BE, Scotland
+44(0)1835 864745
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Jedburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A lucky mistake finding this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were looking for some pub grub and this was recommended by a local, so not what we expected. By the time we realised, we were already seated with menus, so we just went for it. It was naturally more expensive than the typical pub grub we had been looking for, but we certainly were not complaining when we left. The food was lovely and plenty of it! I had a meat dish while my other half, being a veggie, had something different (can't remember what) and we both agreed that the food was great, staff were friendly and efficient and it was a very pleasant place.

Incidentally, we had both been on the hills all day and weren't exactly dressed for a restaurant, with mud splattered up our trouser legs, etc. but we didn't feel at all uncomfortable in here, as we may have in some restaurants. It was really relaxed and friendly with a pleasant atmosphere. The large helpings were also a major bonus after a day hillwalking!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    79
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow! Very pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ordered the chargrill rib-eye steak, medium, with blue-cheese sauce expecting a decent steak.
This is a review, so I'll stick with solely the facts...

A choir of angels came down from above, and as they sang, sliced a portion of meat from the rump of a divine cow, seasoned it with the tears of cherubs and grilled it over the embers of a phoenix.

That's how I saw it, and is the only possible reason for that steak to taste so good.
In all seriousness, that steak was absolutely sublime. In fact, I'd go so far as to say the best I've ever tasted, the service was very good and when we left we realised they'd undercharged us by £10.95. We instantly went back and paid the remainder as it was the proper thing to do when we'd been given such a lovely dining experience. Thank you Carters Rest. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We hoped to get a table for 2 at 6.30 on a Saturday night but were told there was none until 8pm. As we were hungry and knew we were coming back the next day for lunch we left it. Lunch the next day was fab, I had the homemade soup with a coronation chicken baguette known as a winter warmer. The soup was fantastic, nice and hot and tasty too! There wasn't much to choose from on the menu but reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Tasty ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait for a table reservation until after 8 ... But it wasn't a problem and proves carters rest popularity.

A lovely little pub with great food ...

Our waitress - Jennifer - has a promising career ahead as her customer service was second to none

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good escape from the ba' game which was going on in the town. Limited choice in afternoon, but food ok, very tasty steak pie.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carters Rest Pub also viewed

Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Carters Rest Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carters Rest Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.