We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Jedburgh by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clock Tower Bistro

Clock Tower Bistro
1 Abbey Place, Jedburgh TD8 6BE, Scotland
+44 1835 869788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Jedburgh
Price range: $16 - $78
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Jedburgh by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Went for evening meal twice during 4 night stay. Food and service excellent. Wine list limited. Biggest criticism is paper serviettes rather than linen napkins - really 'spoils the ship for a ha'porth of tar' - it's a quality thing and paper serviettes in a nice restaurant like that really lets the side down!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    31
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited the Clock Tower on an over night stay in Jedburgh. The restaurant itself is very cosy with lovely decorations. The service was very good, even a jug of water on the table for our arrival which was nice. We only had room for a main course and we had the sirloin steak which was the best we've had in a long time. We will certainly go back . Great restaurant and friendly service!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A local bar recommended this to my fiance and I over a weekend away for a friends wedding.And i must say how happy we were that we were led to this lovely eatery. I had the pork loin and my fiance had the chicken. We live close to newcastle and id travel the distance just for the food alone.loved every second of being in this restaurant. Cant say enough compliments for it. Superb superb superb. I want to be there every night. Waitresses and all staff were just lovely and cant do enough for you. A must place be. 11 out of 10 everytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited here with parents who live locally and have been here quite a few times. Had a great meal with good service and was very happy. Good atmosphere, good ambient temperature and tasteful decor.
Lovely starter of chargrilled halloumi and fantastic steak main, lovely chargrilled flavour and very tender.
Son had sticky toffee pudding which was delicious as was father's creme brûlée. Didn't try coffee.
Lovely -go and try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic service of good Borders Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Cosy little bistro with an imaginative menu. Our food was well-cooked and served joyfully by the waitress who worked the dining room alone…Well Done!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clock Tower Bistro also viewed

Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 
Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Clock Tower Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clock Tower Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.